We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night break in the countryside from Delhi with the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Sohna Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Sohna Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin Sohna Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatika Complex, P.O. Box Dhaula, Karanki Road | Sohna-Gurgaon, Sohna 122103, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sohna
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great one night break in the countryside from Delhi with the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a night here with our two kids (4 years and 1 year), and with one other family of two kids (6 and 4). Both our families are expatriates in Delhi, and with summer practically here and kids who want to always do stuff! this was a welcome getaway from the city, even if it was only the one night. We stayed in one of the ground floor 'apartments', which I thought was just massive! Maybe I'm not used to staying in huge hotel rooms, but compared to the average good hotel, rooms are usually much smaller. Wonderful amenities as expected of the Westin and lovely design, sadly though not well maintained, it could be miles better if maintenance was keener (I'm quite sure though that this is a prevalent issue of anything in Delhi, level of maintenance).

The Kids club was nice, if it was too hot outside to do anything, but again, some of the toys were broken or not working properly.. The kids still had fun though with whatever else was available.

The horse riding was also a hit with the kids. Okay, it was one of those big ponies, not exactly Arabian, but perfect for the children. And very slow moving too, again great for kids, plodding round the hotel grounds.

There was even a petting zoo! A turkey, chickens, ducks, rabbits.. The ducks in fact were walking (waddling!) around freely, getting fed at one point bread by one of the hotel chefs (in his chef whites, by the way, hmm). The animals looked a little hot and conditions for them could have been better, but I suppose in India, it could have been much worse for them..

There were at least two playgrounds that we found which were sand based, and the kids enjoyed.

The pool was a definite hit as well. There was however a mysterious grotty looking pipe running loosely over the ground through the trees, and emptying water into the pool. We joked about how scary that was, but shut an eye anyway. We suspect also the pool water was not chlorinated to a typical level found outside India, but this is speculation.

What we enjoyed a fair bit was the juices and smoothies we were plied with in the lobby and at poolside, tasty and cold and refreshing.

We had all our meals at the hotel, and the variety for the international buffet was enough to keep everyone happy. It wasn't amazing, and some of it wasn't even authentic, but it was good and we were all happy Funnily, we especially liked the hot and sour soup! Scrambled eggs on the other hand (always a gripe with me) were basically just mushed up omelette, not in the least creamy or fluffy. Something to note if like me you are fussy about eggs! Having said that, I ate them anyway not wanting to waste! An egg is an egg is an egg...

The husband took the liberty of going for a body massage, thinking it being a 'resort and spa' it would be something special. We noted though at booking appointment stage, that it seemed slightly odd that men customers are assigned only male masseuses. Anyway, off he went, and he came back an hour later thoroughly disappointed. He had had his face massaged at one point by extremely hairy arms, overall doubtful body odor, and burping on the part of the masseuse! We were all in fits laughing but seriously, not worth the price.. Maybe it would be better for the ladies, but none of the ladies in our group had any spa treatments done, so we can't comment..

Overall, it was a wonderful stay, the beds were so fluffy even our son who hates to sleep enjoyed sleeping! The bathrooms were big, the bed was big, the rooms were big, the buffet spread was big, and most importantly the kids had fun in comparatively clean air in a clean environment. We would love to go back..oh and we actually liked the walks between locations within hotel grounds. It's a fair distance, but how often do we get to stroll in the city? It's nice to just walk without worrying you're going to get run over or step into something nasty..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear peanut49,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.We are very happy to note that your stay was enjoyable. We have noted your comment on Spa services and shall take corrective action on instant.. It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and we do hope you will not bench mark us with the shortcomings you had experienced and will give us an opportunity to serve you better.Hoping to get an opportunity to welcoming you to renewal on your next visit to Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    199
    78
    33
    35
See reviews for
200
147
8
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Could not believe that we would get to see such a serene place so close by the NCR. We went there for a business conference but surely the place was good to go with the family. Has got a flying/ gliding activity which must be availed.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages. They have bathrooms having tubs opening to the sky. (off course glass roof as A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear manishgour,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sohna Resort & Spa and for sharing your wonderful feedback through TripAdvisor.The team is very delighted to receive your positive feedback and to learn that the overall service and facilities of the hotel exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is inspiring for all of us.Westin Sohna is an oasis for many of our guests away from the chaos of the city and close to nature; and is designed is provide a relaxing and renewing experience for your stay. The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and to welcoming you back each time.

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon india
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

To the incharge who writes in reply to night I attended a function service was very very poor like u hired waiters from near by villages for this function being a Starwood member I am going to raise this issue on higher side no services I even told one of the incharge Mr. Vaibhav he replyed sir sorry what do u want and the he never came back Starwood group is a very big group please do not spoil you brand name I have never seen such a bad bad service in my life
Please look in to the matter and feel sorry

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear mukulsagarvasishta,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I appreciate that your patronage with Starwood hotels and as a valued Starwood preferred guest your comfort and experience is our primary concern.
It is very unfortunate that the service at the Wedding function at the resort did not reflect the quality you expected from us and I am really concerned that we did not live up to your expectation. We will revisit certain processes in our areas of concern with more focus on training so that our associates can reach their potential in areas of various guest services and satisfaction. At Westin we always consider that the comments are a source of opportunity and improvement which enable us to elevate our products and services to the next level reaching at our full potential. It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and we do hope you will not benchmark us with the shortcomings you had experienced and will give us an opportunity to serve you better. We always pride on our services and regret any lapse on our part. Hoping to get an opportunity to welcoming you to renewal on your next visit to Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great value for money and out of word service and the quality of food was beyond the expectation. feeling like haven by staying here. T he place is middle of no where but when you reach once you will feel like you are in haven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Shinta_72,

Thank you for sharing your views through Trip Advisor. Westin Sohna is an oasis for many of our guests away from the chaos of the city and close to nature; and is designed is provide a relaxing and renewing experience for your stay. I am also delighted to know that the food and the service was to your great liking and satisfaction. Your appreciation for our team members is very rewarding, which will go a long way in achieving high standards of service. At Westin we take pride in serving our guests in a personal, instinctive manner and provide them with memorable experiences. Thank you for recommending us and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back for many more enriching moments on your next visit to Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Westin is a lovely resort fairly close to Gurgaon and even Delhi. It has piled luxury in its cottages, especially the upper end ones. The glass roof in the bathroom is a special touch, bringing the outside right into a private space, without compromising privacy.

the food is exceptional and service professional. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others, especially if in a group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear rsksquare,

It’s inspiring to receive such invaluable comments from our guests. The ambience of the resort is designed to provide relaxing and renewing experience for your stay. Your words of appreciation for our associates are a source of inspiration and will encourage them to continue deliver higher standards of service. We are also delighted to know that the food was to your great liking and satisfaction. At Westin we take pride in serving our guests in a personal and instinctive manner and provide them with memorable experiences so that our guests leave every Westin experience feeling better than they did when they arrived. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more renewing experiences on your next visit to Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Hotel is an absolute OASIS about 10 minutes from the highway at the Sohna intersection(so about 2 hours from South Delhi-factor in the drive time when going there!
Sprawling gardens, a lovely resort pool, a great kids' area and then the sports side of the property- a well equipped gymnasium with a great outdoor lap pool - about 20 metres-perfect!! They have a synthetic turf tennis court in great shape and a football field which doubles up as a small cricket ground with a proper turf pitch(no grass on it though)
We had a fabulous barbecue dinner by the resort pool and it was very professionally laid out. The food was very good!
ROOMS-The villas are a delight-set amidst the gardens with frangipani trees and foliage that they are almost private! A lovely sitting area as u walk in, with a love seat(romantic) to watch your TV and on the left was the 4 poster bed with curtains (maybe to protect from mosquitos) but very romantic again. The bedroom and the TV area can be separated by a curtain...each villa has a lovely patio at the back with chairs and a hammock! The bathroom-huge-partly with a glass roof so u can watch the stars while soaking in the tub for 2. Lovely twin basins and areas for the shower and pot separated by a glass curtain.
The main restaurant(hope u are close to it) is where breakfast(7-1030 am) is served and it has a lovely anti area past the long bar on the left of the passage which takes you to this lounge/library like area which can be used for seating as well -use it-superb energy.
We had a cocktail brunch in this area and the food was just incredible. From Lal Maas, live prawn and fish stations, Chinese, Pakistani kababs, Amritsari fish and then the tawa of brain masala, gurde kapoore and kaleji-my mouth still waters when I think of it! They obviously have great chefs,and a lot of them!!

Room Tip: Choose the villas close to the pool / breakfast areas as it takes a while to call for the cart. I re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Nauhar,

Thank you for sharing this inspiring review through Tripadvisor. We are also delighted to know that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services provided with a relaxing and renewing experience! Your words perfectly define Westin experience which enables mental and physical wellness infused with optimism so that our guests leave every Westin experience feeling better than they did when they arrived. Your appreciation for our team members is very rewarding, which will go a long way in achieving high standards of service. At Westin we take pride in serving our guests in a personal, instinctive manner and provide them with memorable experiences. Thank you for recommending us and we eagerly await your return and hope to be your preferred leisure destination in Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

All was great,
the conciage staff, to front of the house, chefs , spa treatment , pool staff, kids club . they all are a collective Effort to make my stay memorable.i would recommend must visit. i would definately go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestin_Gurgaon, General Manager at Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Gurjyote,

Thank you for sharing your views through Trip Advisor. Westin Sohna is an oasis for many of our guests away from the chaos of the city and close to nature; and is designed is provide a relaxing and renewing experience for your stay. I am also delighted to know that the recreational facilities, the Kid’s activities and the service was to your great liking and satisfaction. Your appreciation for our team members is very rewarding, which will go a long way in achieving high standards of service. At Westin we take pride in serving our guests in a personal, instinctive manner and provide them with memorable experiences. Thank you for recommending us and we eagerly await your return and hope to be your preferred leisure destination in Delhi (NCR).

be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager


be inspired, be renewed
Sanjay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Sohna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Sohna Resort and Spa

Address: Vatika Complex, P.O. Box Dhaula, Karanki Road | Sohna-Gurgaon, Sohna 122103, India
Location: India > Haryana > Sohna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sohna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westin Sohna Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Sohna Resort & Spa, a five-star resort located in a rural country setting with lush gardens. Our 97 guest accommodations range from Premier Rooms to our stand alone Premier Villa and two-bedroom Luxury Villa. All guest rooms and suites feature the signature Westin Heavenly Bed®, ensuring a restful night’s sleep. Though you will feel miles away from everything, our convenient location is only 24 miles from Gurgaon City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Westin Sohna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sohna Hotel Sohna
Westin Haryana
Westin Sohna Gurgaon Hotel
Haryana Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Sohna Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.