We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DISGRACE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bourkes' Luck Potholes

Bourkes' Luck Potholes
Moremela, South Africa
Improve this listing
Visit Bourkes' Luck Potholes like an insider
$101*
and up
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Moremela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WHAT A DISGRACE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited the potholes this weekend. I have been there several times and of course the actual potholes are incredible and such an interesting phenomena. The area was very noisy loud music playing one asks oneself why do they do that it is not a discotheque so unnecessary. The ladies toilet facilities were an absolute disgrace. Firstly it was very dingy, the basins were dirty, no soap no paper towels, the tap was running continuously, the tap would not turn off! The toilet door would not close properly, the lock was broken... no toilet paper and the toilets were also running continuously. We are constantly being asked to preserve out water, as a government run area it was appalling. We had to pay R200-00 for the privilege of being there. The eco information centre was unmanned and dark and dingy with old and dingy displays. I spoke to a Tourist Guide and he said he was so embarrassed to take foreign tourist there. I am a South African and it was so sad to see the deterioration there. There was no refreshments available either.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Worthy every cent you pay at the gate. Please wear confortable shoes. I liked the cylinders created by the waters of two that meets at thi point. Blyde and Treur river. You can also throw a coin or two down for luck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice views but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I liked the views on the bridges looking down, it was stunning, and walking to the falls is a definite must.
I disliked the baboons at the entrance and it was a bit pricy as we were charged per person and not per car as at all the other view points. We paid R70 here instead of R5 or R10 at points that were actually more breathtaking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nature at its most amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Bourkes Luck Potholes are an quite awe-inspiring. One has to walk along boardwalks and the potholes are huge, dark and way below! Nature has carved them out over thousands of years - a truly amazing sight.

A must stop on the scenic road to Blyde River Canyon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Road Potholes at all but River Potholes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ever since we left Hayzview my hubby kept on telling me about the Potholes. Coming from Gauteng where roads where filled with potholes this sound boring. Gate fee was high but then I saw the amazing river canyons and this changed my mind and made it worth every sent spend on entrance. My husband got very nervious when I got to close to the edge to take pictures. Unfortunatelly pictures can not do justice to such an amazing view. Make this part of your next trip you won't regret it at all.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourkes' Luck Potholes also viewed

Mpumalanga, South Africa
Mpumalanga, South Africa
 
Mpumalanga, South Africa
 

Been to Bourkes' Luck Potholes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourkes' Luck Potholes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.