We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Punchbowl

The Punchbowl
High Easter CM1 4QW, England
01245 231222
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Loved the wine, the food and the owner. Very consistent, the razor clams were fantastic and my steak cooked perfectly. Will definitely be back. I hear the oxtail stew is unbelievable...and on my agenda on my next visit. The best restaurant in Essex by a mile.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    3
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Its was Prus Birthday & mine host David made us so welcome, the food & service was seconed to none.

Davids wine collection is a must to see , which i had to have a case of, cannot wait to return.

Tony Appleton Lord of The Manor of Great Baddow

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lucy's Birthday Celebration Meal 26/1/2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first trip to the Punchbowl in many many years – I loved it!! It was full to the brim, but room was made for our party with wonderful nibbles on the table and champagne continuously topped up while we waited for our table. The atmosphere was lovely, like a proper family run establishment, comfortable and caring. The host David was fantastic, attentive without being over the top, and with well trained staff, who were attentive but invisible! I had king scallops to start, they were amazing and then the special of halibut, which was just divine. I had a mixture of desserts, but i have to say the vanilla cheesecake was something to die for, and will be on my top of desserts chart I have ever had. The sweets and chocolates were a lovely touch, we were there all night and almost the last to leave – a fantastic night, with fantastic food and service, booking for sunday lunch asap when my father comes home from Cape Town next week! Thank you David and all your staff – the menu was printed on the top with Lucy's Birthday Celebration Menu, a wonderful touch, and much treasured!! See you soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to eat at the Punchbowl numerous times.
The food is sublime and David's attentive service and charismatic personality always makes our experience thoroughly enjoyable.
Thank you David - you and your team are truly amazing!
If you have not been to this restaurant yet you really must go. However, make sure you leave enough room for the absolutely fantastic dessert trolley!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Punch bowl previously and nothing has changed David is very attentive as we're all his staff, Food was perfect , thanks Penny, restaurant looked very festive and even had carol singers pop in and sang a few carols, perfect Sunday evening very festive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Punchbowl also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to The Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Punchbowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.