We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shirley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £52
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Ilfracombe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“shirley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

rooms were spacious beds comfy. big fluffy bath towels. The staff were great especially Joy who was brilliant couldnt of been more helpful or friendly. The adjoining pub did good food which was reasonably price and you didnt have to wait long for it. Would go back here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Tracey L,

Thank you so much for your very positive comments about our staff, and I am happy to know that you found the the food at the Saracen's Head good and reasonably priced.

We look forward to you visiting us again when you can.

Thank you again for submitting your comments. We really do appreciate you taking the time to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    36
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
37
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

beware of loose handrail on entry door from rear car park, burning bedside lights that don't even work and noisy guests that are not dealt with. isolated incidents i know but you also need to know....



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shirley hotels

St. Helier, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had to stay here after an unexpected and long journey from jersey. Lots of delays and very grumpy when I got here. Within 1 minute, the very friendly and helpful staff had settled me down. They were just so good. Room was spacious,clean and as always very comfortable. Restaurant opposite does a great brekkie as well. If ever in area again would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi jersey_6_string,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your lovely comments about the hotel and the restaurant. At Premier Inn, customer service is extremely important, and it reassuring to know that this is demonstrated by the staff at Solihull Shirley. We look forward to you coming to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went for a meal on Saturday night for my birthday, couldn't of picked a better place, the pub on the front of this hotel is called the Saracens Head and is a Two for One place.

Excellent meals, really good value, the only downside, the tables could of been cleaner, not cleaned from the previous diners, even though the glasses had been collected the table hadn't been wiped or cutlery etc removed.

Soon to close for refurb, can't wait to see it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello marion r,
Nice to know that you found the restaurant to be good value for money. The 'two for one' meals offered are very popular, particularly with families. Sorry that on the down side, the tables weren't as clean as they should be, and as this is not a Whitbread owned restaurant, I will pass your comments on. Hope to see you again after they have had the refurb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night to catch up with family (mixture of ages). Hotel staff were very helpful and the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable.
The adjoining pub next door was dreadful! A very big pub with absolutely no atmosphere and cleaners! The ladies toilets looked like they had been abandoned for over a month, no toilet roll in any of the 4 cubicles that were working....When asked the barmaid if she could put toilet roll in, she just shrugged her shoulders and walked off. Getting served was another issue, especially when 4 members of staff are busy in conversation outside the bar....customer service was lacking to say the least. Needless to say we skipped the over priced breakfast the next morning, due to cleanliness and hygiene concerns about the pub where breakfast is served, and took a 3 minute drive to the Plume, for a faultless breakfast and tip top customer service. Would strongly recommend doing this if staying at this hotel.

Sorry Premier Inn, but due to the awful staff that run the pub next door and cater for your breakfast's I will not be returning or recommend anyone stay here. Had the Robin Hood pub been open(another Premier Inn pub) we would have stayed there instead.

Disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear mbneal1975,

It's good to know you were happy with the staff and that you found the hotel comfortable.

I'm sorry that this was not the case where the restaurant was concerned, and that you had issues with the staff and overall cleanliness. The restaurant which is not Whitbread owned, is due to be refurbished very soon, nevertheless I will pass your concerns on.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the premier inn next to the Saracens head. Yes both establishments are tired and need a bit of up dating however the staff at the premier were excellent and also the Saracens head. We had lunch at the pub. Fantastic value, freshly cooked and excellent. Best chicken Caesar ever. Staff very friendly, service excellent. Breakfast amazing value and taste. Didn't need to eat again until tea time

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, General Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Julian W,

Thank you for your comments. It's good to know you were happy with the staff both at the hotel and The Saracens Head.

The restaurant is due to be refurbished in the next few weeks, so perhaps the next time you visit, It won't look so tired, but well rested!

Thanks once again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Only spent one night here splitting a long journey up but just wanted to say what an asset the staff are both in the hotel and at the adjoining Beefeater restaurant. All were really polite and helpful. The hotel itself was nice and easily accesible from the motorway and clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Chappy203,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. I'm glad that you found the staff helpful and polite, which is particularly important after having to endure a long journey. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.