We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Rusper RH12 4PX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent New Years Eve at Ghyll Manor. We didn't stay in the hotel but enjoyed a great evening with delicious five course dinner, excellent friendly service and super live music. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
The team and I are delighted you had a ‘super evening’!! We are extremely happy that you would like to join us at the Manor for New Year 2014 celebrations.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Mnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    41
    32
    12
See reviews for
43
161
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked cream tea for four, and were given a choice of lounge or conservatory on arrival. Scones were superb, with lashings of decent cream and plenty of jam. Two scones per person and slim slices of carrot cake or chocolate cake, plus slices from a syrup loaf. Two pots of tea each. It defeated us! Very good at £10 per head considering what other hotels charge. You can get the tea with sandwiches at a higher price. Service was pleasant though there were not many staff members around. Points for improvement - tea was not very hot, and jam could have been home-made or higher quality. But otherwise lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the choice of room upon arrival, and that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea indulgence!! I have personally made sure that your comments have been passed to our team at Ghyll Manor.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with this very helpful review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I posted a brief review in September 2013 praising the potential of Ghyll Manor and stating my intent to take a break there in the future. Well, returning for their three day Christmas stay which we had seen in their well produced brochure when on our lunch visit, I can now further report.

All meals included over the three days, Ghyll Manor's Christmas Event had been well thought out and included some suggested activities (local Parish Church Services, a quiz with afternoon tea and Christmas cake, as well as the highlight - a very well organised trip to 'Peter Pan' pantomime in Horsham on Boxing Day) The full board tariff gave us the chance to sample breakfasts, lunch and dinners and a couple of brunch/buffets too. Suffice to say, all the food prepared was of excellent quality, well cooked and presented and served by friendly, helpful and cheery staff. The chef (Graham Digweed) has cookery events through the year and produces interesting food. On returning to our room on Christmas Eve we found two glasses of sherry with a plate of mince pies and carrots for Santa and his reindeer and on opening our door on Christmas morning there was a stocking filled with fruit, nuts and sweets. For every guest on the breakfast table unexpected, tastefully wrapped and individually tagged presents greeted us. These were thoughtful and classy touches that added to that feeling of a special time among caring people. The five course Christmas Day lunch was a triumph: beginning with parsnip soup followed by salmon fillet on spinach, traditional turkey with all the trimmings (but I chose some melt in the mouth beef fillet and there was a vegetarian option too), then Christmas Pudding and a cheese platter to finish us off - and it did!

Ghyll Manor has 29 rooms - the accommodation ranging from standard courtyard 'cottages' to suites in the main house. We were fortunate to be in a large beamed feature room overlooking the 40 acres of grounds and lake. The room was warm, inviting and comfortable in every way, including period features and capacious wardrobes to accommodate our festive clothes and 'Wellies'. The furnishings and bedding were lovely (although I did miss a goose down quilt and pillows) but all was clean and well presented. Only one little moan - the hospitality tray. As in many hotels, one had to scramble around on the floor to plug the kettle in and the drinks available were basic breakfast tea or powdered coffee. In an upgraded room I would expect a choice of herbal teas and hot chocolate too.

Special mention must go to Andy, the restaurant manager, in his exclusive and classy Christmas hat who was unfailingly courteous and appropriately chatty; and to Nicola, the front of house manager, who, with her team, steered us seamlessly through each day. Overall, a very classy and happy Christmas. They have lots of interesting events throughout 2014 (the murder mystery nights and Bonfire Night look good value) so we will surely be returning.

Room Tip: Feature rooms are more expensive but offer lovely spacious accommodation and some have views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sylvia and Christopher,

Thank you very much for having chosen Ghyll Manor Hotel to spend Christmas, and also for taking the time for this fantastic, detailed review. Your great description as to what can be expected when visiting the Manor at this special time is greatly appreciated. I have personally made sure that your comments have been passed onto Andrew and Graham, both of them were delighted to hear about your kind words. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon!

Best wishes,
Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ghyll Manor is a hidden jewel!!

My wife and I had the pleaser of dinning with some friends on Sunday night and I am glad to say it was fabulous. Everything about this place is polished and refined and it shows in the standard of service we received.

The standard of food exceeds any expectations I had and the level of service in the restaurant was outstanding. The Restaurant Supervisor was sharply dressed and extremely well spoken at all times. He was very knowledgeable and didn’t shy away from offering his option on menu choices and accompanying wines. He even managed to sale us a fabulous bottle of red wine that he recommend to accompany the duck superbly. On leaving the Hotel we were wished a save journey by your lovely receptionist as she opened the front door for us.

I hope tonight was only the tip of the iceberg as we have decided to make this a regular event for the four of us.

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and awarding us 5 stars on Trip Advisor!! It is a pleasure to learn of your fantastic stay and in particular your high praise for our team, service and food. We look forward to helping make your next stay an even better one!

With kind regards,
Ghyll Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Met friends here for Sunday lunch..........Where to start..... nasty dry bread rolls, toast for pate forgotten, meals luke warm and average. Such a shame as the setting and enviroment were lovely. The staff we met were very pleasant but we all felt that the food was poor. Yes we were given free drinks to compenstae but until management looks carefully at the food provided then we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, General Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy lunch as we would have wished; please rest assured that your experience seems to have been very much the exception to the rule. We pride ourselves on our fresh, seasonal produce and the high quality of our food at Ghyll Manor as attested to by the many positive comments received below, and I am sorry that that this was not the case on the occasion of your visit to us. I have discussed your concerns with my Head Chef, in order to ensure that there is no shortfall in our high standards of both food and service in the future. I am positive that you will be thoroughly satisfied on your next visit, and should you have any doubts in this respect please do contact me personally.

Kind regards

Adam Salter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable long weekend at Ghyll Manor. We were pleasantly surprised at the high quality and space provided by our room which turned out to be a very large and comfortable suite which was described as being "Chestnut Cottage" and I must admit that our suite, far from being a cottage definitely had that feel to it, comprising of a large double bedroom and an equally large lounge equipped with TV and DVD player. Both rooms were comfortably and well furnished. Staff at Ghyll Manor were efficient, friendly and could not do enough for us and the food was excellent. We would definitely go back for a repeat stay and most certainly would recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet and comfortable break.

Room Tip: This Hotel only has 29 rooms and I would recommend anyone visiting to request one of the "cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay as well as your review! It sounds as if you had a lovely time in our Hotel, and we were also pleased to read how much you enjoyed one of our spacious cottages. We look forward to welcoming you back for your country escape very soon!

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Attended a wedding at Ghyll Manor and stayed overnight in the Camilla Suite costing £130. Not good value for money though as the room was quite dark and in need of updating, and whilst the bathroom was large, this too was quite dated. The grounds and lake are beautiful and the staff were friendly. We had a set course meal at the wedding and the food and service was very good, but the breakfast was not as enjoyable unfortunately. Overall we had a wonderful time at the wedding but feel our stay did not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola C, Manager at Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the wedding food and service. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment programme for all our rooms, with scheduled work to commence imminently. Going forward, when you plan a return visit to us please do contact myself directly at reservations@ghyllmanor.co.uk and I will be more than happy to assist you.

Kindest Regards,
Nicola Cribb
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High St, Rusper RH12 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rusper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rusper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Sussex countryside, this 17th-century country manor house hotel combines both character and charm with warm friendly service. Choose from 29 modern, individually designed bedrooms and visit the award winning restaurant, serving classic dishes with a contemporary twist. Ghyll Manor also provides a full wedding service with dedicated wedding planners to ensure your special day is flawless, plus excellent facilities too for conferences/meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Manor Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.