We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Chambery Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Chambery Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Chambery Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Place de la Gare, 73000 Chambery, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Chambery
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this beautiful hotel en route home from a Great Rail Journeys trip in April. As it's right opposite the station it couldn't be a better location for this purpose. It's big, modern, tastefully furnished and I wished we could stay longer. The room was beautiful, very modern and the bathroom looked brand new. We only had breakfast the next morning (as our evening meal had been pre-arranged in a restaurant in town), but there was plenty of choice at the buffet and I hope to stay again one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you enjoy your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again !
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    123
    50
    14
    2
See reviews for
42
100
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Newish hotel in an excellent location right opposite the station and easy walking distance to the old town and shops.

Easy check-in, room spotlessly clean and of reasonable size, but standard Mercure decor. Shower room also spotless was very compact (read small).

Didn't eat in the restaurant, but the mornings offering of breakfast was very good.

Being a Mercure, shut your bedroom door and you could be in any city you choose - smart but rather characterless

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
As you saw it, our hotel has been refurbished in 2012 with the new Mercure Standards.
Hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband, 12 year old son and I stayed 1 night to go to a wedding just outside Chambery, so we did not use any hotel amenities outside the room, nor did we have the hotel breakfast. The room was clean and attractive; it had everything we needed - wifi, hair dryer, spare pillows, etc - at no extra price. The beds (the sofa converted into a single bed) were very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. The staff were very helpful and competent.
Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are pleased you spend a good and comfortable stay in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Don't let the rather dark and soulless interior put you off. Perfect central location and very comfortable room. Service was very friendly and helpful - thought I'd lost my wallet after we left and when I rang they couldn't have been more helpful. Didn't eat there but would try another time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and we were well looked after. Breakfast is good and there is good coffee here compared to many other places. Beds comfortable and the room very clean. Would stay again. Within walking distance of old town and many restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good to read you had a pleasant stay with us
Looking forward to welcoming you next time
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans; U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Eurostar now do some limited straight through journeys to the south of France. I can thoroughly recommend them - great value and very comfortable. We travelled to Lyon and then picked up a hire car and wanted a hassle free stopover on the first night. Chambery and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Location is just opposite the train station and a short walk from the city's shops and restaurants. We ate at Les Halles which others here had recommended. The price fixe at Euro 34 was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, its location and the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs.UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Only stayed here one night with a group on our way to Lake Garda.
Conveniently positioned opposite the Station. A nice town to wander around with shops etc.
Rooms looked recently refurbished, really clean, very powerful shower! Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room. The bar was reasonably priced. In the evening we walked to a local restaurant.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.
Can recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1541, Directeur général at Mercure Chambery Centre, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed our establishment and its location.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Benoît Majorel
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Chambery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chambery Centre

Address: 183 Place de la Gare, 73000 Chambery, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Chambery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chambery
#3 Business Hotel in Chambery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chambery Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center facing the train station, the 4-star Mercure Chambery Centre hotel welcomes you for a relaxing family stay or a business trip. Ideally located in close proximity to the historic center, all of the city's convention centers and just a few minutes from the largest natural lakes in France. You will appreciate its modern design, warmly colored rooms and intimate bar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Chambery Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Chambery Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Chambery Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.