We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time all inclusive holiday :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First time all inclusive holiday :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Never been all inclusive on holiday before, but it's definitely set the standard! We went with First Choice and it was a very smooth ride, from airport to hotel (transfers included). The food was great, the service was fabulous. They provided bottled water and the drinks (cocktails) were always ready to go!
Location is a bit hit and miss, €20 for a taxi to playa des las Americas if you want some night life, which is a very live place! Very cheap once you're there! I recommend completely going to Loro Park and Siam Park, get your twin tickets!!
But as a hotel, especially for the value, I would totally recommend for any age, family's, young and old (I'm 23). 5 out 5 for holiday experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    624
    237
    51
    28
See reviews for
595
590
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We looked at few resorts, then decided on Riu Buena Vista because we had previously stayed at a Riu in Tunisia. Also the reviews were good, so off we went.
We travelled with our 16 month old son, my partners brother & his girlfriend.
The hotel staff were amazing. They were attentive and friendly. Always stopped to play and chat with our little boy.
The food was delicious at all meal times, the restaurant was also open in between meal times for snacks etc.
There are self service hot and cold drink machines at the bars as well so if you only want a coke or a beer etc you can help yourself which was great too.
Plenty of highchairs, a microwave to heat baby food. Very handy.

The rooms are large, they have a separate living area with sofa, tv, fridge etc. They also have a bathroom with a bath, walk in shower and toilet. As well as a separate WC.
There are no double beds, all rooms have 2 beds pushed together which was fine. The beds were quite firm which we found a little uncomfortable the 1st night but we seemed to get used to them and were quite happy with them eventually ha ha. The rooms also have a large balcony, a view of the pool and the sea and also had a sun bed/lounger and a table with 2 chairs on them which was a nice touch.

The hotel is lovely, lots of marble etc so nice and cool in the heat. Always spotlessly clean.
The pools were nice, clean, plenty of beds.

The resort is a bit deserted, but there is a free bus service to playa de las Americas which is only about 10-15 minutes away. So very convenient.
Costa Adeje was perfect for us because we were away from the very busy nightlife parts of Tenerife such as playa de las Americas but still close enough to travel there easily during the day when we wanted to wander around shops, etc.
(We found an Iceland that sold all English products including aptamil, cow and gate etc baby milk and food).

We took a cab to Siam park (water park) which was 10 minutes drive and a fantastic day out.
We also went to Loro parque, (animal park) which was a 1 hr 45 min coach ride, but after collecting people from other hotels took over 2 hours. Our rep told us it would take only 1hr30mins. So we wasn't very happy as obviously a toddler on a hot coach, unable to move from our laps was not a great experience. Nothing to do with the hotel but in case people do the same excursion, it's better to know its more like 2 hours or more travel time.

Although our son was too young for the kids club, in the evening they would sing songs and dance with the children outside and they seemed to be having a great time. Our little one would go over and have a dance with them so I'm sure he would love it when he is old enough to join in properly.

Oh and there are a few shops in the hotel, selling souvenirs etc, a little clothes shop, a newsagent type shop with magazines etc and even nappies & wipes. Also a hair salon in case you fancied a quick trim!

Bad reviews of this hotel are made by people that seem to dislike staying in a place with children. It's a child friendly hotel, but it wasn't exactly being overrun by kids?!
Some people just love to complain.

I cannot fault the hotel nor it's staff. If travelling with children I would recommend this hotel 100%.
We all had a fantastic stay, we did not want to leave. We are hoping to return again at the end of the year.

The end :)

Room Tip: Avoid block D. Blocks A, B & C are the 3 main buildings around the pool area. All rooms in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to this hotel after explaining to the travel agent we needed somewhere suitalbe for a wheelchair user. Boy did they get this one wrong! The hotel was situated in a small town with hardly any shops or residents. It was right on the sea front with the hotel having the use of a tiny bay area that was accessed via a very steep coastal walkway that was accessed via a steep step and the walkway itself was totally unsuitable for the disabled and elderly. We did try to get to the beech once but had to walk some of the way.
The hotel itself was really lovely and the staff were eager to help. Thomson hadn't told them I was a wheelchair user so we only had a double room. They gave us a suite with a separate living area to the bedroom with a double balcony and a wet room as well as a bathroom. We overlooked the sea and were on the level with the reception. They were great. The food was the usual standard you expect of a Riu hotel.
The hotel itself was really nice with plenty of facilities for everyone. However, the hotel access was extremely poor. It was on different levels and very steep and totaly unsuitable for the elderly or wheelchair users. One of the theme restaurants was extremely difficult to get to because the pathways were so steep. Even getting to the pool was horrendous. I couldn't go anywhere on my own as I couldn't negotiate the steep levels. The hotel was built into a cliff so it had many steps and steep gradients.
There was no courtesy buses to anywhere so you felt isolated. In two weeks I left the complex three times and one of those was to get to the beach. We went to Los Americas and that was flat in some parts but then went up a steep hill that my boyfriend could not push me up as it was too difficul. We undertand now that there are other parts on the island that were on a level and we had been sent to the wrong part of the island.
So I can't recommend this hotel if you have mobility problems unless you want to stay by the pool the your whole holiday.

Room Tip: If you need a wetroom then speak to the hotel as they are accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Took a week in May at this hotel. Everything was excellent. The rooms were suites, the staff helpful, they even phoned the room on day 1 to welcome us and ask if we needed anything! The buffet food was plentiful and varied and enough choice for something different every night. The all inclusive drinks were very generous measures. All our meals were taken on the terrace outside the restaurants. The pools were well kept and the lifeguard was ever present especially when the smaller children were playing by the pool. Entertainment was good although we tended to sit outside in the evening. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as you get the sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week's all inclusive holiday with friends. Hotel is very clean and tidy. The staff are all very nice but the entertainment is shocking!
Only one night when you didn't feel the need to cover your ears as the singer was so bad.
Both food and drink were good.
We chose to have an upgraded room and felt it was worthwhile as it was big with separate sitting room plus an additional toilet.
Don't waste money on paying for an extension to your room on departure day as they give you a one hour courtesy room to shower and change in which was more than adequate for our 9pm dep time.
Would recommend for a week but be bored with a longer stay as there was nothing much close by.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have had a week in Riu Buenavista in April lovely big room with sitting room as well large balcony with lounge bed and chairs, very spacious bath room with bath and shower cubical there was also a second toilet. It was very quiet at night and we had a good view out to sea .Playa Paraiso very small remote location, not many places to walk it was the same area every day if you like walking. The food was good for the first few days but not much variation from lunch to dinner .There was a lot of very bad mannered children and particularly bad in the dining room the were allowed to help them selves regardless of age even with hot water and knives to cut bread. I do think there should be a family area. I object to children hands in the food containers. The Hotel staff were very polite and helpful at all times. The place and rooms very clean. The pool was large and very warm plenty of sun beds and chairs clean towels every day if you wanted them. The shows at night were OK. The down side to our holiday not a place to explore and so different to Los Americas.

Room Tip: we were in A314 Sun got round at 17-30 onto the balcony. Our room was cool which was nice as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 16th April 2013, we were very disappointed. We have stayed at several RIU hotels in the past all of which have been excellent, unfortunately NOT this one.
The hotel is situated in a very quiet and what seemed a remote location, with nothing much around it. Playa Paraiso has a small main street with some bars and a few gift shops and is approximately 20-25 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is all inclusive, the food was repeated with little variation each day on all three sittings, and served not very warm. During our stay the hotel was over run with young very noisy children, particularly in the dining room which is a very large area, the children not being controlled by their parents.
The hotel staff were very polite and most helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room however, was excellent with large sitting room, large bedroom. large bathroom, second toilet, very large balcony with sun lounger and sea view.
Several of the guests including ourselves, had trouble with the hotel Wi-Fi system of which there is a charge.
The hotel runs a free bus three times a day into Los Americas and return, this only operates in the mornings and afternoons which makes a nice change to visit somewhere more interesting.
This hotel is definately not 4 star or the usual RIU strandard and we will not be returning.

P & B Coal Aston Dronfield

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Address: Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Paraiso * 9-storey main building and villas * On the seafront * 10 km from Costa Adeje * Complimentary hotel bus to Playa de las Americas * 500 m from various shops * 30 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Adeje
Dunas Paraiso Tenerife
Dunas Paraiso Hotel Tenerife
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Hotel
Hotel Dunas Paraiso
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista Tenerife/Playa Paraiso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.