We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel at less than Premier Inn prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcreggan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilcreggan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcreggan Hotel
Save
You added Kilcreggan Hotel to your Saves list
Argyll Road, Kilcreggan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0JP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
Droitwich
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel at less than Premier Inn prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

A very friendly hotel with fantastic views over the adjacent estuary with its busy commercial shipping ( and occasional nuclear submarine!). The food was all home cooked and how they got so much steak into my steak pie is still a mystery! Add to this the fact that the Hotel is a regional CAMRA winner, which meant some serious testing of a couple of local ales, and you get a fantastic place to stay. The room was huge, warm and spotless. I would strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
12
22
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Highland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

So the saying goes, "If we do wrong, tell us, if we do right, tell everyone", so it is with great pleasure that I share my experience at the Kilcreggan Hotel!
The hotel is a lovely old and characterful stone building, which has thankfully retained many of it's original features. The decor is magnificent - I could have spent hours just looking at all the pictures of tall ships on the walls. This was further complemented by the Chrismas decorations - someone had obviously spent a great deal of time and effort and the overall effect was wonderful. The place simply oozes charm by the bucketload!
It's always nice to be handed a proper key to a room instead of a piece of corporate plastic, however the homely touches didn't stop there. My room was warm, cosy and clean with a superb view out over the water, with the most comfortable bed I've slept in this year, hotel or home. Good to just lie on in the dark too, watching the ships pass!
The food was delicious - it happened to be curry night which was excellent value ; the price even included a pint! The following morning I was first down for a splendid full breakfast, freshly cooked using quality ingredients. Even the toast was hot, a first in any hotel I've stayed in, certainly this year at least.
To cap it all, the staff were friendly yet courteous and I got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.
My stay was all too brief, but I can thoroughly recommend this hotel. In fact I'm going to vote it my Hotel of the Year. Well done all and thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed overnight at the Kilcreggan Hotel recently. I must admit after reading some of the comments I was not looking forward to it but it was a business trip and it made sense to stay there. I could not have been more surprised when we booked in. The room was spacious, clean and tidy with a fantastic view over the Firth of Clyde. The evening meal was amazing and the service was attentive, bearing in mind there were 27 of us for dinner! The bar was cosy and inviting and next morning, the cooked breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and cosy. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a weekend break, only an hour and half from Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icucme
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

You get a real nostalgic feeling of how this place would have been 50 or 100 years ago. Lovely rooms - go for Number 3, though we missed out on that one - with practical and decent furniture, if reproduction. The owner, she's a great character and echoes the charm of the place. Pub grub - huge servings, standard fare though not hugely immaginative. But you'll want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stopped at the Kilcreggan for 3 nights, we had a lovely relaxing time. The hotel is beautiful and has a homley feel about it. We dined at the hotel all weekend and enjoyed everyhing we ate, not sure how many more of those full breakfasts i could manage if you were there for a week they were huge :). I really do not understand other comments on here giving bad comments about a place and a trip i enjoyed very much. Many Thanks to Carol Hamlin and all the staff at the kilcreggan we will be back soon i hope. ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We read the reviews after we booked and thought oooooh no - but what a pleasant surprise,rooms very clean,breakfast outstanding(and us Geordies can eat) very friendly staff,And no sign of a rat,maybe the reviewer that mentioned rats was one her self

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

After arriving at the hotel we were told they had resold our room to a contractor, we were moved to another building and told it was that or nothing. Do not pay a deposit it does not mean anything!!! The area is nice but the hotel is not in a great location to enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcreggan Hotel

Address: Argyll Road, Kilcreggan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 0JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh > Kilcreggan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilcreggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kilcreggan Hotel Helensburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcreggan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.