We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frangipani Hotel
Save
You added Frangipani Hotel to your Saves list
Belmont, Bequia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent one night here. We paid extra for the air-conditioned room. the AC remote didn't work at first, but the management got it fixed right away. The room was clean and spacious. The best part of staying at frangipani was the location. It is right in the middle of all the excitement and there was even a steel band playing that night! lots of fun. will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Having stayed for 3 nights recently in a "deluxe hillside room", the welcome was adequate but hardly effusive and did nothing to encourage us to use the facilities of the hotel and consequently we tried other bars and restaurants. Our room was described as having a "partial sea view" but to be fair it had an excellent view apart from some trees. The bedroom was pleasant enough but the bathroom was very basic, one of the doors would not close and the ventilation shaft provided a plentiful supply of mosquitoes. A fridge was supplied but it was on it's last legs and so noisy we had to switch it off at night. There was a safe but despite advising reception that it appeared to need new batteries on our first day, typically nothing happened. There was a noisy disco from the neighbouring bar on the Monday night, but I gather the hotel provides this on a Thursday night! Bequia is a beautiful island, so don't expect a cheap deal, but you could pay at least 50% less for similar accommodation in Europe.

Room Tip: Room 14 as described, good sea view but otherwise basic. It is also a good walk uphill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent two nights at the Frangipani Hotel and had a mixed experience. At our arrival the person in charge at that moment, Shaqeen or something, was apparently not really happy to see costumers. No smile, no welcome and when she showed us the room, she didn't do more than the actual showing... for our arrival we asked to confirm the ferry the next morning, which on person forgot or at least she didn't leave a note for us and the other one confirmed in a quick manner. Only problem: the next morning there was no ferry. To conclude, if you go to the Frangipani, don't expect costumer service. At least if you are staying in the 'cheaper' rooms with shared bathroom. Perhaps they treat you better if you are staying in a more expansive room... but still, this shouldn't happen at a place which charges usd 85 for a double room with shard bathroom.

The nice side of the hotel is its really good location, the lovely traditional house with nice rooms and that you get free icecubes from tbe bar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in February. The location was great and stayed in a garden room which was rustic but very nice.

The breakfasts were lovely and we ate their every night of our stay and the jump up on the Thursday was not to be missed.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had received great service over email when booking the Frangipani so it was no surprise that we received great service from the staff as soon as we arrived at the hotel.

Our large room was in a villa of 4 rooms behind the main building. It was large, clean and beautiful. The view over the bay from the verandah was very special too.

The bathroom had a good shower, two basins and a large wardrobe. There was also a fridge, glasses and tea and coffee making facilities. There was free WiFi, no TV.

There is a problem with sandfliues and other mosquito-like insects. Beds do have mosquitoe nets, rooms have coils to light and spray to use. Thses did help but the bites were annoying.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different views, and a different number of steps to get to them. Choose one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a good experience at the frangipani, nice staff, lovely room, rather basic but that was part of the charm and the sense of really getting away from it all. Unlike others we found the wifi very good (we were in one of the high rooms at the back) and had a nice view of the bay. Service in the restaurant was slow at times but food was good.

If you're a beach lover you may prefer a different town, although we found the slightly challenging 20 minute hike to princess Margaret beach ok. We liked being close to port Elizabeth so really it depends what type of holiday you're after.

Nothing to do with the hotel but the mosquitoes in bequia are vicious! They provided a bottle of repellant and a mosquito net for the bed, both of which were very useful!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is among a few hotels in Port Elizabeth in Bequia, and we are glad we selected this location. We had one of the two air conditioned rooms in the property, however it was quite a hike to get up to our room. The room was nicely set up, with a huge balcony overlooking the beautiful harbor. The bathroom inside the room was ok, it can use some updating. The restaurant was an ok experience, nothing special, in fact, the last morning we had breakfast there, they were out of ham, papaya, bananas, and the coffee was broken, I presume being in such a remote island, stocking up supplies may not be as easy. Overall, we liked this stay, and Bequia is such a beautiful island to visit and SCUBA dive in.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frangipani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Hotel

Address: Belmont, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Belmont
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Frangipani Hotel Bequia/Belmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.