We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb Inn Rusper

The Lamb Inn Rusper
Lambs Green, Rusper RH12 4RG, England
01293 871336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Rusper
Price range: $0 - $40
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Family friendly Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Honest pub at honest prices - fish batter was a little golden for my liking but the kinds liked the burgers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“another great sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

popped in again for sunday lunch
great service, good food, good real pub atmosphere

i also like the fact you can ask for extra meat with your sunday lunch if, like me, you are a big meat eater. :-) well worth the extra few quid.

Sticky toffee pudding here is definitely the best we have tasted anywhere.......

and a good real ale on tap as usual!!

we keep on coming back and The Lamb is always a winner....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class Fish - and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

There is a fantastic, friendly atmosphere at the Lamb, especially on a Friday night, although it is as well to book as it does get pretty busy. Real ales and home cooked food which is delicious, especially the fish!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch or the highest quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Serve less well known beers, that are really good. Has a really nice feel inside. Sunday lunch was so good it nearly brought me to tears. Good job I drove otherwise I suspect I would have been there for a seriously long time. Love this place

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina A Salam, Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service but poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We visited The Lamb Inn as a group of 5 and have to say the food really lets this place down. The service was great with a really informal but professional feel but the quality of the food was inadequate.

Two of us had rump steak which was cooked as per the order but was so tough - accompanying chips were frozen chips and for £14.50 I would have expected better!

The desserts are pretty good though and tasted home cooked - although the custard was cold so had to be sent back. It was returned piping hot with an apology.

Also, was quite disappointed at having to go to the bar to order food when sitting in the restaurant area.

Overall, a bit of a disappointing experience and probably won't be going back

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben B, Owner at The Lamb Inn Rusper, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Our steaks are 28 day hung Scotch beef and as such are quite expensive hence us charging £13.50 (not £14.50 as stated). Despite this it is only natural that now and again we get a steak that is not up to standard. We are very surprised that you had two on the same table. It is a shame that you did not bring it to our attention at the time as we would have been only too happy deal with the problem on the night so you were happy.
At the bottom of our printed menu it does state" please order at the bar or if you would like your order taken at the table please let us Know".
Our desserts are all home made as it states at the top of our dessert menu.
As for the custard being cold it was purely human error and for this we apologise.
All of these issues could have been dealt with at the time and it is a shame you did not allow us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb Inn Rusper also viewed

Rusper, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to The Lamb Inn Rusper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb Inn Rusper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.