We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madoo Tours - Caroni Swamp - highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madoo Bird Tours

Madoo Bird Tours
#37 Bamboo Settlement #1 Uriah Butler Highway, Caroni, Trinidad
(868) 737-2069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Caroni
Attraction details
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Madoo Tours - Caroni Swamp - highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We are a family with two teenage girls and grandmother and this week too the trip on the swamp. We looked at reviews online and decided to go with Madoo - it was all very easy to arrange, Sean was waiting for us on time with a big smile and gave us directions to their visitor centre where we could look at pictures of some of the things we might see on the trip, and use the restrooms before the 2 hour boat trip!
The boat felt very secure and safe, and the weather was just slightly overcast which made for a comfortable trip. Sean was very informative, telling us about the Swamp, and spotting birds in the magroves. We also saw two snakes, the crabs that the Ibis eat to get their colour, oysters, four-eyed fish, silky anteater, and of course the amazing flocks of Scarlet Ibis which flew in to decorate the trees as they came to roost. We really enjoyed the peaceful trip along the waterways with a gentle breeze blowig.
What I really appreciated was that apart from doing the guided tour, Sean was able to answer lots of questions that the visitors asked, not just a memorized blurb. He had binoculars that he passed around which made the viewing of the Ibis at roost really great. He and his father also gave information about other tours that could be done in the swamp, or out into the Gulf.
I would definitely recommend Madoo Tours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sweet sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff of Madoo's tours were awfully friendly and warm. They took us throughout the Caroni Swamp and we enjoyed the views of Scarlet Ibis and the surroundings which were breathtaking. It was incredible. They picked us up and took care of us for the entire trip and drop us off at a secure location when we were through. It was terrific! The guides were very knowledgeable about the area, and wildlife inhabitants. We would definitely do this again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Madoo Bird Tours is D Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Shawn Madoo and his crew are the best naturalists and bird experts you'll find in Caroni Swamp. They find so many amazing animals on the tour, and make sure everyone gets good looks. They are also fun guys to be around. I went on these trips every chance I could, because there's no better way to spend a sunset than hanging in Caroni watching the ibis fly home.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Madoo's Tours of Caroni Bird Sanctuary - The only way to Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Madoo family gives, by far, the best and most personalized tour of the Caroni Bird Sanctuary - a truly amazing place!
They are incredibly knowledgeable about every living thing in that swamp and knows exactly how and where to spot each and every animal, not to mention the amazing assortment of birds! You tell them if you have something you really want to see and they will certainly find it for you.
The tour is amazing and I think I went out on it at least 4 times during my visit and saw something different and breathtaking every single time!
The competition (Nanan's Tours) actually try to steal their business by stopping people before they go out with Madoo's, so don't be persuaded!
You will have the best tour and see the most of everything with Madoo's!

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madoo Bird Tours also viewed

 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Madoo Bird Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madoo Bird Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.