We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's at Punalu'u

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punaluu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's at Punalu'u
Save
You added Pat's at Punalu'u to your Saves list
53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Value and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in unit 211 and the view was fantastic. The condo was very clean and had everything you need including all appliances, dishes, and washer/dryer. You are literally only steps from the water. This is a great location to just relax or take a leisurely snorkel trip to see all the colorful fish and coral. North shore beaches are only a short drive away and well worth it if you want some waves or to people watch at some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The unit was a great value for the price but the building is starting to show its age. There were a lot of families staying here but it was still very quiet. There is a 7-11 two miles away, a full grocery store about 5 miles away, and also several fast food places within that range, including a McDonalds, Taco Bell, Subway, Pizza Hut and Dominos. Right across the street is a neat little snow cone (or shaved ice in Hawaii) place called Oki Doki. It has many unique flavors and the owner is very nice. If you've already spent time in Honolulu or Waikiki and want to enjoy beautiful scenery in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere, this might be your ticket. We rented from Heidi Hawaii and she was fantastic every step of the way.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sunrise condo of Heidi Hawaii and it was great. The location is perfect if you don't sit in one place and like to cruise the coast. We went to the north shore 3 days, stuck local for one and went south the other 3, it was centrally located to all of the great beaches. The condo was very clean and perfect to eat meals in. Had breakfast and dinner every night as it had all the appliances etc needed. Very cool having laundry in the unit so that we could dry items and wash when we needed to. View was awesome, left door open all night to hear the waves and most days watched the sunrise, although this is one of the more overcast areas on the island. Also, the people staying at building were very nice and quite. Only real drawbacks were that the building is getting a tad run down and when you leave the unit, the local sewer line does smell a bit, just out the backside though. But overall great value for the money, we would go back...thanks Heidi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in #401 and really appreciated the airflow afforded by this corner unit, - a very adequate alternative to airconditioning, - and the choice of patios for breakfast, (sun or shade, breeze or shelter). We had no problem following the check-in instructions for parking, key retrieval, and unit access, and never actually met anyone from administration. (Hope everything was OK from their point of view!) The unit was clean and well equipped with all kitchen equipment, bedding, and beach towels, as well as the 'beach bin' on the patio. Lovely outlook to the beach and lagoon. Yes, the building is a bit dated, but comfortable and good value.
The only thing lacking in #401 is some occasional lighting. The ceiling lights are pretty harsh, and moonlight/starlight not quite enough.
We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, uncomplicated week on the beach, - and we found it at Pat's.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer balcony on 2 sides and great airflow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at Pat's in 9/12 for several days, while on vacation with a friend. The view of the beach was spectacular and the view of the sunrise with breathtaking. Since the area is fairly removed, the beach was virtually empty, and the condo was quiet, which added to a relaxing, stress-free experience.

It was also easy to work with the owner who provided fantastic information and was a pleasure to work with.

I would EASILY stay here, and recommend that everyone I know stay here too.

Room Tip: The east-facing, corner room was fantastic for watching the sunrise but, I suspect, the view was equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just got back from a GREAT week at Pat's. Everyone was extremely friendly to us, especially our 6 year old. The beach is just steps outside the unit and is a GREAT place to build sand castles (or sand turtles in our case), swim or just relax. We totally enjoyed the full on ocean views from every window and fabulous cool breezes. If you like to be away from the crowds of Waikiki and experience the friendliness and beauty of Oahu...stay at Pat's.

Room Tip: K-3 was an awesome unit -- very new, very comfortable bed. Free washer and dryer for this unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed in #503. Very nice and clean, with all full amenities including beach chairs towels and snorkle gear and most importantly washer and drier. The only downside, the bedroom is very small. The unit does not have AC, but once you open the windows and balcany, you'll be fine.
Had a great time. I had no issue with management ( I simply did not see them).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in Penthouse 12 at Pat's. The building itself is showing some wear and tear from its seaside exposure, but overall it was fine. The condo was clean and well furnished and everything we needed was there. We had no problems with the management. They were very friendly and helpful. Above all, the view and the beach were amazing. We enjoyed watching the sunrise each morning and having the beach to ourselves most days. The beach is protected by a reef so the water was VERY calm and my husband fell in love with snorkeling. We also liked where Pat's is located. It is far enough away to be quiet and relaxing, but strategically located close to other attractions. Make sure to visit the Donkey Ball Chocolate Factory Outlet, just down the road and grab a pie from Ted's Bakery at one of the local grocery stores. You will go back for more! We are already making plans to return to Oahu and we will certainly stay at Pat's again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pat's at Punalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's at Punalu'u

Address: 53-567 Kamehameha Hwy, Punaluu, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Punaluu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Punaluu
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pat`s At Punalu`u Hotel Oahu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's at Punalu'u, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.