We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“island escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
Save
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Cloverdale, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“island escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The accomodation was great and location fabulious. It is a older concrete constucted condominium complex on the water. We stayed 7 nights at the Sunset from Heidi Hawaii. It was a completely different experience from a stay in the city, about one hours drive north east of the airport in the county of Punaluu. The beach was great and the food trucks and restaurants in the area were fantastic. Papa ole, Shrimp Shack... yummy. Overall a great way to get away from it all and mingle among the locals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Good place to stay. Clean. Made for a good rest and the beach is great. The bedroom is a bit dreary and no view of the ocean. It also gets pretty hot in the bed room as it is not near the living room and deck. The bed room ceiling fan also doesn't have a pull cord to adjust the fan speed so this adds to the hot room. Over all a good place to stay but I think our kids had a better experience in the living room sleeping by the ocean waves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

All though the building is quite old, very well maintained. The suite we stayed in on floor #5 had new appliances with 2 door fridge, ceramic stove top, oven, and microwave. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was huge! Separate bedroom with king bed, tv, and windows that opened. If you're a light sleeper the highway noise is noticeable & does go all night. Intrigued me as the where the people were travelling to all night long!! The ocean is just feet from your lanai. The grounds are kept immaculately! A vehicle is handy but sure you could manage with public transportation as there's a bus stop across the street. You're about an hour from Honolulu, minutes from huge waves of Sunset Beach, close to Waimea Falls, and many food trucks very close by. In fact, there's an excellent Thai truck across from condo. The food trucks offer great food choices at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front; we stayed in 510. Dealing with owner was very easy!! Lots of info given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rating is on the condo 413 only. Mold in coffee maker, beat up dirty sofas, and dinky shower, toilet, sink area. Old everything except TV's. You pay in full ahead so no getting $ back if disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury in 413. It is an old building but some condo have been refurbished but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pat's was not fancy, but it was everything we needed to enjoy our Hawaiian vacation! Located on a wonderful quiet beach, on the eastside of Oahu. Close to most things that we were interested in seeing, and we could swim and snorkel steps from our condo. We stayed in 503, which had a wonderful view from the lanai. Accomodations were satisfactory, with a full kitchen and queen sized bed in the alcove (not really a bedroom). The only drawback is the alcove bed is located on the Kam Highway side of the building, and road noise was an issue at times. The sleeper sofa was not comfortable to sleep on, hence we moved the queen mattress to the living room, in front of the lanai doorway, and slept with the door open, listening to sounds of waves lapping at the shore! The condo was clean and property was also. Key card access to elevator and stairwells for security. Did not use the pool as ocean was ever so inviting, but pool appeared to be clean and in good condition. I would stay here again anytime, may try to secure a cottage/apt which is located btween main building and beach, to keep away from the road noise issue.
We paid $100 per night, which I believe was a good price for oceanfront (literally steps to beach once out of building). Very non-resort feeling, so if you are looking for the resort type feel, this is not for you. Just a good laid back older condo, with great beach access, swimming, and terrific views! Lisa was a nice person to deal with, and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer better views, however road noise from highway was distracting. Cottages/apt betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 days in suite #211 at Pat's at Punalu'u. We had a lovely visit and will definitely recommend to any friends/family going to Oahu and looking for an affordable, beach-front place to stay. Our only word of caution would be that you have to be prepared to spend some time in your vehicle as the location is not exactly very central.

We rented from 'HeidiHawaii'. We found Heidi to be very lovely to deal with! Though, I will admit, I was a bit nervous sending her a Bank Draft for the deposit and eventual remanding balance. You hear about scams on the internet all the time, after all! She does almost everything by mail (prefers not to use paypal/credit cards), and I was concerned that maybe I was about to be ripped off. Her awesome Facebook page & website helped to put my mind at ease though… and I am happy to report that she IS a real person, her unit DOES exist, and it IS a great place to stay. So, if you're worried like I was-- I hope that calms some of your fears :)

The beach that the building is located on is quite nice. It's not very big, but there is good snorkelling, it's private and peaceful, and overall just a good beach-spot. Wake up early and take yourself on a walk in the sand as the sun comes up-- what a treat!

Our unit (again, #211) was a bit dated, but still very comfortable and well appointed. We had absolutely everything we needed for our stay. It was SO nice to have a full kitchen at our disposal as we ate at least one meal a day in, the washer and dryer meant that we didn't go home with a suitcase of dirty clothes, and the view from the balcony was unbeatable.


The only 2 downsides:::

As for the building itself-- it's old… Don't expect the lap of luxury. There seems to be a damp/sewery smell that wafts up from certain spots of the parking lot…. This wasn't a deal breaker for us, as it wasn't all the time. We simply reminded ourselves that we are in an older building in a tropical climate. Things deteriorate in situations like these and it just comes with the territory. If you are sensitive to smells though, I suggest checking out newer, more high-end accommodations.

The other downside is the location:: While it's spot on the beach is great, it's spot relative to the rest of the island & stuff to do is not the best. Expect a 20-30 minute drive to anything in the North Shore, and a 45+ minute drive to anything in the South. At times we found the location a bit limiting and frustrating. We'd want to go do something in the evenings, but not necessarily want to spend an hour+ (round trip) in the car that night.

Don't get me wrong-- it's EXTREMELY peaceful up there, and there are some great dining options nearby. You're not in the middle of nowhere… you just also aren't in the thick of things either.

We had a lovely stay at Pat's at Punaluu and would definitely consider going back! :)

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned and operated. Some are recently renovated, some are not. Browse arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I rented Condo #315. The condo was very nice, clean, and had new appliances. The king-size bed was comfortable, and the flat-screen TV was great. Our one small complaint would be the sofa, which wasn't very comfortable, but the view off of the large lanai was fantastic and definitely made up for it. This is a very quiet, low-key complex, which we appreciated after three days in Waikiki. A good value for the price, especially in such a lovely part of Oahu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Punaluu
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's at Punalu'u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.