We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden Valley - Lovely lively inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox & Pheasant Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armathwaite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Save
You added Fox & Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Armathwaite B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eden Valley - Lovely lively inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Armathwaite is neither on an A nor B road so you are not likely to go through it on the way somewhere else, but it's worth seeking out. The village also has a railway station. Lots of walks in the area. The inn is 400 years old with stone walls, and flagstones on the floor in the bar. It has been sympathetically upgraded and has 5 bedrooms. Ours was comfortable. Unusually for this type of accommodation, there was a lounge for guests' use. The main bar is very lively with the locals; always a good sign. There is a restaurant in a separate part of the bar although you may eat in the main bar also. Food was good, chosen from an extensive menu with wide variety of choice and large helpings. Staff were polite, efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms up stairs; no lift but staff helped wioth luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We travelled down south for a family wedding in Ainstable and found this brilliant hotel nearby where we had a brilliant stay hosted by friendly staff, top class rooms and 5 star food. We would love to stay here at any chance we can and will hopefully get more chance next time to appreciate the local facilities. The mobile phone reception wasn't brilliant but we didn't go down there to spend the weekend texting or phoning or going on Facebook. We have posted a few pics on our Facebook to promote a hotel and restaurant we would recommend to anybody. Great room, top food and drink and superb location. Hard to beat all round :o)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geordie in makem land
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Comfortable double room with lovely tranquil view over river valley. Food very good with plenty of choice. Welcoming and friendly staff. Better than many 4/5* establishments. Two day break excellent value. Will be back.

Room Tip: front rooms have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our twin-bedded room was large, bright and spacious and had a delightful old fireplace positioned off-centre, as part of the original room, which must have been huge, had been claimed to form an en suite bathroom. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the white bed linen spotlessly clean, as indeed was the room itself.

The bathroom was good sized and the fittings and fixtures, which appeared to be new, were sparkling clean. We did not expect anything more than bath towels and were delighted to find thick bath sheets, with matching hand towels, both as white and fresh as the bed linen.

This inn has a very good reputation for its food and the menu is extensive. As residents, a table for dinner was reserved for us, otherwise we may have had a long wait for one; such is the popularity of this place which serves food in very generous portions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our two night stay at the Fox & Pheasant in June was one of the highlights of our UK holiday. We are in the hospitality business in South Africa and expect really high standards but the Fox & Pheasant was absolutely EVERYTHING we would expect from an English Country Inn and more. Billy and Sarah are the perfect hosts, the bedrooms are well-equipped & beautifully decorated, the cosy Pub has a great atmosphere (and even friendly locals!), the restaurant oozes character and the food is simply outstanding. The attractive setting on the River Eden provided lovely riverside walks each evening - just the thing to build up an appetite. We have told all our UK family & friends about this lovely Inn and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Last night was our first visit to this charming welcoming pub.Generous portions of freshly cooked delicious food served by excellent staff.The home made banoffee pie and ginger sponge and custard were mouthwatering.Definitely worth adding to our growing list of worthwhile eating establishments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding in a neighbouring village. The rooms were modern and well decorated with lovely views onto the river. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was delicious and very good portions sizes too. The breakfast was the same if you had a hot breakfast it was a very good size and could pick and choose what you wanted. also you could have breakfast up until 10 which meant we had a good lie in. Couldn't fault and would recommend to stay here, especially with the inclusion of the 3 course meal in the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox & Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Pheasant Inn

Address: Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Armathwaite
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fox And Pheasant Inn
Fox & Pheasant Hotel Armathwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox & Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.