We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find, close to gare du Briancon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Paris to your Saves list
Hotel de Paris
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 avenue du General du Gaulle, 05100 Briancon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Briancon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy to find, close to gare du Briancon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long drive and ride, coming into Briancon was rather daunting, after driving through the countryside and alpes, coming into the town that was very busy was one in which required attention to where you go.

The first thing that caught my eye were the directions to Hotel de Paris, I was driving and my partnering was riding. For me ease of directions got me to the hotel quickly. It took a while for my partner to find his way there. Yes there is the secret he eventually asked for directions.

The hotel is lovely, clean and quiet. The view from our window was beautiful we looked up to the old town and to the many fortress's that surround this town.

The ability to store our bikes and work on them when required, the area was locked and secure. Close to shopping and launderette made life so much more easy with the amount of cycle kit we had and could wash enabling clean clothing.
Will stay there again. Meals were also great and value for money.

Room Tip: Close to all amenities and easy to find directions signs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A good honest old fashioned hotel- The lady in charge speaks English and was delightful- A very good simple evening meal was served. Very close to the railway line which we were frightened was going to be a problem - but it wasn't.

Nothing pretentious just a clean straightforward old fashioned smallish hotel.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location between the train station and downtown is very convenient, although it is a pretty good hike up to the upper town, which, aside from winter sports, is the main interest in Braincon. The room was small and basic, but adequate, with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen on dry land (more like a boat's head). The breakfast was good, by southern European standards. The dinner was OK, but no better. The WiFi worked fine and was welcome. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: The back side, away from the street, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It´s realy strange that so many have given this place a five. The hotel is OK but not more.

The wifi works fine and the personnel is helpful. The rooms are small and basic but with good view of the mountanis. The breakfast is nothing special. Lots of traffic outside but it does not disturb.

The place is not in the old town. But if you are skiing like us its not more then 10 minutes walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food was great, staff excellent. and a clean room. The room was not great, we had a room at the top of the stairs and could hear each and every conversation of the people walking up the stairs, we were also able to hear the trains at night. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the laundromat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked the Hotel de Paris on line as a last minute bed for the night because we were touring, night was falling and we needed a bed.
To be fair , it was not a "bad" hotel and for the price, I think we paid about 57 Euros and I am sure we could have done a lot worse.
The room was clean enough, very spacious and was let to us as a double but in fact the room we were given was a family room with a double and two singles. The bed was comfortable, no problems there and the staff polite but one or two things were not as good as we would have liked. We would have enjoyed tea or coffee making facilities.
There was no air conditioning so the room was a bit airless however when we opened the window the noise form the road and railway station was too much. In fact the hotel even provided two pairs of ear plugs for free! We ended up sleeping with the window closed.

The shower was a very big let down, an old fashioned shower set so low on the wall that even at 5 foot tall I could not stand under it, my husband didn't even try. When I turned the tap on very gently a jet of water shot straight out with a blast of air or an air lock completely soaking me. I gave up trying to have a shower. The shower wall grouting was pretty well worn and could have done with replacing.
Having failed with the shower we tried to wash in the sink but even that was not possible as the plug did not fit, it was way too loose and the water just kept running away in the end we gave up on the plumbing and settled for wet wipes!

This was not a terrible hotel but it was not the best either. Would I stay here again? If I was caught short in the Alps and needed a bed for the night yes I would, but it wasnt the sort of place I would have booked from choice. On a bright note, the bedroom had a beautiful view of the Alps through the trees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the rear, it could cut the noise quite a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you came to Briancon to soak up history, this isn't the best choice, but if you came to explore the area, it would be hard to find a better location. This hotel is a short walk from the train station, and an even shorter walk from the bottom of the road going up to the Col d'Izoard. Drive in the other direction and you immediately start climbing the Col de Lauteret. So, it is a good base camp for exploring this part of the alps, and if you are exploring by bike, there is a bike garage below the hotel. The rooms are a good value, and quite clean. There was plenty of water pressure in the shower, even on the top floor. The lady at the front desk is friendly and helpful; the man not so much. Medieval Briancon is about half a mile walk away, all uphill.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be a bit noisy so ask for a room at the back. You'll look out over the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 41 avenue du General du Gaulle, 05100 Briancon, France
Location: France > Provence > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.