We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 3 nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Clare Golf Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added East Clare Golf Village to your Saves list
East Clare Golf Village
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bodyke, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterford Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed 3 nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rang on the Monday to confirm my booking and the lady confirmed i was booked into apt 8A. We arrived on the Wednesday, and was checked in by a pleasant Lady very informative.I was given the keys to apartment 8D. It had 4 single beds and a sofa bed,went back to the lady that booked me in and told her i had booked a double bed and 3 singles.I was only then informed that our original apt had a broken fridge which had leaked.I felt that this was very unprofessional and it should have been explained when i was booking in.The apartment itself was very clean and had everything you need.the only draw back was the main wall had a crack about 7ft and the kitchen blind had been removed.The room was touched up by miss matched paint.I had requested a room with a view and we were given the apt facing onto the main car park.I spent the 3 nights sleeping with my two kids in two single beds pushed together.A pity really as the apartment was extra clean with plenty of towels etc.From what i can see from other user reviews we were just unlucky with the apartment we got. kind of ruined the break.Clare is a beautiful County with so much to see.I will be returning but not here.

Room Tip: Avoid apartment 8D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

East Clare Golf Village was much better than expected. The building was beautiful and very spacious. We as a group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 2 nights in this comfortable accommodation and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I came to East Clare through Diamond Resorts and stayed four nights. We didn't know what to expect as this was our first trip to Ireland and it was our 40th anniversary. We rented a car at Shannon and used a GPS to get around. The tiny road to the village was fun and I never grew tired of it, though I have seen reviews that were not as happy with it as I. The staff were very accommodating and we really enjoyed meeting other guests. The second night we piled into a van with other guests and drove to Pepper's Pub in Feakle for the Feakle Festival. What a great evening of Irish folk songs and singing along! The cottages were great! Much better than any standard hotel and very spacious. The only reason I didn't give the village five stars is because one evening we returned to the village around 5 pm and there was still plenty of time to get in 9 holes before dark. I went to the pro shop to get clubs and found it closed. I guess the shop is only open from 8 am to 5 pm daily. In the states, the shops are open until dark. I didn't get a chance to play the course and I was really looking forward to it. We really hope to go back again. Ireland is a gorgeous country with very friendly people. Be sure to drive the "L" roads when there. That's where you get a chance to meet the local people and see the true Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your time spent at East Clare Golf Village. Driving the narrow country lanes is certainly an experience and a general talking point amongst our guests! We’re pleased to read that you found time to sample some of the local restaurants and Peppers is undoubtedly one of the favourites in the area where you are sure to be entertained.
We’re sorry you were unable to find the time to take part in some golf onsite at East Clare but hope this give you an excuse to come and visit us again in the future.


Ger Teefy
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

East Clare Golf Village was nice, clean and the staff were so friendly. The cottages are nice and clean. We had a rejuvenation cottage and loved it. The place was two levels with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We were not there for golf and planned quite a bit of activities with the help of the staff and their knowledge of what was fun. Costs were reasonable. We really enjoyed this place and Ireland.

The only thing that would make this place perfect is to have an on-site fitness facility. They did have other options but, I am used to working out on-site without having to drive to exercise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It is a part of our ethos to deliver an exceptional standard of accommodation and customer care in order to create a home like experience, ensuring that all our guests can relax in a friendly atmosphere. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and are in fact intending to come back for another visit! We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a great experience this was. We stayed at 3 different Diamond Resorts Properties while visiting Ireland for 2 weeks. The staff was wonderfully helpful and our guides the first week were also great. The suites were clean and very up to date with appliances and all the amenities you could want.

Room Tip: We belong to Diamond Resorts and have never had a bad experience with them. We are looking forward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks through Diamond International. The apartment was a two bedroom but caters for 6 people as the sofa in the lounge will convert into a bed. On the ground floor is the lounge/diner with the kitchen off the diner with dishwasher and washing machine. Also off the diner is a shower room, with toilet and washbasin. On the first floor are two bedrooms and another shower room with toilet and washbasin. Outside on the small patio is a table and four chairs.

The staff at reception are excellent and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

There are various excursions available at a cost and they can also advise where there is entertainment and restaurants in the area.

A car is essential as the property is some 1mile+ from the main road and no public transport available. The car is also required to explore the nearby lough and the stunning scenery around.

It is nice to arrive to find tea and coffee in the apartment. This is in comparison to Marriott apartments in the states who have not heard of tea. Supermarkets are a minimum of 5 miles away but when you are out you can always pick up supplies.

The area and the apartments are well worth visiting.

Room Tip: The rooms are basically the same and the views are little different between apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at East Clare Golf Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are happy to read that your stay at East Clare Golf Village proved to be a pleasurable one. We are pleased that we were able to provide you with comfortable accommodations and excellent service, as we do believe these constitute an ideal environment for our guests to enjoy their visits. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service in the future!

Ger Teefy
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we spent a week at East clare golf resort RCI 8589 .It was a wonderful 8 days .one of my best holidays .The resort has large spacious rooms very well maintained .The kitchen facilities were good with crockery enough for 8 guests .Very clean spic and span .hotel staff was very helpful .the sit out was cosy .we had leisure walks on the golf course walk ways .just 10 minutes away is a beautiful lake Lough Derg at Killaloe .a very serene picnic spot .
One needs a car as this place is far away .All the sightseeing places are near by drives .On the whole an excellent resort

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Clare Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Clare Golf Village

Address: Bodyke, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bodyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bodyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Clare Golf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tranquil setting, the comfortable 2-bedroom cottages at East Clare Golf Village offer a relaxing base only 5 minutes' walk from the 18-hole championship East Clare Golf Course. The modern cottages offer a fully equipped kitchen, with a microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, oven and washing machine. There are 2 shower rooms and a dining room, with sofa bed, TV and stereo. The shores of Lough Derg offer plenty of opportunities for fishing, sailing and horse riding. Local attractions include historic Bunratty Castle and striking views across the Cliffs of Moher. Limerick can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your East Clare Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Clare Golf Village Ireland/Bodyke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Clare Golf Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.