We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best PI staff around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)
Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best PI staff around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

PI are often let down by their staff, the last one I reviewed in Hall Green was a case in point, it was a great hotel let down by poor staff service. The same is not true of this PI.

The hotel itself is ok, it has been refurbished and the rooms are good, not as good as some more recently modernised but ok. The reception staff are however brilliant, I stopped last Wednesday and the friendliest person ever was working.

Hotel stay was fine made all the better by the staff. PI should take note.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give my Premier Inn feedback and review. I am glad you had such a pleasant stay and experience with ourselves. At Premier Inn we really do strive to recruit the most friendly and helpful team and I'm glad to hear that during your stay here you have found this the case.

We have also signed off plans to resurface the car park that will make your stay with us that little bit better.

Thanks again for taking your time to respond.

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
32
33
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've never stayed in this PI before and have to say the staff were great from check in to check out.
The location of the hotel seems strange to me and there is quite a bit of passing traffic as its situated along a major road. There was plenty of parking, it's pay & display but PI customers don't have to pay. The lady on reception was happy and it wasn't a forced happy. She was polite and informative to myself and my colleague about the hotel and breakfast times.
Breakfast was actually pretty good, which if you read my regular reviews will know PI not the best at this. The lady taking the order was polite and friendly, the buffet was laid out nice and tidy and plenty of supplies, unlike other PI's.
I did have an issue with the idiot in the room next door who decided to bring half of Solihull back to his room and make emense noise. One quick visit to reception and it was dealt with, all fell quiet.. Lovely!! Thanks to the guy on reception that evening, you saved me being on a murder charge.
This is a great place to stay, warm welcome and clean rooms seem guaranteed. I would stay here again, the only thing that puts me of is the traffic.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mimmy23,

Thank you for taking the time out to give my Premier Inn feedback and review. I am happy to hear your experience with the team was very good and also the breakfast the following morning. I do have to apologise for the inconvenience of the guest next-door making noise, I’m happy the team member dealt with the issue straight away. It is a busy road so I would like apologise for any inconvenience you may have had.

The team and myself look forward to seeing you again in the near future take care from the whole of my team.

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have never reviewed a budget chain before, as they are normally the same wherever you go. The basic product at Premier Inn room, breakfast, wifi is all of decent standard. There was work being undertaken here and the location is very average but the difference here was that the staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and just appeared to enjoy their work and want you to enjoy your trip. Perhaps i was just lucky or Premier Inn have decided to place greater emphasis on customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Gipsona1,

Firstly I would like to say thank you for writing your feedback and review, as it is vital for us in moving the hotel forward. I am happy to know that my team served you and they made you feel relaxed and were helpful. I do apologise for the works going on, this is down to the local council in a regeneration programme of Shirley.

I hope to see you again once the work s has finished, Take care

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made a mistake in booking this hotel, as the Premier Inn M42, and also named Solihull is the better choice. Its closer to the motorway, in a nicer area, and has a better resteraunt on site.

However, having tried to change it (we couldn't), we stuck with it. Rooms are what you would expect, in fact bigger than some family rooms that we have stayed in, but the issues were as follows:

1. There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel, and the machinery got underway at 6am !! You could certainly put the Good Nights Sleep Guarantee to the test (we didn't).
2. Access is difficult, as it is along a very busy road, with high levels of traffic, making the journey to the hotel a pain, and its a slog out onto the Motorway.

Positively - plenty of parking (Free), great staff - really friendly and helpful, and good value.

Room Tip: Solihull M42 Hotel is a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Mr Stewart Davies,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay. Unfortunately there is construction going on along side the hotel, which is to do with the council. I will feed this back to them to look into noise control. Once all the construction finished I hope that we can change your mind on the location with the re-generation programme that will provide a new and fresh surrounding.

I am glad that you were happy with the free car parking, friendliness of the staff and the value for money.

Thank you once again for the feedback

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived late with a very tired young family - we received a very friendly and efficient welcome. Our family room was comfortable and pleasantly big enough to accommodate 4 ( its often not the case). Had a great overnight stay, very clean and modern throughout the hotel and the big breakfast was perfect the next morning!
Thank you ... You've restored my faith in budget family friendly hotels!!

Room Tip: Good size family room - comfortably able to sleep 2 adults & 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sarah473,

Thank you for you for taking the time out to give me feedback on my hotel. I am happy to read you have had a warm welcome and the room and hotel met your requirements. I will pass on the feedback for breakfast to the GM of the pub/restaurant establishment. I'm happy we have restored your faith in budget family friendly hotels.

We hope to see you again soon, take care

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth Northumberland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is located close enough to the N.E.C. when the others are fully booked, a quick jaunt onto the motorway and 20 mins later we were at the N.E.C. Nice and easy!!!! Staff are extremely friendly, room was clean and the bed was indeed comfortable

Room Tip: Make sure you find out if there is a bath or a shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Rosanna R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Solihull Shirley Premier Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you soon , take care.

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darkest Essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Used this hotel for a trip to LG Arena. The drive takes about 15 minutes in normal traffic so is acceptable compared with the high priced hotels very close by. Take care, there are four Premier Inns along this road and it's easy to park at the wrong one.
Turning to this hotel it is a bit tired & run down looking. The room we were in was on the third (top) floor and had a sloping roof with a skylight window. This did not open and had a broken blind over it so getting light into the room was a struggle as was making it dark to sleep. The shower cubicle was also showing signs of damp and patchy paintwork. The room could be described as 'adequate' but I would not want to be here for more than just sleeping. The Hotel is in the middle of a shopping area and the Saracens Head pub/restaurant is a noisy one I would expect the lower rooms to suffer a bit from noise. As we stayed two nights the room was made up in between but the Tea and Coffee was not replenished, poor customer service.

Room Tip: Top floors for quiet, lower floors for more headroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny S, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear nutsford,

Thank you for your comments and feedback, I will communicate the points about the Saracens head to the GM. With regards to the hotel we will start to tackle the problems raised by you and get them resolved as quickly as possible. This hotel is within a pipeline for a refurbishment programme so you might see some Premier Inn with totally different specifications but all should be a clean and comfortable environment. Once again thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Premier Inn, We hope to see you soon.

Take Care

Manny Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley)

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 3AG, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull North)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.