We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Warm, Outdoor Wading Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calauan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Springs Resort
Save
You added Hidden Valley Springs Resort to your Saves list
Barangay Perez, Calauan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Big, Warm, Outdoor Wading Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We took a day-trip to the resort, and opted for its day-trip package at PHP2,200 per adult. The package included access to all the pools, use of changing room, welcome drink, buffet lunch and afternoon tea. The price was steep, and kept the crowd out. (I cringe at the thought of being in the pool, shoulder-to-shoulder with strangers.)

Hidden from the main road, the route leading to the resort had sufficient signage. Follow the signs carefully, and one would eventually get there. Got into the resort in time for a bit of a stroll around the premises, followed by lunch. The buffet spread was limited in variety and was predominantly Philippine-style cooking. It was rather tasty. At the same time, there was a live band who would after a few popular songs, indulged customers' song requests, and attempted several foreign language songs. Tips were expected.

We hit the pools after lunch. Nestled among trees, the resort area was cool. The place was well-kept although a few of the chalets looked dilapidated. The only children's playground in the resort was a health risk due to the spread of rust to various touch points. There were paved paths leading from the different areas to the pools. The spring water was comfortably warm, and there were several pools to choose from, including a shallow kiddie pool. The adult pools were between 3 - 4 feet in depth, and toddlers would enjoy wading in the kiddie pool.

After several hours, we called it quits and headed back to the restaurant for an evening snack. Local snacks were served in buffet style. Many were tasty, albeit rather sweet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The resort is very quiet and private. Hot springs are wonderful and therapeutic. The ambiance is very relaxing,villas are clean and the food is very good. The price is worth the ambiance and accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The place is very nature-y and big, considering the size of the place, i can say that it was well maintained. There a lot of different springs which you can choose from(hot or cold springs). I really thought that there will be a huge difference in temperature of the different springs but unfortunately its not. Aside from the springs, there is also the hidden falls which is a must see in Hidden Valley, its just a 15 minute walk away from the main spring. What turns me off is the price, its really expensive (2,200 PhP) considering that we were just there for around 4 hrs since we just avail the daytrip. The buffet lunch was so-so, more like of a home made food. As for the location of the place, its kinda far from Calamba Laguna and there are not much resort around it. What surprised me is that there are still a lot of people visiting this place, considering the price and the location. Overall, i can say that the place is great and i had a good experience but i will not go back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Just a tip when driving. Dont trust google maps, it will direct you to the direction where the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very relaxing and quite place…. The spring is indeed natural and fresh…. The place is well preserve…. The 1st time I visited Hidden Valley is way back 1999 and just recently (April 2013) with my family. I still love the simple and country side living in here. The Lunch, Dinner and Breakfast is okey but with the snack I think they need to add more choice or variety or selection…

Room Tip: casitas type room is nice....its has an attic with separate air conditioning unit....nice for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

the place is good, the pool water is really super nice, but there are no available comfort rooms near the pool areas, i couldn't help but think that pool users are urinating right at the pool, yakkkks!

please provide for a comfort room near each pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The place has long been taunted as a major attraction by tourism folks who say that it abounds with nature's wonders that would surely take your woes away..... Not anymore........ The reception took so long to assist us and those natural wonders needs a ton of legwork to fully explore. That waterfall they show is at least two kilometers from the main entrance and the dining area is situated way in front of the resort that just happens to be away from all the other enjoyment areas(pools, falls and other attractions).

Talk about legwork, getting to the falls I was under the impression that it was a place to wash away the grime of city life but getting there, you are greeted by a small place where one can bath (a shallow place on the edge) for the falls itself is quite deep which makes it off limits to most folks. The water is cloudy and weeds abound, and the people there didn't make me feel all that important as other resorts do.

Reception takes forever, getting to the buffet after a long walk it takes a while to be served and constantly have to call attention to your empty glass that should be automatically refilled( or better yet, bring your own supply to wash down that chunk of food stuck in the middle of your throat).

The nature's bounty is there, midst the trash and dirty comfort rooms that is not for the faint of heart. The long walks to have rewards in the end but after enjoying a little, you have to dread the walk back again for a snack or lunch, and then back again to the many pool areas.

I was truly looking and expecting for more for I have seen this resort featured in many a travel shows(Travel Asia and others), I was truly disappointed with most of the resort making me feel the trip wasn't worth taking. There was just a puzzling reality that hit me when we got there, there were tons of foreign tourists around, that makes me sad for me as a citizen of this country feels ashamed of this a premier tourist destination that even I can't take.

Room Tip: On our day-trip, we stayed in a cabana so we had to pay 500PHP deposit for a locker to store valuabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Hot springs, dense forest, waterfalls--this place was fantastic! We spent the day here and I was begging for more. Next time, I would stay at Hidden Valley to make the most of the trip. It's a drive to get there, but consider doing it as a day trip from Tagaytay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Valley Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Springs Resort

Address: Barangay Perez, Calauan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > Calauan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Calauan
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Valley is a secluded spot wedged between two mystical mountains rich in folklore. It is a place blessed with nature's invigorating gifts of water, flowers, trees, and inspiring scenery. Located some 75 kilometers South of Manila, the Valley brings refreshingly modern changes as well as quaint touch of the past. Hidden Valley Springs Resort is a mere one and a half hour drive from Manila, snaking to Calauan, via Alaminos, Laguna, just behind Mount Makiling. Its main feature is a body of waterfalls, natural spring and pools. Be ready to dip in the cool waters, constantly flowing from the mountaintop, said to be rainfall accumulated through the years. There is also a warm, natural spring pool and a soda pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Springs Hotel Alaminos City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.