We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, easy to get here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Hotel Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Regency Hotel Solihull to your Saves list
The Regency Hotel Solihull
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good location, easy to get here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

One of the few hot days recently on our arrival here and we were glad of an early cooling drink in the courtyard. The staff here are friendly and helpful, the room was large enough and had a reasonable view. The room price was a true bargain on laterooms. We had neither dinner nor breakfast here, it being a warm evening the walk to the Harvester was pleasant enough but more than the two minutes a well meaning chap quoted.
The pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room were OK if not over large for the amount of users, the pool having a shallow area and seats for families to use.
The lounge area was pleasant enough to stay a while, with a mix of TV programmes all running at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I have forwarded your kind comments to all the relevant staff and we do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    118
    91
    65
    71
See reviews for
62
92
24
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we stayed at the regency the night before our flight from birmingham airport.the check in was very quick and efficient.the room very nice,clean and comfortable,one small problem we had was the room was a long way from reception and it made it heavy going to get the suite cases back to reception for a 5am start,but all in all the hotel is good.
my big dissapointment was the taxi service the hotel uses,firstly the taxi to the airport was not big enough to get 4 suite cases in the boot and i had to travel to the airport with one suite case on my knee and secondly we had to wait 35 minutes for the taxi to take us back to the hotel.
my overall score is average due to the taxi firm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Regency Corus Hotel in Solihull.

I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking and do hope you will consider staying with us in the near future. We have taken on board your comments regarding the taxi service but unfortunately there will be times when the Motorway will be busy due to traffic from the NEC.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kindest regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. Although it could do with a lick of paint in the corridors the room was nice. Decent parking (free) staff didnt bat an eyelid at me checking in late at night. Nice pool facilities and the bar is friendly and inviting. The bar menu is pretty poor though (only veggie option is pizza).

Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the staff are very friendly and genuinely seem to want to help and engage with their customers.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for comments regarding your stay at The Regency Corus Hotel, Solihull.

I am delighted that you found staff to be accommodating and breakfast plentiful.

In regards to your comment regarding ' a lick of paint'' we do have a redecorating programme in place.

I have forwarded your comments regarding the bar menu and this is being looked into.

We look forward to you staying with us in the near future.

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

the location and service is good. but our room smelled really bad of damp. when we first walked in i was gasping for air, as they tried to cover it up with airfreshner. i opened the window and hoped it would go away after we had used the pool, but it didnt it was a strong smell all night!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments but very confused as we don't have bedrooms that start with a 5?

Have you got the right hotel?

As with any hotel all complaints are logged but I cannot find anything?

If you can perhaps give the hotel a call and let me know which room you stayed in we can investigate further as to my knowledge none of our bedrooms have been reported as being damp.

Thank you

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Meath, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed at the regency for my cousins wedding last weekend and have to say that although the hotel looks like it could do with a good lick of paint and new carpets in a few places, the staff were very friendly and helpful and our rooms were quiet and peaceful away from the function rooms. The breakfast was plentiful, with a good range of items to choose from. There is a nice little courtyard that the kids enjoyed running around, but it would be nice if there was a little play area or climbing frame maybe. Overall it was a good value for money place, and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the function rooms and bar as they often have music tribute nights et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We do have a redecorating programme in progress and recently new carpets have been laid nin the coffee lounge and the public areas.

I have forwarded your comments regarding the plentiful breakfast to the Chef.

The Courtyard Restaurant is due to be refurbised in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kidnest regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Regency the night before we flew out of Birmingham airport. We were quite nervous before we arrived due to many negative reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Reception staff were helpful, the room was a good size (it was quite warm though) and the taxi transfers were excellent! For what we paid we felt it was very good value for money and would not hesitate to use this hotel again if we were to fly from Birmingham again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Regency Corus Hotel, Solihull.

I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments regarding staff, thank you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and it was every thing we could have wished for. Parking is free and the rooms are very clean and nice. The Taxi to the airport is free as well, and all you have to do is tell the staff what time for the taxi and they give you details of how to contact them on your return so they can order the taxi for you.

We asked for a 4am morning call but set my alarm just incase but did not have to worry the wake up call came.

Good job well done finding this hotel we will use it again next time we fly from Birmingham

Room Tip: Could not say about the breakfast as we did not have time to have it as we had a very early start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorusSolihull, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a lovely reveiw regarding your stay at The Regency Corus Hotel, Solihull.

We are pleased you found everything to your liking and I have passed your comments onto the relevant staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regency Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Shirley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shirley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Solihull 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Regency Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.