We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awfull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Regency Hotel Solihull to your Saves list
The Regency Hotel Solihull
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Truly awfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Shabby room, too noisy (even though on 2nd floor, I could clearly hear smokers' conversations outside the hotel bar), mouldy bathroom, bucket in corridor outside room collecting drips from the ceiling. Poor breakfast. I can hardly say anything positive about it.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    131
    104
    73
    75
See reviews for
77
109
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, devon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed in a triple room with a cot. The room was generous in proportions and worked very well for a family of 4. Breakfast was of good quality and again the buffet set up worked well for the whole family. The kids were able to have pastries, fresh fruit etc.

We used the pool twice during our stay, making the most of the 12 noon check-out to fit in a swim before hitting the road. The changing faclities were very limited but we managed and the pool was very pleasant.

The TV cost us a tenner as you couldn't buy movies individually.

We used the Harvester to eat as it was so close to the hotel and suited us. (There's a Beefeater on the same road, too)

We used the hotel as a break in a journey from Scotland to Devon, and will probably do so again. It generally worked well for us. Our requirements were very much those of a family with small children.

My least favourite feature of the hotel was the bar as it had a very male-dominated clientele and a 'male' feel to it.

  • Liked — The size of the room.
  • Disliked — The atmosphere in the bar.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

Pretty awful hotel really, the bar is a noisy football sports bar with dirty tables. Reception check in was quick and efficient. The rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of modernisation. The shower head was so clogged up with crime it was disgusting. The cleanliness was very poor. The literature in the room was sticky and had hairs on. The leisure centre was also naff. The condition of the facilities is dated and very worn. The funniest part was booking the restaurant. We were told booking was essential so we booked for 8:15. We arrived at 8pm and were told we were too early and that he had not served the starters on the other table yet. The restaurant had all of 7 people in. We asked if we could sit down and wait. It was like faulty towers. I asked for a diet coke and it got served in a cheap pint glass, there was no dressing on the salad and they had run out of so many ingredients and dishes. They brought me mayonnaise in a sachet! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

I stayed here with work on a cuple of occassions. The rooms were dark and smelled of smoke. The food was ok but took time to arrive. The staff were dim and you could never get a straight answer out of them. I'm glad that I did not pay for this it is a cheap hotel that smells of chlorine on a main road.

  • Disliked — smoke smell in the dark rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for seven nights.
It provided an adequate room with the facilities I would expect for this class of hotel, but that said the walls were painfully thin and I could hear what the rest of the corridor was up to. The bed was comfy and the room well kept.
Breakfast was hit or miss, the food was very reasonable with a buffet style service. But the problems came with what should of been easy provision of tea coffee and toast. Only once did they get this right first time and once I was completely ignored and left with none!
The regency bar downstairs was very well presented with friendly staff and reasonably priced food.
Also the location of this hotel is very very poor, surrounded by offices and car dealerships! To go the same distance as the Corus is from the airport towards the city centre is a much better idea!
Overall it was a clean reasonably stocked room in a poor location.

  • Liked — the regency bar
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

This was an a rush booking and we didn't check Tripadvisor - what a mistake!
We could barely understand the girl at reception as she couldn't be bothered to clearly speak the lines she had obviously said a thousand times before. Our chamber maid had short black hair, as I kept finding them in the bathroom, in the bed, on the bed etc.
The bed sagged in the middle, with the sheet was directly on top of the mattress, so we could feel everything the mattress had to offer. The armchair in the room had a thick layer of dust and grot in the seams, and the kettle was so filthy and encrusted with scale there was no way I was using it. Ditto the bath, all the seals around the bath and fittings were covered in black mould; and the sink had an enormous crack in it .
We will never go back, and never use another Crocus hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed at the Corus Solihull recently because it was conveniently located to the office and airport.

The hotel is fairly typical of an old 1980’s hotel chain, but has had little in the way of refurbishment since. The public areas and corridors are tatty, dirty, and generally worn out.

My room was OK, fairly clean and comfortable. The bathroom however was a real throw back to the dark ages. It was not only dingy – but so damp the musky smell was overpowering.

The bar was a big open area, based (I guess?) on a US style “sports bar”. There were lots of plasma screens etc. with the football on. It was OK, but the local clientele was a bit on the “lary” side. Mostly loud young guys.

I didn’t eat in the restaurant, but two colleagues ordered a “bar meal” which they waited over one and a half hours for. The kitchen had “forgotten” apparently. Breakfast was OK, standard “buffet” with DIY toast via some sort of warming device.

All in all a depressing experience – especially at £93.00 a night (incl. breakfast). I will have to stay again, but only for the location……….

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Damp and smelly bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.