We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, quite away from town though” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Premier Inn Rochester
Medway Valley Leisure Park, Strood ME2 2SS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £60
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, quite away from town though”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Easy parking, and easy to get to from the M20, but be aware - it's much further from the town of Rochester/Strood than you might think. It really is one stiff walk there and back (I did it more than once), so unless you're prepared to drive there and back, it will be a taxi job. When I used them, the taxi cost me around £7-£8 during the day (May 2013), this was more after midnight of course.

The hotel seems oddly placed. It's on a leisure centre sort of area with a McDonalds right opposite with a cinema and bowling nearby (and quite some way from Diggerland as has been otherwise suggested). The hotel is clean, although I had an issue with the liquid soap not being replenished. Despite a handwritten note, this wasn't done over the 3 days I stayed there sadly. But don't let that put you off. Rooms are spacious, clean, really comfortable and lovely beds. Wifi is £3 per 24 hour period - cheap but most big hotels provide that free now - or 30 minutes free. Didn't have breakfast but it looked OK - as much as you can eat I believe for around £8 (May 2013).

My room was at the back, but if you have front room, the view over the Medway will be very good - the motorway bridge is very visible but there's no noise, and certainly not from Diggerland which is too far away to be of any consequence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    164
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
168
175
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms but after a long day out we decided to et in the restaurant. With it only being half full we expected to eat quite quickly. Having my partners son with us who had suffered a bad injury BMXing we placed our order. We were ontinually getting apologies for the delay but were not offered any complimentary drinks. After 1 hour our food eventually arrived. By this point the young boy had lost his appetite and just wanted to sleep. A number of other people came in that we knew and found out later some waited even longer. Very poor service.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Rochester, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely CLEAN rooms, friendly staff, lovely food, Breakfast is a MUST. Lovely view of the River Medway if you have a front facing room.
Even had a birthday card popped under the door for my partner, lovely touch!

Room Tip: Odds and Evens... Odd rooms are located facing the River Medway so lovely view, but saying that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A clean and well positioned hotel overlooking the river Medway and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are nice walks along the river. Easy to find and not far from the train station. Also a bus service.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

What an absolute gem if a place. We got a room for £27 for the night. It was super clean, functional and a very comfy bed. The staff we did see were friendly and attentive. Near to a couple of family restaurants and it was very quite apart from the odd train. Try a get a river view. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyton, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great for staying over night before catching euro star early in the morning. Does what is says in the adverts, comfortable bed, bath and shower. My only complaint is that there is to much light shining under the for from the corridor at night. Seems a bit obvious to have movement sensitive lights!! The restaurant is ok but not a place you would go to for a separate meal. The premier inn at Gravesend is closer to euro star at Ebbsfleet but more expensive. So you play your money and take your choice as they say. One word of advice, the A2 is a very busy road during the week day first thing in the morning. Allow plenty of time to get to Ebbsfleet.

Room Tip: Put a towel along underside of door to keep out light from corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 5 lads as the next day we were going to Wembley for football and we were visiting family members who live in Kent so it suited us perfectly. Location wise, it’s right off the M2 so very easy to get to and the M2 is far enough away to not disturb sleep. It’s on an entertainment park (Gala Bingo, McDs, bowling etc), so not dead centre of Rochester (in fact it’s in a place called Strood truth be told, we didn’t research it beforehand so our mistake). It costs about £8 taxi into the town centre. Some previous comments stated it can be noisy at night due to the 24hr McDonalds but we didn’t think so and it was a Saturday night we stayed.

Reception has a self check in system which is pretty good. Type in your surname or booking ref and it ‘vends’ you a key card. Nice touch! The rooms were extremely good, and I mean extremely. Completely spotless and it’s pretty obvious the staff pride themselves on this!! The only downside is that none of us could get any phone signal and, funnily enough, all five of us are on different networks, but it made no difference. I think something needs to be done about that as I've since read other reviews where people were having the same problem. The hotel does offer 30 mins free WiFi – but in this day and age if your Burger Kings and Wetherspoons can offer free unlimited Wifi, I think Premier Inn could probably do this, as it’s one of those little things that make or break places really, imo.

We didn’t eat at the adjacent restaurant but I did poke my head I and it looks lovely. Car parking on site and free.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester

Address: Medway Valley Leisure Park, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.