We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great chill out weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Guest House

The Pier Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Pier Guest House to your Saves list
The Pier Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Dunoon, Kilmun PA23 8SB , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmun B&B and Inns
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another great chill out weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Third time we've stayed here for a long weekend and the welcome and service from Ian and his team is consistently excellent. Rotten weather but cosy and homely inside! Nice loch facing ground floor room. "Bring your own bottle" complements excellent food service. Highly recommended for a guest house stay and/or bistro visit. We very much look forward to our next chill out weekend at The Pier...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

On the road past Kilmun there are signs telling you to turn around to visit the pier guesthouse. These signs offer good advice! The guesthouse has a great view over the Holy Loch to Sandbank. The welcome is excellent and the staff are very friendly. The menu is kept simple with a choice for everyone, each dish is well presented and tasty. Our favourites are the " mac n cheese " in cheese baskets at about £ 12 and the slow cooked lamb shank a bit more expensive at £ 19.95. If you are out for the day and you are looking for a good meal with a view follow the signs!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you walk in the door you are met with a warm welcome and made to feel right at home the staff are always willing to help and make sure you have everything you need the food is 5 star quality and very accomodating to a fussy eater like myself would recommend any body to stay here as without a doubt I would return myself

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What a find this place is!! Stayed for a long weekend and loved every second. It's fantastic... Beautiful location, family run and the restaurant food is to die for!!

It's well worth a visit if you're in the area. It's a stones throw away from some of the most beautiful walks I've ever seen!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Pier has great views over Holy Loch, but it is slightly out of town, which was unexpected. But if you have a vehicle, that should cause no problems. The owner Ian was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room we had overlooked the Loch and was very comfortable. Unfortunately, we went on a Sunday night and the Bistro was shut. So we had to eat elsewhere. But the breakfast in the morning was okay and set us up for the day, we were the only guests in that night. The downstairs area has some lovely artwork and gifts to purchase and it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sundays at the Pier....Awesome the carvery set price for 2 or 3 courses...very affordable the food is out of this world! Roast Beef or Ham with roasted veg and sweet. The owner/Host really nice and a lot of fun!!! a must if in the area!

Room Tip: We did not sleep there, so can not rate this we only ate there twice! it was so good we went back th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at The Pier and thoroughly enjoyed it. Ian was an amazing host. Room was fab with double aspect windows overlooking the Holy Loch, a beautiful big bed and an en suite bathroom which was a really good size. The breakfast was of a high standard and the bistro had a good choice of menu. I would definitely go back to this guest house.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pier Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Guest House

Address: Dunoon, Kilmun PA23 8SB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pier Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.