We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About Expecations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's All About Expecations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in unit 707. It's a little on the small side, and could do with some updating, but it was very clean and had everything we needed including beach equipment. Lots of extra towels and super-soft sheets. The queen sized futon/bed in the living room was perfect for sleeping and very comfortable. We fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean every night. The view is great from this condo also. As far as the building itself, the road in front can get kind of busy, even at night and you do hear some noise if you're sleeping in the alcove on the street side of the condo. One of the best things about this condo though, is that it's on a private, reef-protected beach, and the owner, Jeanette, is awesome! Super nice and easy to work with. She answers emails quickly and called to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We were only back 3 days when our cleaning deposit arrived in the mail. It seems like most people either love the Punalu'u area, or they hate it. I think it's a matter of expectations and what you like to do. You couldn't pay me enough to stay in Waikiki. We're from Vegas, and Waikiki is like the Strip with a beach. It's true there aren't a ton of places to eat or activities in Punalu'u, but that's kind of the point of staying in the "country". You can't beat the swimming, surfing and snorkeling in this area. Many of the beaches are smaller and not crowded like they are in other areas. Also, we've stayed at Pat's 3 times now and have found there are lots of places to eat and things to do within 20 minutes driving distance. Again though, it depends on what you're looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in unit 312 and it was amazing. Huge condo could easily fit 4 adults. The unit was newly renovated, stylishly decorated, furnished very comfortably and stocked up very nicely. The view and the beach were spectacular. It was far removed from everything, but we liked this and were able to fully relax. My only complaint was the sewer smell in the parking lot, but this could not be smelled once you got into the condo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We rented unit 315.
Pros: beach location, secure building, quiet, reliable wireless, nice TV
Cons: tiny bathroom, run-down building, uncomfortable furniture (rattan couch and chair, bed), ROACHES, the sewer "hill" between the parking lot and street, terrible fitness room.

We had a nice vacation at Pat's, but the condo is very average. I could have tolerated most anything, with the exception of the roaches. The beach location is awesome, and very quiet; the beach is almost completely unused. I don't understand the sewer hill. Is that really the only way to dispose of sewage? The smell is overpowering outside. The north shore is a 30 minute drive, Waikiki is at least 45. There's really nothing here except an awesome beach so depending on what you're looking for, it could be good or bad. I got real tired of wasting time driving. Next time I will either go to the north shore or just stay in Waikiki.

Room Tip: The view from your balcony on the 3rd floor is obstructed by the cement wall. All other floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in unit 211 and the view was fantastic. The condo was very clean and had everything you need including all appliances, dishes, and washer/dryer. You are literally only steps from the water. This is a great location to just relax or take a leisurely snorkel trip to see all the colorful fish and coral. North shore beaches are only a short drive away and well worth it if you want some waves or to people watch at some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The unit was a great value for the price but the building is starting to show its age. There were a lot of families staying here but it was still very quiet. There is a 7-11 two miles away, a full grocery store about 5 miles away, and also several fast food places within that range, including a McDonalds, Taco Bell, Subway, Pizza Hut and Dominos. Right across the street is a neat little snow cone (or shaved ice in Hawaii) place called Oki Doki. It has many unique flavors and the owner is very nice. If you've already spent time in Honolulu or Waikiki and want to enjoy beautiful scenery in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere, this might be your ticket. We rented from Heidi Hawaii and she was fantastic every step of the way.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sunrise condo of Heidi Hawaii and it was great. The location is perfect if you don't sit in one place and like to cruise the coast. We went to the north shore 3 days, stuck local for one and went south the other 3, it was centrally located to all of the great beaches. The condo was very clean and perfect to eat meals in. Had breakfast and dinner every night as it had all the appliances etc needed. Very cool having laundry in the unit so that we could dry items and wash when we needed to. View was awesome, left door open all night to hear the waves and most days watched the sunrise, although this is one of the more overcast areas on the island. Also, the people staying at building were very nice and quite. Only real drawbacks were that the building is getting a tad run down and when you leave the unit, the local sewer line does smell a bit, just out the backside though. But overall great value for the money, we would go back...thanks Heidi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in #401 and really appreciated the airflow afforded by this corner unit, - a very adequate alternative to airconditioning, - and the choice of patios for breakfast, (sun or shade, breeze or shelter). We had no problem following the check-in instructions for parking, key retrieval, and unit access, and never actually met anyone from administration. (Hope everything was OK from their point of view!) The unit was clean and well equipped with all kitchen equipment, bedding, and beach towels, as well as the 'beach bin' on the patio. Lovely outlook to the beach and lagoon. Yes, the building is a bit dated, but comfortable and good value.
The only thing lacking in #401 is some occasional lighting. The ceiling lights are pretty harsh, and moonlight/starlight not quite enough.
We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, uncomplicated week on the beach, - and we found it at Pat's.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer balcony on 2 sides and great airflow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Pat's in 9/12 for several days, while on vacation with a friend. The view of the beach was spectacular and the view of the sunrise with breathtaking. Since the area is fairly removed, the beach was virtually empty, and the condo was quiet, which added to a relaxing, stress-free experience.

It was also easy to work with the owner who provided fantastic information and was a pleasure to work with.

I would EASILY stay here, and recommend that everyone I know stay here too.

Room Tip: The east-facing, corner room was fantastic for watching the sunrise but, I suspect, the view was equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Punaluu
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's at Punalu'u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list