We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Sohna Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Sohna Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin Sohna Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatika Complex, P.O. Box Dhaula, Karanki Road | Sohna-Gurgaon, Sohna 122103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sohna
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We visited the Westin Spa & Resort at Sohna for the second time after a pretty disappointing first trip earlier this year. Our return was on the invitation of Mr Gooch the hotel manager who had promised a better experience this time. Am glad to write that we came back with far less disappointments and a much better stay.
Check-in took a while but we got the room we wanted. Sunanina, the front-office manager was helpful on that front. A lot of the staff welcomed us back which reflected on the hotel's attrition rate. Thats a good sign.
Room airconditioning was much better this time though I think thats a result of better weather conditions as compared to April. This is one aspect whcih could still see improvement.
Food quality was much improved this time and the F&B staff at the restaurants were very helpful. Although there was apparently no wholewheat bread on the breakfast buffet one morning as supplies had not come in that day. Since I could not eat refined flour, I was offered wholewheat toast from the previous evening's stock which was fine by me. But being a Spa resort, that was a bit surprising.
Service Express continues to be not as "express".
Of the other facilities on the resort, the spa was apparently a good experience as reported by my spouse. But its a bit of a rip-off to have to pay for children's pony-rides and adventure activities like net-climbing and the Burma bridge. These can definitely be included in the complimentary services. After all this a resort.
The Kid's Club is looked after well by Leena. A bit more effort on organized activities would take it to the next level.
Lack of wi-fi in the rooms can be annoying. But maybe they will get around to addressing that soon.
The greenery was beautiful after the rains and the overall tranquility was rejuvenating. Overall, we came back pleased that we made the trip back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Greetings traveliteNewDelhi,

thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

we read your review and all of us are very happy to know you enjoyed and had a more refreshing stay this time around at the westin sohna resort & spa.

we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in sohna! 



be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com

passion: kirya yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    179
    68
    26
    30
See reviews for
183
122
8
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New delhi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at this property for a couple of nights and had booked 5 rooms. We reached the resort at 12pm but were told the check in is not before 3 pm and so had to roam here and there with our small children in tow. However, we were only given rooms by 3.30 or so.
Rooms are large and spacious with equally large and well maintained bathrooms.No issues on that front. The property is huge and well maintained considering the size of the property. The primary mode of transportation between the rooms or say pool,resteaurant is through golf carts but is tedious at best .Since, they have only 3-4 golf carts operational out of 12 and everybody requires them along with check in guests.

The food at their main resteaurant again is quite bland in comparison to the indian palete and a real disappointment, as the prices are very expensive, a humble tomato soup costs 12.5usd plus taxes.
The spa is huge and is commendable. But again the prices are very high,just to use the wet spa areas(steam and sauna) u have to pay rs 1000(approx), which is generally complimentary for the hotel guests.
The biggest let down however is their check in policy , if u want to stay for a day u check in at 3pm and check out by 12 pm next day. There is no time to relax unwind. With their pricing policy they should consider this aspect of the guests time.
The service is good and the staff tries its best to offer you a hospitable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Greetings Traveelate,

Thank you for your tripdavisor review. I agree with your statement, “Always rom for improvement!” We always believe we have improvements to make and is why we appreciate your feedback which always helps us to keep improving.

Because we are a resort property spread out on 37 acres of lush greenery it does take time to make all the rooms so your check out is noon so we can get the rooms ready for 3pm arrival. We recommend at reservations that it is best to arrive around 2pm and plan to have lunch with us first. Also, when checking out you can always leave your bags with us and still enjoy the property and enjoy the afternoon.

When visiting a resort property, which has no elevators, we really encourage our guest to get out and walk and really enjoy the nice fresh air. This is one of the biggest reasons why people choose to visit us to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the cities. Although, if you need a Golf buggy we are always happy to send, however on such a big property that is spread out and private they do take time and work on a queue system.

Again, all your points are taken well and we will continue to strive to keep improving all aspects of our resort here at the westin sohna resort & spa. We do hope you come back when you need another break from the city! We are one of the closest resorts to travel by car.

be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

A group of 20 friends went to Westin Sohna to celebrate a friend's birthday. The place is large and open, with lots of greenery and landscaping.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was amazing. It had a large living room and two large bedrooms with attached bathrooms. While the location is in the open, the villas were equipped with modern furnishings and each bedroom and the living room featured a flat screen tv. The bathroom was accessible through drawable curtains from the bedroom as well as through the dressing area. While the toilet had a separate door to ensure privacy, the rest of the bathroom was open. The bathroom featured a large shower with rainshower and hand-held options as well as a separate, deep tub. Both the shower and the tub had large windows beside them with a view of trees (enclosed by a brick wall).

The spa was also amazing, very relaxing. Westin Sohna also offers a number of yoga, meditation and ayurvedic spa options. It also has a number of outdoor activities including horseback riding.

Although it took us nearly 2 hours to reach Sohna from Delhi and the roads leading to the resort were pothole ridden and bumpy, I will definitely come back again. It's a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Greetings holidaybabe79,

thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

we read your review and all of us are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the westin sohna resort & spa.

we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in sohna! 



be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

i have stayed at this property a number of times since it opened a few years ago....my wife & i go here for the weekend once every 2-3 months....

it s pain to get here & will take anywhere from an hour & a half to two hours to get here from delhi....but once you are here this place is great....

its got a couple of nice restaurants & a great spa my wife loves to use whenever we are there....the staff is very welcoming & friendly....

as a spg platinum member i always get upgraded to a suite here....the last time i got a fantastic upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite....

an excellent place to relax for a couple of days....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Greetings saintsaad,

thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

first off thank you for being a platinum SPG member! We are glad you have visited us a number of times in which really being the closest getaway from Delhi we hope when you come you always feel more refreshed when you leave than when you first arrived.

we are glad to hear you enjoyed our food, spa and rooms.

we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in sohna! 



be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Large resort-style property. Far-flung location that is very difficult to find, especially at night. Consider this only for business offsites. However, it can get quite hot during the months of April-June. Staff is mostly novices. Food is below average.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
greetings bizyWanderer,

thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

we read your review and we are glad to know you enjoyed your time at the westin sohna resort & spa.

we offer both business off sites and personal getaways including retreats. however we are classified as a resort and are spread out on 35 acres of greenery. even though you are here doing business you can still breath fresh air and go for nice walks along the path. this leads to a nice unwind after all the meetings.

we hope to see you on your next trip as a personal one with your family so you can experience the other offerings westin sohna has to offer.

please let me know if i can arrange anything for you!

be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

stayed at westin for 4 days for business meet.Reaching this place is really tough! the roads are bad and not many signboard to help you.however the hotel staff was avaiable for travel assistance over the phone.really big room and even bigger bath room.loved their toiletteries! the food was amazing!! the only other problem was the frequent power cuts. overall a great place to be in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Greetings ilovemytravel,

thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

we read your review and all of us are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the westin sohna resort & spa.

we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in sohna! 



be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I took my team here for an offsite conference. Finding the place was a nightmare since there were no signs on the way. Inspite of having a map, it did take some time to find this. However, once you get there the place is wonderful It feels like a seaside reesort in the middle of Haryana. The rooms are basic but spacious. The bar was amazing as was the quality and variety of food. They also have very nice gym, pool and a lot of sports activities. This place could be ideal for a weekend getaway in the winters or spring.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derrick_gooch, Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Greetings vijayraghu2000,


thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting.

we read your review and all of us are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the westin sohna resort & spa.

we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in sohna! 



be refreshed,

derrick gooch
hotel manager
derrick.gooch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Sohna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Sohna Resort and Spa

Address: Vatika Complex, P.O. Box Dhaula, Karanki Road | Sohna-Gurgaon, Sohna 122103, India
Location: India > Haryana > Sohna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sohna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westin Sohna Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Sohna Resort & Spa, a five-star resort located in a rural country setting with lush gardens. Our 97 guest accommodations range from Premier Rooms to our stand alone Premier Villa and two-bedroom Luxury Villa. All guest rooms and suites feature the signature Westin Heavenly Bed®, ensuring a restful night’s sleep. Though you will feel miles away from everything, our convenient location is only 24 miles from Gurgaon City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Sohna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sohna Hotel Sohna
Westin Haryana
Westin Sohna Gurgaon Hotel
Haryana Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.