We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diggerland

Diggerland
Roman Way, Medway Valley Leisure Park | Strood, Kent, Strood ME2 2NU, England
+44 871 227 7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Strood
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Drive your own dumper trucks, excavators, as well as mini and giant JCB diggers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Imagine a big industrial estate filled with diggers of all kinds and sizes (some other machinery too) and kids running around them without hi-vises or hard hats! Health and safety boys nightmare... But this place is real fun for kids from 5 to 105 years old. You can dig, you can swing, you can ride! Absolutely must do when you are around Gravesend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    51
    12
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Keep the grandchildren amused for the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Took my extended family, of nine includes two daughters plus partners and four grandchildren for the day, used Tesco vouchers to cut the cost and bought two tickets on line. They enjoyed it and the adults also had a good time plenty of picnic sites although food and drink is reasonably priced and decent quality for what it is. In seven hours we managed to cover all the rides etc. My 18 month old grand daughter enjoyed Diggers Den ie a play area for tots. Well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out for kids & very big kids too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

6 of us went at the weekend with ages from 2 1/2 to 49. Everyone enjoyed it. Little ones need to be over 90cm to get onto enough rides to keep them happy (& they measure for all the rides). They get to do things on their own & also to ride on bigger ones with a taller person. The 4 adults had a brilliant time too going on all of the rides & using all the machinery. It was a day with everyone smiling all of the time. Lots of picnic tables around so easy to eat your own food if you brought it & car park so near you can leave stuff in the car & collect (get your hand stamped on the way out). Only tried the Dig Inn restaurant for drinks which were an average price. Staff very friendly & got out more machinery once a queue started. I imagine will get much busier in the summer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family day out, fun rides and lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We took our 8 and 13 year old here and it's the most fun we've had for a while. It's always difficult to please both children being different ages, but there wasn't a dull moment at Diggerland. Both were kept amused all day.

Park felt safe, a great choice of rides and experiences. Pretty sure the adults were having as much fun as the children! A lot different to any other family day out in the UK.

I am usually skeptical about canteens on parks but was very impressed with the enthusiastic and very friendly staff at their onsite restaurant. Canteen and toilets were very clean, great service and lovely food which was cooked fresh and served to our table. Would definitely recommend eating here over taking a picnic. Was the perfect end to a fantastic day.

We will be back

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the beach
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“MEGA JUST MEGA ! (PS - kids like it too .....)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In times of health and safety madness - Diggerland is brilliant !

Diggerland is not like going to a typical 'Theme park" where your kids just sit and have the activity amuse them - here the kids are fully involved. Its great for parents and kids

I have 2 kids - (4 & 11 boy and girls) and Diggerland was the perfect place for them to go and both have a brilliant time.

There are about 15 different activities from Digging with FULL SIZE JCB's to driving full size BOB CATS and mini sized Land Rovers.

Older children can drive a 4 x 4 fully supervised - must be 1.4 m +

You have to be 0.9 m tall (about 4 years old) to drive/go on most of the machinery.

Its well supervised and safe - but its great fun. Kids can sit on your lap of simply do it themselves (on most things)

(Everything is free - time limited but then you can re-que ! Its £1 for the bumper cars but dont bother !)

At £17.50 its great value - the waiting times were small [Less than 5 mins] - Food is good and the shop is pretty fairly priced.

Very helpful and friendly staff !

You can spend a whole day here - kids will not get bored ! If it raining take wellies !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggerland also viewed

 

Been to Diggerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diggerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Diggerland to your Saves list