We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coombe Bissett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brook House B&B
Save
You added Brook House B&B to your Saves list
Homington Road, Coombe Bissett, Salisbury SP5 4LR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is one you will not want to miss. The Hostess is so very friendly. She cooks breakfast in a huge kitchen over a 50 year old stove. It is so interesting to see her work there. The house is so cool with a beautiful yard near a bubbling brook. The room was clean and of a good size with a huge bathroom. Everything was very clean. The view of the yard from our room was beautiful in the fall though I imagine it would be beautiful anytime of the year. Kate lit a fire in a family room just for guests down stairs where we accessed the internet.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a walk over to the very old church nearby. What a history! Salisbury and Stone Hed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was great to meet you. Kind regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent B and B in a quiet setting and an excellent pub within walking distance. Stayed for 2 nights in August and much enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend it. Kate was most helpful and our early breakfast needs well catered for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Best wishes, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Kate's B & B for 2 nights recently and can only echo everyone's positive comments. Kate lit the fire for us in the lounge which was a lovely touch, and nice to come back to after a short walk to the Fox hotel (where we had good meals) and met some locals. Would love to be there in summer to enjoy the lovely garden and stream. I would have to say this would B & B would be one of the most lovely homes we have stayed in. Thanks Kate & Sam.

Also a special mention to Charles & the team at Coombe Bissett store just round the corner. They offer a excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! Best wishes, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After 2 nights camping it was a relief to turn up at Brook house, located in a picturesque village just outside Salisbury, for some home comforts. Kate has a lovely home and we stayed in the balcony room which has a nice view over the surrounding countryside. The bedroom is large with a very comfy king size bed and an en-suite bathroom. We would have no hesitation in staying here again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you need peace, if you need to experience time standing still, visit Brook House. You will not want to leave. On the night I stayed, there was not a breath of wind and to quote Joni Mitchell, "the night was a starry dome " I can honestly say that I haven't slept as soundly for years.

Room Tip: Not necessary. The whole house is heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, Ivor! Please come and visit us again. Kind regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Although we only stayed one night at Brook House we would have happily stayed for longer. It is an excellent base for visits to Salisbury, Cranborne Chase and the New Forest. Our temporary hosts, Jonathan and Sarah, could not have been more welcoming or helpful and were a great source of local knowledge. The balcony room was immaculate and very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. This is everything a B&B should be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and Sarah and Jonathan are very thrilled with their first appraisal!

Kind regards

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in July 2013. The setting, rooms, breakfast and wonderful hostess made for an exceptionally relaxing break. We have never stayed in such a lovely B&B before. Thank you to Kate, so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookhousesalisbury, Owner at Brook House B&B, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words: makes it all worthwhile!!!! Kind regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House B&B

Address: Homington Road, Coombe Bissett, Salisbury SP5 4LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Coombe Bissett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coombe Bissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook House B & B can be found in the picturesque village of Coombe Bissett, 3 miles south of Salisbury. We welcome you to this pretty, Georgian listed house with its large garden bordered by the River Ebble.Sleep in the light and airy Balcony Room overlooking the water meadows and wake to an Aga breakfast of locally produced food. If it's sunny, why not eat out on the river terrace?The famous medieval city of Salisbury with its magnificent cathedral is just up the road, as is Wilton House and Salisbury Racecourse. Stonehenge is a little further and glorious, historical Wiltshire and North Dorset countryside is on your doorstep. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.