We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location; away from hubbub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
Save Saved
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome location; away from hubbub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

All though the building is quite old, very well maintained. The suite we stayed in on floor #5 had new appliances with 2 door fridge, ceramic stove top, oven, and microwave. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was huge! Separate bedroom with king bed, tv, and windows that opened. If you're a light sleeper the highway noise is noticeable & does go all night. Intrigued me as the where the people were travelling to all night long!! The ocean is just feet from your lanai. The grounds are kept immaculately! A vehicle is handy but sure you could manage with public transportation as there's a bus stop across the street. You're about an hour from Honolulu, minutes from huge waves of Sunset Beach, close to Waimea Falls, and many food trucks very close by. In fact, there's an excellent Thai truck across from condo. The food trucks offer great food choices at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front; we stayed in 510. Dealing with owner was very easy!! Lots of info given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rating is on the condo 413 only. Mold in coffee maker, beat up dirty sofas, and dinky shower, toilet, sink area. Old everything except TV's. You pay in full ahead so no getting $ back if disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury in 413. It is an old building but some condo have been refurbished but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pat's was not fancy, but it was everything we needed to enjoy our Hawaiian vacation! Located on a wonderful quiet beach, on the eastside of Oahu. Close to most things that we were interested in seeing, and we could swim and snorkel steps from our condo. We stayed in 503, which had a wonderful view from the lanai. Accomodations were satisfactory, with a full kitchen and queen sized bed in the alcove (not really a bedroom). The only drawback is the alcove bed is located on the Kam Highway side of the building, and road noise was an issue at times. The sleeper sofa was not comfortable to sleep on, hence we moved the queen mattress to the living room, in front of the lanai doorway, and slept with the door open, listening to sounds of waves lapping at the shore! The condo was clean and property was also. Key card access to elevator and stairwells for security. Did not use the pool as ocean was ever so inviting, but pool appeared to be clean and in good condition. I would stay here again anytime, may try to secure a cottage/apt which is located btween main building and beach, to keep away from the road noise issue.
We paid $100 per night, which I believe was a good price for oceanfront (literally steps to beach once out of building). Very non-resort feeling, so if you are looking for the resort type feel, this is not for you. Just a good laid back older condo, with great beach access, swimming, and terrific views! Lisa was a nice person to deal with, and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer better views, however road noise from highway was distracting. Cottages/apt betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 days in suite #211 at Pat's at Punalu'u. We had a lovely visit and will definitely recommend to any friends/family going to Oahu and looking for an affordable, beach-front place to stay. Our only word of caution would be that you have to be prepared to spend some time in your vehicle as the location is not exactly very central.

We rented from 'HeidiHawaii'. We found Heidi to be very lovely to deal with! Though, I will admit, I was a bit nervous sending her a Bank Draft for the deposit and eventual remanding balance. You hear about scams on the internet all the time, after all! She does almost everything by mail (prefers not to use paypal/credit cards), and I was concerned that maybe I was about to be ripped off. Her awesome Facebook page & website helped to put my mind at ease though… and I am happy to report that she IS a real person, her unit DOES exist, and it IS a great place to stay. So, if you're worried like I was-- I hope that calms some of your fears :)

The beach that the building is located on is quite nice. It's not very big, but there is good snorkelling, it's private and peaceful, and overall just a good beach-spot. Wake up early and take yourself on a walk in the sand as the sun comes up-- what a treat!

Our unit (again, #211) was a bit dated, but still very comfortable and well appointed. We had absolutely everything we needed for our stay. It was SO nice to have a full kitchen at our disposal as we ate at least one meal a day in, the washer and dryer meant that we didn't go home with a suitcase of dirty clothes, and the view from the balcony was unbeatable.


The only 2 downsides:::

As for the building itself-- it's old… Don't expect the lap of luxury. There seems to be a damp/sewery smell that wafts up from certain spots of the parking lot…. This wasn't a deal breaker for us, as it wasn't all the time. We simply reminded ourselves that we are in an older building in a tropical climate. Things deteriorate in situations like these and it just comes with the territory. If you are sensitive to smells though, I suggest checking out newer, more high-end accommodations.

The other downside is the location:: While it's spot on the beach is great, it's spot relative to the rest of the island & stuff to do is not the best. Expect a 20-30 minute drive to anything in the North Shore, and a 45+ minute drive to anything in the South. At times we found the location a bit limiting and frustrating. We'd want to go do something in the evenings, but not necessarily want to spend an hour+ (round trip) in the car that night.

Don't get me wrong-- it's EXTREMELY peaceful up there, and there are some great dining options nearby. You're not in the middle of nowhere… you just also aren't in the thick of things either.

We had a lovely stay at Pat's at Punaluu and would definitely consider going back! :)

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned and operated. Some are recently renovated, some are not. Browse arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I rented Condo #315. The condo was very nice, clean, and had new appliances. The king-size bed was comfortable, and the flat-screen TV was great. Our one small complaint would be the sofa, which wasn't very comfortable, but the view off of the large lanai was fantastic and definitely made up for it. This is a very quiet, low-key complex, which we appreciated after three days in Waikiki. A good value for the price, especially in such a lovely part of Oahu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The condo is small, but it worked just fine for the two of us. The views from the balcony, (lanai) mountains to the north and ocean on the east were amazing! Every morning the sunrise was more beautiful than the morning before. One night there was a storm out at sea, and the sky put on a show for us. Each day a turtle would pop its head out of the ocean as if to say hello. We even saw a pod of whales go by. The full moon shining on the ocean with palm trees swaying in the wind was indescribable! Peaceful and calming, just what we needed after a stressful year.

All in all, The condo is a good value, the area is far from the crowds, no crowded beaches, easy access to local and GOOD restaurants, and a supermarket is 5 minutes away. The Polynesia Cultural Center is just a short drive away and it's not too far to the Dole Plantation and the North Shore area.

Oahu is a stunning island, around very corner is a photo opportunity, especially for an Ohioian.

Now the reason I gave this unit a 4 rating, is cleanliness. We noticed first, the floor was swept but not clean, we cleaned it. The stove still had food residue (rice) between it and the counter. We cleaned it. After a long (13) hour flight the last thing you want to do is clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in condo #605. We loved that it was so QUIET at this complex. Relaxation and quiet is my idea of Hawaii, not Waikiki...so this was great for me. Very clean unit, perfect oceanfront location. Beach was lovely, though small. Downfall: road noise from the bedroom (alcove).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Punaluu
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's at Punalu'u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.