We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hogs Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hogs Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Hogs Head Hotel
Awsworth Lane, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Sibbertoft
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, we were very impressed with the lovely staff, and cosy bar area
Room although small was very well appointed .also very clean with everything we needed.
Staff were very friendly and helpful,meals were delicious and very plentiful Breakfast really sets you up for the day,I didn't eat anything until evening as I was so full .
The bar is very cosy ,no loud music or wide screen TV,so it was nice to sit with a drink and relax.
All the staff were friendly and answered any questions we had,the breakfast staff were lovely and cheerful,nothing seemed too much trouble.
We ate all our meals in the restaurant / bar area and again it was very relaxing and cosy.
We got chatting to one of the bar staff as we were intrigued by the pictures and badges relating to the Armed Forces,it turns out that Andy the owner does a lot to thank members of the Armed Forces,a meal for Remembrance Day and other nice things.As we are both ex RAF it was nice to see.

Location is good ,very easy to get to Derby and Nottingham ,we will definitely visit again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    33
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
45
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for two very enjoyable nights. The staff are all so polite and more than
helpful, the room we had was, although not over spacious, was most comfortable and fantastic
value, I wouldn't expect or attempt to find better. Full English breakfasts, plentiful, grilled and served with poached eggs, without request. We dined here in the evening, and again everything
served was good,[ must endorse the bbq ribs] the restaurant became busy resulting in a minimum delay, however this proved well worth it, again generous portions. The bar offered a good selection of beers and other drinks, to suit every-ones taste. Overall, we would recommend this hotel to all, you will not be disappointed! The car park is ample, so you have no concern with parking. We will return in due course, many thanks to Andy, thank-you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here while my son was looking for a flat to rent as he is attending University in Nottingham. The hotel was lovely, clean and all the staff were friendly. The food was superb and reasonably priced, my husband loved the ribs. Will definately be staying here again when we come down to visit my son...

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this place because I'm sick of the big hotel no atmosphere hotels... This hotel is run by people who actually give a sh** they work hard to make my stay a good one, the food is good well cooked and plenty... And the price of the food and drinks were pub prices.
There was a mixture of customers some liked to chat which you never get in a chain hotel, what a pleasant change.
The breakfast was great and freshly prepared, not wanting a huge breakfast the boss offered poached egg on toast... Nothing too much trouble.

I will stay again I might even take my wife for a weekend break, yep they offer great deals on them too.

The owner is a nice bloke who made me feel welcome right from the start, a genuine person with a mission to make this place a happy one... For me he succeeded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWESTOFT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at The Hogs Head Hotel with my wife at the beginning of September ,for a long weekend.We have stayed before and once again we were not disappointed. The staff are always friendly and helpful,even down to offering to cook us an slightly early breakfast on Sunday as we had to be out at 9am.The room we had was a superior double and was spotless and very comfortable,last time we had a standard double and this was also very good.The food both in the evening and at breakfast was lovely and very filling.We will be back to stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palaia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Hogs Head was recommended to us by a friend whose company have often booked clients here in the past. I arrived with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren aged 3 and 1. We were hoping for a relaxing lunch with space for the children to move around and enjoy an outdoor play area.
Just inside the doorway we were met by a really aggressive notice concerning parents and the management's expectation of the close supervision of children and their behaviour. What a welcome! The contrast between this and so many establishments both in the UK and the rest of Europe could not be greater, after all, while we as a family expect children to be polite to each other and to others, one certainly would not be able to relax under this kind of threat. We were so shocked that we left without even looking at the menu. What a disappointment! Issues over the behaviour of one's clientele are a matter for the management and the individuals concerned and they really shouldn't resort to berating parents in such an aggressive manner.
We have read a number of the reviews, few of which seem to be from families, and while we are sure that the food and facilities are reasonable, a warm welcome and attention to everyone's needs goes a long way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Firstly I think you should be aware for the reason behind the notice in the entrance you saw, Over the summer we experienced a number of families who visited our premises and left what can only be described as mayhem behind them. Yes we did speak to those individuals but until the notice was put up they kept coming back and spoiling other families time at our Hotel. I don't believe you were aware of the situation as the member of staff you spoke to was unable to explain fully to you the reason behind it. Let me put the record straight families like yours are welcome as it seems you probably have the same values we have. We have child friendly playground equipment a fenced in lawn area for children to play. All we ask inside the building is that children sit with their parents and not run around as it can be dangerous when hot food is being served. I hope this makes it clear why we felt it necessary to put up such a notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for bank holiday break, wow! Excellent hosts, lovely rooms great place. Food was awesome, the ribs come highly recommended and huge portions too!! Great breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast, juice, fresh coffee or tea and full English if you could find room for it! Will defiantly go back. Great price and great people. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HogsHeadhotel, Manager at The Hogs Head Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for the review and come back soon the ribs are waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Address: Awsworth Lane, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hogs Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.