We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, restaurant not the best choice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Premier Inn Rochester
Medway Valley Leisure Park, Strood ME2 2SS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £60
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, restaurant not the best choice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel was excellent; it should be because it's brand new. No lack of anything, clean hotel, good and helpful staff (except this evening).

However there offerings regarding internet service, is suffering from missing information. I stay four days, and was offered voucher for 10£ per day, when entering the checking website of Spectrum Internet (Hotel Internet service), I can see that they offer one week of £20 - I have spent £40 for the same.

Restaurant is good in the morning, but in evening really bad. This evening I ordered a shrimp cocktail, this was good. For main course I ordered lasagna with beef. I did not find the beef, and after eating 1/4 of the food, it was cold (I think this kitchen runs with microwaves). For desert I ordered Belgian waffles and hot chocolate and one baily. After some waiting time, I was handed the waffles, and was informed the chocolate will be ready in one minute. After eating the waffles (it took at least 10 min.), I was leaving my table, the waiter came with the hot chocolate, but still no Baily, so I cancelled these two drinks and asked for the bill.

Restaurant staff claims that they are not related to the hotel, this is seperate business. But on the bill the hotel name is written.

You are not able to charge the food to your room, and you pay upfront for the hotel.

To my knowledge there is no laundry service avail.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    164
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
168
175
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Have stayed in a few Premier Inns and this one was as good as any we have stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff, on check-in requested a room at the front due to the train line at the rear and although we were originally in a rear room we got swapped with a family who hadn't arrived and got moved without a problem.
Nice breakfast which was replaced regularly so was always freshly cooked, nice view from room and a great nights sleep!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Room 305 on 3rd floor has fantastic views over the Medway.

Ask for rooms at the front, a railway line is at the back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tip: Make sure you reques a room on the car park side away from the railway.

I did not and hear the train, though upon request they were able to move me to the opposite side of the hall

Good nights sleep, spotless and new. Breakfast was nice with costa coffee and buffet breakfast. Local area 2 min walk 2 bars, Frankie and Bennys, a mexican and a cinemax

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Travelled down for a midweek wedding at Cooling Castle Barns with 9 other people and stayed for two nights.

Lovely new Premier Inn and a great location overlooking the River Medway. Make sure you get a room at the front (two very active railway tracks at the back that start at 05:30am !!!). We knew this before travelling so had requested front facing rooms.

Rooms and the rest of the hotel were spotless and all the staff couldn't be more helpful, resolving several minor issues very quickly with no complains at all (extra bedding in one room and unplanned reservations for dinner).

What let them down was the restaurant at night as the quality of the food was very poor. We were not going to eat at the hotel but chose to after seeing the appetising menu, sadly we were very disappointed...

My partner had the Beef Lasagne, this arrived and was very very dry, most likely it had been reheated from earlier or overcooked. The pasta was dry and no real sauce to speak of. I had the Stilton, Walnut and toasted tart which was supposed to have 'a creamy bechamel base'. The tart was VERY VERY dry and fell apart, the sauteed potatoes served with it looked they had been sauteed the day before.

Both dishes were mentioned to the waiter who said he would 'mention it to the kitchen'. This was the last we heard of the matter..!!.

There are three more restaurants within a two minute walk from here (A Mexican called Chiquitos which looked nice, a Frankie & Benny's and something else) so I would suggest you use these instead of Premier Inn.

The Premier Inn breakfast though was 110%, eat as much as you like for £7.99 and loads of choice. We had this on both days and enjoyed it.

Great hotel unless you dislike purple :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room (noisy railway at rear)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We travelled down to see friends and this hotel was recommended to us. They were not wrong. It is safe with key entry after 11pm with 24 hour manned lobby. the food was great at 7.99 for all you could eat breakfast. Everything you would expect from a premier inn and if you get a view over the water, even better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed in many Premier Inn's as you know what to expect and it is of a good standard. This hotel was of a higher standard then the others. With its efficient checking in system just requiring your card and surname, friendly bar and reception staff and of course the generous sized beds.
Had a great trip - ideal to stay in when visiting pretty Rochester. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Rochester

Address: Medway Valley Leisure Park, Strood ME2 2SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Strood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel Strood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.