We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location -met our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
Save
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Park City Ut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good location -met our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed in unit PH 12 (VRBO # 134630) which is an 8th floor corner unit. The view was spectacular with sliding doors on both the front and side. The beach, while narrow, is peaceful, and uncrowded – some days just us! As previous reviewers of this unit have mentioned the unit was upgraded probably within the last several years. It appears well cared for. It is a one BR with a king bed and one bath.
Most of the reviews we read on this unit concentrated on all its good features. However there are a few issues you may want to be aware of.
• The bath is located off a small hall that leads to the BR. In this hall are a stackable washer /dryer and a one sink small vanity. The room housing the toilet and shower tub combination is VERY tight. The door to this room opens in, exacerbating the tightness. There are no holding rails in the shower/tub. The light switch for the hall vanity is the same for the light for this room which can be annoying if you need to use the room during the night. The exhaust fan runs 24/7.
• The owner has used three drawers in the BR and half the closet for “unit” related storage which reduces the amount of room a guest has available.
• There are ceiling fans in the living area and BR, which while very nice for providing air, are also not very friendly to a tall person!
• There is very limited place to hang wet towels or bathing suits. A few hooks are needed.
• The higher the floor the narrower the balcony, thus, the balcony is only about as wide as a walkway. There are a few straight back wooden chairs on it, as well as a very small table.
• The unit did have several beach chairs in good condition, a few coolers, 4 beach towels, a beach bag and some snorkeling equipment available for use. All beach umbrellas were broken beyond use when we arrived.
• The remote for the TV needs help! You could not arrow down channels and often it refused to acknowledge/accept you had entered a channel. Having to arrow up from channel 8 to 100 something, for example, was a pain.
• For the most part the unit was clean, while not spotless. Some of the linens were showing some age, including a beach towel with paint spots on it. The bed had dark colored patterned sheets -a lighter color would have provided more assurance they were clean and unstained, especially after finding a previous guest’s nightwear in a drawer!
We found the unit met our needs for the most part. It is a beach property that gets a lot of use.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the ocean but since they are individually owned quality will vary. North en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    16
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our family stayed in unit #416, corner unit with wrap around lanai on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean. Absolutely perfect!! We cannot say enough about the accomodations and the area. The calm, clear reefed waters of the ocean just steps in front of the property and mighty, plush green mountains behinds us. Breathtaking! Watched the sun rise every morning, coffee and camera in hand, from the chairs on the lanai. Such a daily treat. Rented from Kathy, who was a joy to deal with. Very friendly, professional and helpful. (Thank you Kathy for sharing your beautiful home with us!) She gave us info on eateries and activities in the area. The town is in what our family considers the "real Hawai'i". Sleepy, plush with greenery, random bicycle rider here and there on Kamehameha Hwy, which doesn't go faster then 45 mph. Far enough away from the concrete and city of Waikiki and Honolulu to feel hidden in the beauty of the island, yet not too far that you can't jump in your car and drive down in aprrox 40 minutes. We had a designated parking space, never worried about parking. Elevators and stairs available. Bbqs available outside. The building itself in an older building, yet very well kept and apropos to the area. Kathy's unit #416 is updated, even with full modern kitchen w/dishwasher and washer/dryer, stocked with everything you could need...pots, pans, rice cooker, toaster, coffee maker, etc. Being the corner unit, it has large sliders on both sides of the lanai, making a wonderful constant breeze through the entire unit. We slept with them open and enjoyed falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean, which you could hear even in the bedroom. Outdoor activity items stocked too, including boogie board, snorkel gear, beach towels and beach chairs. And if there is something you need, there is a market within 5 minutes walking distance. Not to mention a shrimp truck, shaved ice and sandwich shop there, too. There is a grocery store less then 10 minutes drive up the highway. Giovanni's shrimp truck, bbq truck and grilled corn stand up the road, as well. About a 15 minute drive South to Kualoa Ranch, where we rode ATVs, horses and more. 30 minute drive North to Wale'iwa Town and Waimea Falls and less then 10 minute drive to the Polynesian Cultural Center. We had an absolutely awesome 9 day stay here and we will definitely return to this beautiful gem!
Mahalo Punalu'u for the beautiful family memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The property is in a nice area. The local restaurants are good and nearby. The beach is good and the beach is good as well. The room I stayed in was advertised as ocean-view, not even close unless you stand on a chair on the balcony. The air-conditioning works very hard to keep it in the upper 70's in your room, which is disappointing. The random cockroach enjoys your place. The cleaning lady was quite aware of it when we told her about it when we left. All in all I would not stay there again even if it was half the price I paid for the week. Its not about the random dirtiness, its the truthfulness of the advertisement and the lack of care for the room your in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The accomodation was great and location fabulious. It is a older concrete constucted condominium complex on the water. We stayed 7 nights at the Sunset from Heidi Hawaii. It was a completely different experience from a stay in the city, about one hours drive north east of the airport in the county of Punaluu. The beach was great and the food trucks and restaurants in the area were fantastic. Papa ole, Shrimp Shack... yummy. Overall a great way to get away from it all and mingle among the locals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good place to stay. Clean. Made for a good rest and the beach is great. The bedroom is a bit dreary and no view of the ocean. It also gets pretty hot in the bed room as it is not near the living room and deck. The bed room ceiling fan also doesn't have a pull cord to adjust the fan speed so this adds to the hot room. Over all a good place to stay but I think our kids had a better experience in the living room sleeping by the ocean waves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

All though the building is quite old, very well maintained. The suite we stayed in on floor #5 had new appliances with 2 door fridge, ceramic stove top, oven, and microwave. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was huge! Separate bedroom with king bed, tv, and windows that opened. If you're a light sleeper the highway noise is noticeable & does go all night. Intrigued me as the where the people were travelling to all night long!! The ocean is just feet from your lanai. The grounds are kept immaculately! A vehicle is handy but sure you could manage with public transportation as there's a bus stop across the street. You're about an hour from Honolulu, minutes from huge waves of Sunset Beach, close to Waimea Falls, and many food trucks very close by. In fact, there's an excellent Thai truck across from condo. The food trucks offer great food choices at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front; we stayed in 510. Dealing with owner was very easy!! Lots of info given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rating is on the condo 413 only. Mold in coffee maker, beat up dirty sofas, and dinky shower, toilet, sink area. Old everything except TV's. You pay in full ahead so no getting $ back if disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury in 413. It is an old building but some condo have been refurbished but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Punaluu
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's at Punalu'u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.