We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourkes' Luck Potholes

Bourkes' Luck Potholes
Moremela, South Africa
Improve this listing
Visit Bourkes' Luck Potholes like an insider
$101*
and up
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Moremela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A beautiful place with lots of interesting formations to look at. Nice to stroll around and enjoy all the pretty sights. We saw lots of small insects, bugs and butterflys to.
Our entrance fees were paid by our guide so I don´t know if it was expensive. Unfourtunately it rained all the time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,681 reviews 1,681 reviews
921 attraction reviews
Reviews in 460 cities Reviews in 460 cities
1,658 helpful votes 1,658 helpful votes
“Interesting geologic formations, waterfalls and viewpoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were on a guided tour of South Africa and this was a stop along the way for a short period.
Because of the tour our entrance fees were paid. You have to walk a distance over a somewhat uneven path, around some small boulders--there are also two or three foot bridges to cross. The sights of the formations and waterfalls are very dramatic and worthwhile. A good pricture taking spot. On the negative side, there is very little information about the history and development of the potholes (our tour guide did explain it to us). There are rest rooms, some food for sale and a section to buy some local arts and crafts (most of the vendors we saw did not want to bargain like in other areas of South Africa).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“expensive entrance - nothing spectacular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Please don't get me wrong. The visit was nothing spectacular not because of the entrance fee.

If you are a geologist, you might be awed with this place. Otherwise, in general, this place is a good place to relax like any other waterfalls with rocky surroundings.

On the other hand, we bought most of our curios here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Had expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice, but I had expected more. They could have made it better by telling a bit more about the place. Also note there are two bridges that are not for people who are afraid of heights!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Truly wonderful example of nature at its best. With a river running down into the gorge the potholes are created by the reaction of the water with rocks. Resembles a giant honeycomb.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourkes' Luck Potholes also viewed

Mpumalanga, South Africa
Mpumalanga, South Africa
 
Mpumalanga, South Africa
 

Been to Bourkes' Luck Potholes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourkes' Luck Potholes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.