We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with guide Ivan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madidi Jungle Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madidi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge
Save
You added Madidi Jungle Ecolodge to your Saves list
Madidi national park, | Contact Office: Av. Comercio entre Campero y Vaca Diez, Madidi National Park, Bolivia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay with guide Ivan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at madidi jungle ecolodge in June 2013 with 2 friends on a 2 night/3 day package. Had an absolutely amazing time! The staff were very helpful and responded quickly to e-mail inquiries regarding availability and even offered advice on the best way to get to rurrenabaque from la Paz. We were met by our guide Ivan who was amazing. He had great knowledge of the jungle and the wildlife and tailored the 3 days to what we wanted to do. Having grown up in one of the local jungle communities he was able to provide an insightful experience into jungle life. Our safety felt a priority with a night walk being cancelled due to a lot of rainfall. On the last day we went tubing down the river which was great fun. The food was amazing - you will definitely not go hungry here!! A great 3 days that we will not forget - thanks Ivan for an amazing time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jasmine T
Thank you very much for your excellent post. The Madidi Jungle Ecolodge family deeply appreciate your time sharing with other travelers and with us your nice jungle experience. We are pleased to hear also positive comments from Ivan, after his recent return to the Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Team. Our commitment is to provide personalized attention and high quality of services to each of our visitors taking a care of the environment and our local indigenous culture. We are proud to protect through our work a piece of community land within the Madidi National Park, one of the world's most important wild life center for humanity.
Thank you very much, hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Alex & Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Family
Madidi national park - Bolivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
53
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed 4'3 nights at the lodge and the company was very helpful from the start accomodating us at late notice as our flight was delayed and had to change plans .
We enjoyed everyday , the food was great the accomodation was comfy and natural , our guide Henry was 1st class and you could tell he really cared about the enviroment and the animals, one of few companies that can claim to be eco' friendly . It was the pefect trip for us and wish the company and the Madidi national park many years of success!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Chefroberts
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We feel really happy to know you have been brilliant time visiting the Amazon rainforest. Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is a Community-based Ecotourism venture focused on a small groups, providing high quality and personal attention in the middle of the jungle. We manage all about interests of our guests, because they help us not only to our indigenous families but also helps us to preserve and protect one of the most fragile ecosystems on the planet, so our desire is to continue improving all our services generating a low-impact in the environment. Your visit it was very important to ensure the continuity of the Madidi national park, for the enjoyment of present and future generations.
We wish all the success in your lives and hope to see again visiting Madidi Jungle Ecolodge in the near future.

Sincerely thank you very much!

Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here 3 maybe 4 years ago, long before I found tripadvisor and I must say its one of my highlights from travelling.

We sepent a while lookign at different options, but realised we must go with Madidi due to thier ethos.

We had an exceptional time, with great food and really nice and helpful hosts. I mostly enjoyed the fact the groups were small and allowed us to say the typoes of things we wanted to do, nightime canoe rides, early morning hikes, or just swinging in the hammocks over looking the lake and wathching the monkeys.

If you are looking for a trip into the amazon from Bolivia please, look into Madidi it is well work an extra few bolivianos!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Friends
Thank you very much for your brilliant review.
We are thrilled to know that you had a pleasant time in our Madidi Jungle Ecolodge. Thank you very much for highlighting our services and our activities that we offer. We are committed to get complete satisfaction in all our visitors. Since we have started our operation we have improved our services and even we still are improving our infrastructure and our services.
We will be so happy having you again in Madidi Jungle.
Warm regards,

Alex & Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited Madidi Jungle Ecolodge with two friends in April 2013. Very impressed by the quality of service and facilities. Courteous and helpful staff. Well-organized. Tasty and carefully-presented healthy meals. Clean rooms. Lovely and quiet surroundings. Knowledgeable guides who went to great efforts to teach us about and to point out the various flora and fauna, including wild pigs and monkeys. Watching the morning mist rise off the river was a beautiful experience. Enjoyable and picturesque 1 and half hour ride upriver from Rurrenabaque. I would highly recommend this place for young or old. Most of all, I admire their commitment to preserve these beautiful surroundings with all its biodiversity, to be enjoyed by outsiders, and at the same time providing training and long-term employment for their community.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Pat & Friends
First of all we want to say deeply thank you for your excellent reviews. Knowing we have been regarded as your highlight of your trip to Bolivia, we feel very proud. Thank you for your detailed and helpful comments, certainly for us it was also a really beautiful moments in the jungle. Show you the beauty of the rainforest and learn so much from our visitors it is a great way to learn how to improve our service and protects the nature. Your post on Trip Advisor and your personal recommendations will be very important feedback for us in the short feature. Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is a 100% owned and operated by indigenous families, even working to improve our services and we are very happy to welcome travelers from all around the world seeking a friendly, high quality and environmentally eco-friendly services. We look forward to your visit in the near future.
Warm regards,

Alex & Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3d2ns at the madidi jungle ecolodge and had a fantastic time. Norman was our guide who spoke excellent english and gave detailed info on all the animals/insects/fauna. We would highly recommend this ecolodge, a great price, excellent food, comfy rooms- very modern with great beds. The shower was cold but sourced from a local spring not from the dirty river. The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly smiling all the time. We did an extra activity to a lake, we did fishing and caught piranas and had them for dinner and also this is where we went off the trail in search of monkeys, norman was very enthaustic and clearly loves his job. He even gave us the latin names of things too. Couldnt have asked for more. Definately 5 star!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear MarkandJade
Thank you very much for your excellent post. Your feedback is very important for us and for other travelers to take best decision when they are planning where to go in the Madidi national park - Rurrenabaque - Bolivia. Reading your comments you are helping us to motivate to all our staff and to keep working to provide friendly service and high quality in the middle of the rainforest. For us to teach this fragile ecosystem is a pleasure, we are a group of indigenous families who are the owners and the employees, and we are very proud to protect and to show you the Amazon a delicate and fragile ecosystem on the Planet. Thank you very much for your help and we want to see again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alex Villca Limaco
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We did a 3day/2 night trip to the Jungle. Madidi Jungle Ecolodge (Alex - owner), were fantastic. They arranged our tour to the Jungle and also arranged for us a trip to the Pampas with a partner company. Alex and his brother, Henry (who was our guide during our stay) were amazing. Their sense for customer service is well beyond anything we have encountered during our 3 months of travel through South America. They met us at the airport, made sure that we were accompanied through all of our transfers. They really anticipated every detail and took care of everything, which was such a ncie change from prior experiences. The Jungle trip was great. It started with a beautiful 3 hour trip on the boat. We saw great scenery, the boat was very comfortable, so the 3 hours just flew by. While at the lodge, all the staff was very welcoming. The lodge is simple, but very comfortable, clean, and relazing. The beds are nicer than I expected to find in the Jungle. The food was amazing. There was not only abundant amount of food, but also healthy (nice change for Bolivia) and was flavorful. We did bunch of hikes, fishing, tubing. Henry just accomodated what ever we were interested in doing. I think this tour company is a great value and I have been recommending them to all the travellers I have met since our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear GJaffe,

Thank you very much for your excellent post. Read reviews like yours we feel us high satisfaction. Thank you to clarify the positive aspects found in Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, we agree that we still need to improve a lot services and what we do because our goal is to provide high quality of service in the middle of the jungle. Your visit has been a great help to our indigenous families and on behalf of the owners and staff want to say deeply THANK YOU. Thanks for sharing your experience with many other travelers. We hope to see in the near future.

Thank you very much!
Alex & Madidi Jungle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Where shall I start? I did 3 days 2 nights at Madidi. Any email enquiries are answered quickly by Alex. Alex picked me up from the airport at Rurre before introducing me to my fellow travellers and our guide Norman. These folks are from a small Beni community and what they don't know about the jungle, well, they know everything about the jungle. Norman has excellent English so you will learn a heck of a lot. You'll see some beautiful animals and flora/ fauna.
The meals in the lodge are also superb. I have never been so well fed!
One v important thing. The money goes into the community. So not only is it an incredible experience but you will be spending your money in the right place. This is not a fake community project.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madidi Jungle E... M, Propietario at Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kachsp,

Thank you very much for your positive post. We are very happy to welcome travelers who appreciate this kind of services where your money benefit directly to the indigenous families. Thanks for letting us know the issues that are doing well. Your comment is very important for us not only because it helps to share your experience with other travelers but because it helps us to continue improving our services every day.
Thank you very much for your visit and your help, Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is your home and we will be waiting for you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Alex Villca Limaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madidi Jungle Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madidi Jungle Ecolodge

Address: Madidi national park, | Contact Office: Av. Comercio entre Campero y Vaca Diez, Madidi National Park, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Madidi National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Madidi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge is a low-impact rainforest eco-venture created and sustained 100% by indigenous families from the heart of Bolivia's Madidi National Park. The Lodge is accessible by 3.5 hours in boat from Rurrenabaque, is a prime location for wildlife viewing and serves as the base for a variety of hikes of varying intensities. The Ecolodge offers comfortable accommodation for a maximum of 12 visitors at one time and a menu of delicious meals based on traditional rainforest ingredients. The staff are all local, bilingual (Spanish and English) guides with passion and expert knowledge about the surrounding rainforest. Come join us at the Madidi Jungle Ecolodge and participate in genuine, community-based ecotourism in Bolivia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madidi Jungle Ecolodge Bolivia/Madidi National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madidi Jungle Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.