We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Ibis I've stayed in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier to your Saves list
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Dauphine | CC Grand Boucle, 05100 Briancon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Briancon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the best Ibis I've stayed in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile


At a glance this Ibis ticks all the boxes - good location (if traveling by car); free parking; good value; and a know product.

However unfortunatly this Ibis didn't live up to brand expectations.

The staff are only ok on reception ie doing there job but not super friendly. The room was ok but the switches were broken on the air conditioning system, the bed was broken and the Internet wasn't that good.

The worst thing was the breakfast and the breakfast room. The fruit in the fruit bowl was all rotten, the cakes were stale, the pancakes rock hard and the coffee undrinkable. The second day they removed the rotten fruit but there was no replacement and generally the buffet was sparse (not the normal Ibis spread).

I understand it must be tough catering out of peak times. But I would have rathered a smaller selection at half the price then low quality at full price.

Finally the other thing that made breakfast even more unenjoyable was the general lack of cleanliness of the room.  In particular the floor was sticky and was in need of a good mop. And it never improved the two days we were there. The place was not busy so I don't know what the staff must have been doing with their time for this floor not to be clean.

We stay at a lot of Ibis Hotels and usually thoroughly enjoy what they offer however Ibis Briancon really let the brand down.

Perhaps during peak times it's a different experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    115
    65
    31
    6
See reviews for
48
120
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly family business. The rooms are in wood and quite modern and comfortable. The bathrooms are above the standard for Europe. Dining for breakfast and dinner are very reasonable. The Inn is in the modern town not the old. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ibis Hotel in Briancon is located c 1 km fr.o.m. Centre Ville near the crossing between roads to Italy and Grenoble. It shares parking with a commercial centre which is located on a level below the hotel. A big food hall is an important part of The centre. On The upper level there is a cafeteria and simple restaurant used by many skiers.

The hotel is clean, quiet with friendly and helpful staff. Simple dishes are served as room service. Breakfast room is quite spacious and the Breakfast includes what you can expect and is fresh. Particularly nice croissans! The room we stayed in was spacious with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom, not big but absolutely enough. Very well cleaned and taken care of.
In all, very godo value for money.

Room Tip: 322 was spacious with and extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed there after a few hours of driving it wasnt the best but it was good enought! Clean rooms,internet and continental breakfast! Bed was comfy and they were fully prepared for us and our baby! Very quiet !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was good value for money. The room was spacious and we appreciated that as one morning it rained heavily so we stayed in the room until 2pm. The hotel is conveniently located to a supermarket and shops. The parking was excellent as the access was good.
Would recommend this hotel to others having a short stay in Briancon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier

Address: Avenue du Dauphine | CC Grand Boucle, 05100 Briancon, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.