We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly welcoming stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Willowbeck Lodge to your Saves list
Willowbeck Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lambley Bank, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Lovely friendly welcoming stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Willowbeck for over a week, and the most overriding feeling was that its a home away from home. The welcome was wonderful, rooms were large and comfortable and the meals perfect for the traveller. I would recommend a stay here for either an overnight stay or for a few days.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
83
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Amazing place , perfect for a romantic weekend . Highly recommend to anyone . We have stayed in many 5 star hotels but this is by far the best with such a person touch and very lovely people who can't do enough to help you . We can't wait to go back , already planning the next weekend !! Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having had family stay at this venue before and been here for a lovely meal, we spoke to the owners to discuss using it as a venue for a wedding. We were told it was possible as they have hosted weddings before, so we met with the lady owner to talk details as we wanted to book the entire place for 2 nights for a wedding with a wedding breakfast for 30. We were treated very badly, left to believe our ideas for our wedding day was poor and that we would just be a nuissance for the owners. After stating we didn't like the idea of having a line up and get served carvery style dinner which they wanted us to have, we were told we had to do it their way or not at all. When I mentioned it sounded like they were trying to put us off using them, we were also told it wasnt really worth their while as we were having the evening do elsewhere and they wouldnt get our money for that bit. The woman was rude, snobbish and extremely unhelpful, not wanting to compromise on anything. She regularly contradicted herself saying they didn't want lots of guests or a late night thing, but then moaned we were spending the evening elsewhere. As we left she had the audacity to ask if we would still use them for the accommodation for the wedding weekend. Not only will I not use them for the accommodation for that weekend, but I would strongly recommend no one else uses them for accommodation at any time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbecklodge, Owner at Willowbeck Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Willowbeck Lodge is a 5-Star ,Gold Award establishment of which we are justly proud. Apart from offering award winning accomodation, we also offer a wedding venue for individuals seeking a serene and intimate location.
We have successfully hosted many weddings in the past and enjoy an excellent reputation.

The couple in question never actually stayed at Willowbeck Lodge as incorrectly stated in their review, but merely visited in the hope of using Willowbeck as a venue for their wedding party.
It is paramount that clients needs and expectations are exactly matched with the service we provide. Failure to achieve this, only leads to disaster.
In this case we could not accommodate all the demands made but we were happy to suggest alternative solutions. At no time were we ever impolite or discourteous.
Previous reviews attest glowingly to our friendly and welcoming treatment of our guests.

It is regretful that the reviewer should confuse her disappointment in not securing Willowbeck Lodge with a failure on our part.
It is saddening that the frustration and disappointment felt by the reviewer should be expressed in an exaggerated, untruthful and malicious way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is superb accommodation set in a most beautiful setting its also well located just of junction 43 of the M6 and 10 minutes from the centre of Carlisle. Room exceptionally clean and well appointed. The hosts John and Liz look after guest attentively and tirelessly. Can't fault anything.... A perfect 10 all round.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in one of the self-contained cottages. Absolutely faultless. Beautifully appointed & decorated and spotlessly clean. Bedrooms an en suites are a little on the small side, but this is only a minor grumble.

Other positives include a fantastic breakfast in terms of both quality and quantity, and beautiful views over the pond in the grounds. There is also a lovely warm welcome and very attentive service from the owners.

Would definitely come back and would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at Willowbeck Lodge. The accommodation was first class. The food was excellent, all home cooked and the attention to detail was superb. The owners John and Liz were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Lakes or Cumbria area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed overnight en route north and booked dinner as well. The hospitality, room, drinks and dinner were all to the highest standard. Dinner was a gourmet experience and we would recommend Willowbeck lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Address: Lambley Bank, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbeck Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.