We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Gerardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse
Save
You added Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse to your Saves list
San Gerardo, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 San Gerardo B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was the best hostel (out of 6) we stayed at on our trip! The owners and the hostel hosts were fantastic...everyone was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Hot water, free tea and coffee, and a computer available to use (no wi-fi, which is actually kind of nice). We didn't climb Chirripo, and they were full of suggestions for other things to do in the area. The hostel itself is very homey and comfortable with a wood stove, couches, and a nice open kitchen. They loaned us trail maps for the day to use around the Cloudbridge Reserve and the Chirripo Trail, and suggested we go to a local trout farm to catch some fresh fish. There is a wonderful outdoor area with hammocks, a table and chairs, and a soon-to-be natural hot tub (it was in progress when we were there). This is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
32
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
golden, co
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Even if you aren't up to climbing Chirripo,, this hostel is a great home away from home. John and Jill, and whoever they've rounded up to help host, are excellent people to hang with. We stayed 4 nights, doing hikes around the Cloudbridge Reserve and town, and talking it up with all the international guests doing the summit. They make an excellent Chirripo bar, and serve up a friendly couch room and shared kitchen. We stayed in the Jungle Room, a great couples place for a mountain retreat. Let's face it, sometimes you've just had enough of the beach and need some elevation. Casa Mariposa is an excellent choice. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

THE place to stay if you are doing the Chirripo hike. Right next to the trailhead, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, gear for rent and some for free, restaurant next door. Very helpful by email before I arrived and once there highlighted beautiful waterfalls nearby that I didn't know about. Everything I was looking for in my trip to the area. Your search ends here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Last August, my girlfriend and I decided to hike Chirripo. When we got to San Gerardo de Rivas, we found Casa Mariposa and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. First of all, it is the closest accommodation to the trailhead for Chirripo. Trust me, after hiking, it was VERY nice to only have to walk a couple extra meters. As for the guesthouse, it resembles a hostel, but there is a certain warmth and charm to the place that makes you feel welcome. The rooms are cozy and unique. We slept on a stone bed with a mattress on top (VERY comfortable though). Outside, there is a stone room, where for a couple of extra dollars, hikers can take a long, soaking bath with candles and incense. Also out back, there are steps up to a table and hammocks where people can have breakfast or just relax and drink coffee or agua dulce. The steps also go down to the cloud forest so visitors can do a little more exploration of their own. In addition, the people that run the place are so nice and inviting. When we were there, the owners were out of town and a young couple were running the place in their absence. I can't remember their names, but she was from Spain and I think he was from Canada. Overall though, Casa Mariposa has character and is a very comfortable place to stay.

Another thing that is great about Casa Mariposa is that it complete caters to people hiking Chirripo. Guest can borrow trail maps, clothing, gloves, and other equipment for the hike. Coffee is prepared at 4:00 am and there is a rule that guest can't wear shoes or talk in the morning. This is so the people who are beginning their hike up Chirripo don't wake up the people who have just completed their hike down Chirripo. Also, for a couple of extra dollars, you can leave your car in the parking area for a couple of days while doing the hike. Anyway, if you are planning a hike up Chirripo and want a nice, very reasonably priced place to say, go to Casa Mariposa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Casa Mariposa to hike Cerro Chirripo the next morning, the place is very inviting and clean. Its a very convenient place to stay at to start the hike. Hosts Laura and Dan are just wonderful and kind. We got rained on for 8km straight hiking down and they opened their door for us despite the fact that we have not made reservations to stay in that night, Laura provided us with clean towels and coffee. We got cleaned up and left our shoes outside to partially dry and then we took off for a burger at the restaurant next door by Hotel Uran.
Once again it started raining hard in the middle of our meal, when we came back at Casa Mariposa our shoes were all by the porch. Laura and Dan put it there when we were next door eating, they are Casa Mariposas best asset and we are grateful for their kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We walked up to Casa Mariposa from San Gerardo de Rivas and it is a steep climb! But ...we were really satisfied with the hostel , once we arrived. We were coming from Rivas , on the bus , and it only goes as far as San Gerardo (great tiny town) The hotel is ALL wood and lots of rocks and stairs. The hostel ( and hotel) is super clean and it was cool at night and I slept great ! Everyone that was staying there went to bed early....as most of them were there to hike Chirripo. There is a larger hotel right next to Casa Mariposa that does serve meals and drinks ...seemed pretty reasonable too.

We were there to hike at Cloudbridge Reserve and totally loved the reserve!!! There is NO entrance fee..which is rare for Costa Rica , but they do except donations..which we gave! There are various trails to chose from and many beautiful waterfalls ! They are doing a great job at Cloudbridge in reforestation !

I would love to go back to this area again. I live in Costa Rica and will try to return. People in the area were also very friendly and the vista's were amazing! Plus...this area is not far from San Isidro...which is close to the Pacific...for MORE FUN!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Casa Mariposa is a lovely inviting little hostel. We were there visiting family one Christmas. We hiked at Cloudbridge and also did the Chirripo hike on boxing day. The Jungle room is a real experience. We had a wonderful sleep after the hike up and down the mountain. Jill often has wonderful baking on hand. Her and John will help you out with anything from renting sleeping bags for the hike to laundry services. So accommodating. The Mariposa is very friendly and a must stay at place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse

Address: San Gerardo, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park > San Gerardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Gerardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel-style lodging catering to international clientele, located at the trail head to Mt. Chirripo and Cloudbridge Reserve. Owners John and Jill Titan prioritize your easy access to nature. Private rooms with queen bed and dorm beds. Fully equipped guest kitchen. Local coffee, tea, milk, sugar, cooking oil and spices provided. Spotless shared restrooms. Hot showers. Common living area, hammocks, book trade & DVD library, garden and river trails, birding and naturalist reference guides, travel assistance, games, phone and internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse Costa Rica/San Gerardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mariposa Hostel & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.