We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Horse View B&B to your Saves list
The White Horse View B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cherry Bungalow, Station Road, Shrivenham SN6 8JL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Shrivenham B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best B&B I have ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled all over the world and this was the most beautiful and friendly B&B I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The owners clearly take pride in their stunning property and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

We had the family room which was spacious and beautifully decorated. It easily accomodated my uusband and I with our two children under 4. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The White Horse View B&B is the best I've ever stayed in.

I stayed in the "Ridgeway" room, and it was great with brilliant views across the countryside. Very well decorated, presented and overall incredibly clean. The games room which includes a pool table, jukebox and a bar with a few sofas was a wonderful touch, although I didn't get to spend much time using it.

Very friendly and accommodating owners and a very lovely property overall.

The bed was far too soft for my liking, however this didn't really hinder my experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in "The White Horse" room - you get your own private decked sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The best short stay accomodation we have ever stopped at. Would recomend it to all. Friendly, accommodating, clean, etc, etc. We stopped between July16th and July 19th and honestly cannot fault Colin and Liz and The White Horse View B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at White Horse View B & B in the beautiful tranquil village of Shrivenham on Tuesday 3rd July 2012. On arrival I was greeted by Liz with a very warm welcome and shown our room. The room was immacutely appointed with plush bedding and pillows. The room had a beautiful modern bathroom with an excellent shower. Colin the co-owner arrived shortly after our arrival and introduced himself, again in a very welcoming, friendly and informative giving us details of local restaurants and bars and transport links. He also showed us the novel games room which had a pool table, darts board, computer with free Internet / wi-fi access, a well stocked juke box, well stocked "honesty" bar with a wide selection of beers/lagers, wine and even a bottle of bubbly for those special occasions !! A great extra touch.Breakfast the following morning was in the conservatory with a selection of cereals, fresh juice, homemade bread and a sumptuous full English with free range eggs via the hens in the garden and locally sourced sausage and bacon. A great start to the day. I would recommend this competitively priced B & B to family and friends as a real gem !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Warm welcome, lovely spacious family room with outdoor seating, excellent breakfast. Really good!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the White Horse View B&B & Spa in January 2012 and where do I start.
Firstly the host's, Colin & Liz, could not have been more accommodating. We instantly felt right at home and our room was beautiful. We had a gorgeous deck outside the room and inside was tastefully decorated with a modern en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities and ample wardrobe space.
We were shown the games room which was there if we wanted it, complete with pool table, mini bar, music and internet access.
I personally was more interested in the Spa where I had the most amazing treatments including a facial, massage and manicure. I do use Spa's quite often but nothing compared to the whole experience that I had here and I can safely say this was all down the professionalism that Liz offers. I felt relaxed from the moment I went in and felt like a new women leaving.
Then came breakfast the following morning which had everything from cereal, toast, pastries, cooked breakfast or just coffee if you wanted. I ate like a queen and the atmosphere was so relaxing we were still there 2 hrs later. I can honestly say we didn't want to leave and wouldn't have if we didn't have to get back for work commitments. A few more nights would have been perfect.
We have already booked to go back in May and we can not wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the White Horse View B&B in August this year. We had just spent several weeks traveling around Europe and were desperate for a little bit of that 'home feeling' that we have in Australia. We found that and our sanity at the White Horse B View B&B.

We felt right at home in our spacious and well appointed bedroom. The room was clean and very comfortable and the luxury bathroom was exactly what we needed after so many weeks on the road. The deck had lovely views of the countryside and it was so peaceful and quiet to just sit outside and take it all in.

We really enjoyed our breakfast in the gazebo, it is beautifully decorated and the food was delicious.

There is also a pool room which guests are invited to use, the room includes access to the internet with a computer as well as a fridge with drinks.

The hosts Colin and Liz are so warm and friendly that you actually felt like you were staying with long lost friends, nothing was too much to ask for and we felt so comfortable coming and going. They were also really helpful in giving us information on the local sights and attractions, nothing was too much to ask for.

Liz runs a Day Spa at the B&B, we didn't get to use that but we hope to be back one day and be able to take advantage of all the facilities.

After spending a month travelling it was at this place that we felt we had the most comfortable experience. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The family room was really great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse View B&B

Address: Cherry Bungalow, Station Road, Shrivenham SN6 8JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shrivenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shrivenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse View B&B &Seasons Beauty Day SpaWe would like to welcome you to The White Horse Bed and Breakfast & Seasons Day Spa located in the picturesque, tranquil, thatched cottage village of Shrivenham.Our Bed and Breakfast is within easy walking distance (10 minutes) to a variety of restaurants and public houses. The White Horse offers stunning views of the open countryside, including the internationally renowned Uffington White Horse.We offer three beautifully designed individual serviced rooms. Separate from the main house, each room boasts an outdoor seating area, overlooking the panoramic views of the great British countryside. The White Horse - A spacious, comfortable family room with an en-suite shower room with separate bath. This room is cleverly designed to suit up to a family of four. It offers a king-size bed and a double pull out sofa bed with french doors leading to your own outdoor seating area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The White Horse View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.