We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dundee Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dundee Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 West Bay Highway | R.R.#2, West Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 3K0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bay
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spent one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just got back from a lovely trip to Cape Breton where we stayed one night at the Dundee Resort. Shared cabin 39 with my sister and husband. Great view of the lake, cabin was clean and weather was great. We took the bedroom with 2 single beds and I must say the mattresses need replacing. They had bends in the center, were very soft-not a good nights sleep. They probably would have been ok for kids. my sister and husband said the double bed was fine. Had dinner in the restaurant at the Golf course and breakfast in the lodge. Both were very good. I did some laundry and went for breakfast and the maid was nice enough to add more time to my dryer so the clothes would be dry. You can rent kayaks, canoes and paddle boats and the water was nice but there are jellyfish. Watch the deer and horseflies, they are fast and furious. Other than those issues, we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Check the beds before you unpack to make sure they are OK comfort wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
23
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the two-bedroom cottages in early June with our two small children and it was pretty bad. The kitchens are absolutely tiny. They have a full-sized fridge, but the sink is mini, and there is only a stovetop (no oven). Knowing about the stovetop, I only brought foods we could cook in a skillet/pot/etc. but unfortunately the frying pans and pots provided were also tiny. We had to cook most of our meals in two rounds as they wouldn't fit in the cookware provided. Also, we were scared to death we were going to electrocute ourselves as the only place to plug in the coffee maker is a powerbar that hangs off the side of the microwave shelf directly above the sink. If you are a big coffee drinker, bring your own (including filters) as they only give you individual serving packets that make maximum two tiny cups of coffee each.
Other Cons...
*The couch had a giant rip/hole in the top
*There were many unfinished/sloppy workmanship areas throughout the cabin including holes by the electrical outlets.
*The BBQ had no tongs/spatulas/etc.
*The plastic chairs on the front deck looked about ten years old and were dirty and full of black build-up. I wouldn't want to sit in them.
*It was cold while we were there and the heat did not do much to heat up the cabin.
*One of the only reasons we stayed there was for the heated indoor pool, but, alas, the heater was broken and they were "waiting on a part" which I believe I've read elsewhere on here. It must take months for parts to get to CB??!!
*The playground was awful! The equipment was very old. Most of it at least 20+years, I'm sure. The one baby swing was missing the belt to strap the baby in so we couldn't even use that. There were also tons of weeds and it just looked really unkempt. I know it was not the official summer season, but they could at least keep things looking tidy.
Pros...
*The bathroom in the cabin was beautiful! They seem to be recently renovated and it had a beautiful bathtub/shower/sink. Very well done.
*The beds were extremely comfortable!
*The housekeeping staff that came each morning were super sweet and friendly.
Do not be fooled by the "Resort" used in naming this place. It's not worth your money! Very, very disappointing :(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service, great golf! Awesome time!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Everything was great. Especially the staff. My group was booked in on the Dundee all inclusive ($250 plus tax with all golf and meals included for the weekend). Amazing price. The rooms and some of the amenities might be outdated but the course, food and staff are top notch. With prices like this, I wasn't expecting the decor from Trump Plaza.
This is our groups (20 guys) 2nd year booking this deal and we couldn't be happier. We've done the Highlands for 4 years, we've done PEI, Bell Bay etc.., but Dundee has offered us the best deal with the best service thus far (and a gorgeous golf course). Thanks to Shelley, Elaine, Dorothy and all the great staff, see ya next year (a little shout out to Conrad, keep up the great work).

PS. For any golfers out there wondering how the course is, don't. It's in amazing shape (tee to green) with the the most and best breathtaking views on the Island. All the other course in CB couldn't combine to outmatch this course in scenery...and that's saying something. Contact me anytime if you want info on this resort...or any others on the Island.

Room Tip: The cottages tend to have a little more of a social side to them. For more privacy, ask for a more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve Mines Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife attended a family reunion here and had a great time!!! We have stayed here numerous times in the past. The resort overlooks the Bras D'or Lakes and is very easily accessed. The resort is well maintained and has a nice restaurant on site as well as an 18 hole golf course. We had the opportunity to attend an open air concert a few years ago featuring Matt Minglewood and had a great time!!! The concert was held on the tennis court on a beautiful summer evening and was enjoyed by all!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went here several times to eat - the food is always good and the desserts even better... Yes it is pricey - but you get what you pay for.. if you want to spend 5$ on a meal - go to McDonalds people!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porters Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We decided to do a weekend getaway when Dundee Resort came up on Groupon, a good deal for $59. The resort itself is a little out of the way but no more than 20 minute from Port Hawkersbury and the scenery is beautiful.

The resort itself has seen better days, we stayed within the main building and had a room on the 2nd floor with two queen beds. Every aspect of the resort is in need or repair or upgrading, its past its prime I guess. The grounds and exterior are maintained but not well, just enough to look good if you're driving by. The interior needs new carpets throughout, fresh paint and please remove the 1990's wallpaper of golfers and flowers! Our room was clean but had visible spots on the carpet and ceiling. The bathroom seemed to have been freshly update which was a nice touch. The furniture looked fine except for the fact that they painted the wood grain top and the paint had started to peel and chip. The television was an older model CRT, about 19" in size and they only had 6 channels even though they advertised Bell satellite.

The beds were in rough shape, not very comfortable and the linens were well worn. The A/C unit was loud, very loud... Keep the room at a cool temperature though so up to you, hot and quiet or cool and loud.

We ate in the main dining room and although the view was excellent, the service was okay and good was good but way overpriced. I had the soup to begin and it was excellent, my wine then had a seafood pasta and I had a chicken dish, both were okay but again, nothing to rave about. I would of expected to pay $12 to $14 per plate, not $21 and $23. We didn't stick around for breakfast, Tim Horton's seemed like a better alternative and it was.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, Manager at Dundee Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Exercitus:

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can address any issues in our winter season. We are in the process of painting our hallways and upgrading some resort amenities and our televisions.

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Dorothy Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundee Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Resort & Golf Club

Address: 2750 West Bay Highway | R.R.#2, West Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 3K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dundee Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dundee Resort and Golf Club is located on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia only 30 minutes from the Canso Causeway. Dundee is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax, enjoy a game of golf, let the kids have fun at the adventure centre and join the scheduled children's activities with the recreation staff. Dundee has a full service restaurant and clubhouse serving fabulous food and local entertainment. The resort pub is a great spot to enjoy some local entertainment and the DJ on Saturday nights this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dundee Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Resort & Golf Club Hotel Cape Breton Island
Dundee Resort And Golf Club
Dundee Hotel Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundee Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.