We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep but don´t eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chambery Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chambery Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Chambery Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Place de la Gare, 73000 Chambery, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Sleep but don´t eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is very good, just in front of the train station. The town center is not far away and I must say Chambery is a very pretty place to visit.

The staff was kind and pleasant. The room was good and very clean. The same applies to the bathroom. There is good water pressure in the shower.
The room has a boiler and a safe. The lights are well placed so it is not dark.

The very negative point is the price of their breakfast and what they give. Coming from another Mercure that charged me 19 € for an excellent and various breakfast, I just walked away when I saw the offer of breakfast of this hotel - for 18,90 €! Oh, and they charge you 5 € for a beer. A complete rip-off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good morning
and thank you for your comments that I transfer to my team.
I have taken note of your dissatisfaction with breakfast and I'm very sorry.
I hope to have the pleasure of meeting you at a future stay with us.
With my best regards,
Benoît Majorel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    123
    50
    14
    2
See reviews for
42
100
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castleisland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

2 night stay after few days skiing in Les Arcs. Great location opposite main train station and easy walk to all attractions in Chambery. Rooms good size and deals to be had including breakfast if you book at the right time and pay in advance. Advertised as having bathtub and air conditioning but has neither. Rooms upgraded with new showers so bath taken out. Air conditioning not switched on til May. Manager very apologetic and knocked 20% off. Would definitely stay again as Chambery very pretty and good clean hotel. On site Savoyard restaurant which looks nice but didn't try. Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel, its location and our buffet breakfast.
Indeed after renovating all rooms we offer showers. As agreed we are amending the specification on line. Thank you for your remark.
As discussed we do provide air conditioning during summer and heating in winter. Unfortunately our system does not allow us to connect both simultaneously.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about 15 months ago, again on the way to the Alps. The hotel is easy to get to from the motorway and is walking distance to the restaurants and bars of the town centre. It does not have a restaurant although there is one next door and pasta dishes are served in the bar. We treated ourselves to a "privilege room" which just has a few extras such as a Nespresso machine and towelling robes. Everywhere was very clean and well maintained. A plus point if you're travelling is the underground garage (paid) so you don't have to worry about luggage on view - the parking places are quite small so there is a bit of manouevring to be done. If you plan to have breakfast book it when you book the hotel as it's more expensive if not pre-booked. It's not the greatest value but it is easy and quite pleasant. There is a cheaper option in the bar.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We thank you very much for your comments and ratings.
Your remarks encourage us and allow us to continually improve our service and services for greater customer satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you again !
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were a group of 4 adults and stayed in 2 rooms. The final night of our 2 night stay, I went to my room and on opening my luggage discovered that my jewellery box had been stolen. The box was inside an internal compartment of my suitcase which was closed and underneath another suitcase. The hotel staff asked us not to contact the police, saying that the manager would investigate in the morning and then he would call the police. As it turned out by the time he spoke to us it was too late to take further action as we had to leave for the airport. I was very upset, but not one to make a scene, I'm not sure I was actually taken seriously. I don't think the hotel handled the matter very well. They just started on about the small print and putting jewellery in the safe. There was no apology. I realise that's what should have been done, however this does not alter the fact that someone entered my room, moved one suitcase to get inside the one underneath and then rummaged through to find the box. (They may have gone through the first case as well but there was nothing of value in it) On a final note we pointed out to the hotel that the key card was not exclusive to just one room. We found that our cards opened the door to another room along the corridor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,
First I would like to apologize regarding the strong feeling you had after our meeting. I assure you we took your complaint seriously.
That is why we have proposed to send the file to our insurance and I proposed you to go to the police to lodge a complaint.
As discussed together directly, I inform this complaint could be done from UK.
As we kept in touch you know that after investigation we do not have anything wrong to be reported.
No break, no suspicious entries from reading your key card magnetic lock, no suscpicious movement in the hotel.
Anyway I want to tell you we are going to set up CCTV.
Finally, please note the problem with key card magnetic lock of another room has been resolved.
Be assured we never suspected your intentions.
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one night as a group on our way to Italy so it was particularly close to the railway station. The accommodation was modern, comfortable and very clean. Very impressed with the tea making facilities which are very rare to find on the continent. Good selection for breakfast in very pleasant surroundings. Would certainly stay here again and would love to visit Chambery again to see more of the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Very pleased to have contributed to the success of your stay in our beautiful city we are looking forward to welcome you again !
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chambery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chambery Centre

Address: 183 Place de la Gare, 73000 Chambery, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Chambery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chambery
#3 Business Hotel in Chambery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chambery Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center facing the train station, the 4-star Mercure Chambery Centre hotel welcomes you for a relaxing family stay or a business trip. Ideally located in close proximity to the historic center, all of the city's convention centers and just a few minutes from the largest natural lakes in France. You will appreciate its modern design, warmly colored rooms and intimate bar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Chambery Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Chambery Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chambery Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.