We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Frangipani Hotel to your Saves list
Frangipani Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bequia, Belmont VC0400, Bequia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
St. Vincent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful seafood restaurant where you dine right on the waterfront. The staff is quite friendly and the waiting time for food is relatively short. This hotel is in walking distance of the main shopping areas, the beach and is surrounded by bars and restaurant and water and land taxis are readily available to take you around. Great place for couples or family vacations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
2
29
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel just for one night on our way to Kingstown. Frangipani is a family-owned hotel with bright and spacious rooms with shared bathroom (couple of rooms with private bathroom are more expensive). Our room (really clean) had no air con, just a fan but it was enough. Over each bed we had a mosquito net. Make sure you use it!
Hotel has a nice looking restaurant but only meal we had there was breakfast (continental). Hotel is located just 7 min walk from the port which is very convenient when you travel by ferry.
Price seems a little high as for a room with shared bathroom and no air con, however in our opinion hotel makes it up with bright, Caribbean decoration and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As to the hotel, the room we had was further up the hill, so it had a good view. Otherwise, it was a bit dated but charming. The internet (wifi) is awful (slow at best, nonexistent at worst), so be patient or give up on communicating with the outside world while enjoying the delights of "Frangi."

One of the selling points of this hotel is supposed to be the amazing bar. On their own website, they define it as "Listed as one of the top 100 bars in the world, the Frangipani's waterfront open air bar is one of the Caribbean's famous watering holes." Understandably, our expectations were high when we went down one night to get a nightcap. The bar was almost empty, with the barman typing a message on his phone. I approached and politely asked if we could order some drinks. By way of response, a grunt was supposed to assure me I can go ahead; no eye contact, yet, though, he must have had an important message to type while on the job. I asked a couple of questions as to how he makes the Painkiller cocktail and whether he has any Margaritas. Still typing away, I got some laconic responses and, although surprised by the sassy attitude, I decided to order. He reluctantly put his phone away and with the air of doing me a favor, started making the Painkiller the way I did NOT order it. Instead of starting anew, he just poured some of it out into the sink and continued. To cut a long story short, the drink was very sweet with no alcohol traceable in it. When I told him I would like to have some alcohol in it, he told me point blank that he didn't know I was a heavy drinker! Utterly amazed, I replied I liked my cocktail to taste of a bit of alcohol and be less sweet, otherwise I might as well drink a fruit juice.
My husband's Margarita tasted like lime slush.
During our stay we didn't go back for cocktails but had to occasionally get bottled water. The barman's manners never improved and later we found out from other hotel guests and even locals that the barman in Frangi was, indeed, on his high horse and people don't usually like going there anymore.
If you do decide to take your chance and pop in there for a drink, be forewarned.

Room Tip: rooms further up the hill have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in a garden room. Unglazed windows means of course no a/c which was no problem but also meant dust and noise from car park area and noisy staff. Also meant that the pretty pathetic cleaning of the room showed up even more. The bathroom cold water tap was seized and only the hot water tap worked. The shower drain was blocked and we cleared it ourselves. The shower unit must have come out of the ark. The safe didnt work and when we asked reception about it the only reaction was that we hadnt read the (non existant) instructions. We knew we would have to move to a second room after a few days but this was no better. The main ceiling light didnt work and the - unattached - sink plug was the wrong size.

This leads to the state of the toilets in both rooms. Filthy and stained.

Doesnt anybody check these things?

We had one meal in the restaurant when we arrived and didnt bother again. We were the only occupied table and after waiting twenty minutes for the beer we ordered and reminding the waitress three times we gave up and got it for ourselves from the bar. The food - sandwiches - took forty minutes, and when we complained to the waitress she told us that "this is a restaurant, not fast food"

At 200 $us a night - not including breakfast - this is abysmal Sir James

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved the local stonewall/cottage-style room, the bed and the spacy balcony. Expensive compared to harbour-front old rooms. Jealousy-blinding walls (doors/windows) for natural AC is a good idea. Sadly we were invaded by batallions of mosquitoes (no malaria). Stayed 7 nights, emptied 2 cans of repellant and 1 box of coils. I'm allergic to insect bites, had to take antihistamin (makes me tired). No tv. Couldn't catch a glimpse of the harbour from our balcony due to high trees. Chose F. because it should be located near a beach. Correct, but you have to walk very steap up and down 20 min. or take water-taxi to get there. Low daytime reception-service means: take your own key from the shelf (open for everyone!). Wi-fi only near reception. The restaurant's barbeque-night with steelband is great. Very noisy neighbour bar (loud music untill midnight). But the choir in the church nearby sounds wonderful!!

Room Tip: Ask for an AC-room or 2nd floor if you're sensitive to mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been coming to Bequia for 25 years. The hotel is wonderful and the location is ideal. We always come the week between Christmas and New Years. The bartenders are what taints this place now. It's not just one instance, it happened last year as well. Other places you walk into the bar and they give you a warm Bequia welcome. The bartenders make you feel like they are glad you are there. They ask where you are from, if you've been to the island before, they SMILE. Not at the Frangi. The bartenders act miserable and like you are bothering them from spending their time chatting to their local friends who seem to always be sitting at the end of the bar. We were there and were the only ones at the bar. I had to say excuse me to get him to even look at me. No smile, nothing. I tried to make conversation, "do you get many cruise ships in here", my answer was a shrug. Considering this is usually the first impression that visitors get to the island, they need to rethink their choice of staff at the bar. Surely there is someone in all of Bequia that is not as rude as the bartender that is working there now. The Frangi bartenders need to take a cue from most of the Bequia cab drivers. You go to the airport and the visitors are all hugging their cab drivers. They are friendly, they make you feel welcome. The Frangi bartenders wish you'd just leave them alone so they can chat with their local friends. We heard this complaint from several other people while we were there this year.

Room Tip: Get the air conditioned rooms. This is the leeward side of the island and you don't get much win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The hotel is in a great spot along the harbor, in a cozy little area close to many other hotels and restaurants. Our room was beautiful, when the large doors to the porch were open, the bedroom looks out over the gardens and you can just see the ocean beyond. The bathroom in our room could use a little updating for the price but the overall experience was great. The food at the adjoining restaurant was delicious.

I have to agree with another person's review about the noise though. The bar next door had very loud live music until late in the night and a dog, that I think lives next door, was barking for much of the night as well.

We did not have any issues with bugs or mosquitoes in our room and we closed the porch doors at night and didn't need to use the mosquito net. The large private porch attached to our room was a nice place to relax and read. The landscaping is well maintained and we even saw a turtle wandering the property one day!

All in all we were very happy with our stay and would come again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Old Fort, Historic Estate
The Old Fort, Historic Estate
#1 of 1 in Mount Pleasant
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Hotel

Address: Bequia, Belmont VC0400, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Belmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a home it began, and a home it still seems to the many Bequia lovers who return year after year to the Frangipani, the quintessential small hotel on a small island in the Caribbean. Built for his family by a Bequia sea captain almost a century ago, the shingle-sided, two-storey building has gracefully presided ever since over the nautical comings and goings of Admiralty Harbour. The property has been in the Mitchell family since 1898, first in boat building and now in hospitality. The hotel celebrated its 40th anniversary year in 2007. You can now savour the scene from the open-sided dining room, or the popular beach bar, or from the sundeck upstairs where you can still enjoy one of the original family rooms. The more luxurious garden rooms, which rise on a gentle slope behind, are hand-crafted of local stone and hardwoods, and each has a balcony facing westward over the yacht basin where the setting sun dips down behind the palms. Listed as one of the top 100 bars in the world, the Frangipani's waterfront open air bar is one of the Caribbean's famous watering holes. With an extensive cocktail menu, warm atmosphere and friendly bartenders, the "Frangi" bar maintains its reputation as the meeting place for locals and visitors alike. Try our famous Frangi Fever, Mango Potion or Passion Colada while seated in our love seats under the palms, watching the sun set on the horizon as the gentle breezes blow. Or find a spot at the beautiful purple- heart wooden bar with comfortable cushioned stools and you are likely to meet a fellow Bequia lover from across the planet. Whatever your fancy, you are sure to find good conversation, and a drink of choice at the Frangi; or the bartenders are happy to recommend one of their tropical specialties to while away the hours as you relax and unwind. Every Thursday night, the Frangi Barbecue and Jump Up with live music from the Elite Steel Orchestra maintains its unique attraction. Our superb buffet features a charcoal-grilled 8oz striploin steak or grilled fish, with a wide assortment of local dishes, seafood salads, freshly-baked bread, and fabulous desserts, including our famous Lime Pie, coffee or tea included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Frangipani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Hotel Bequia/Belmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.