We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Continental Hotel to your Saves list
Continental Hotel
Via Nino Bixio 3, 21024 Biandronno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biandronno
Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for two nights during our Trafalgar tour of Italy. Our room was very large and we had a great bathroom. Service at the hotel was outstanding. Free snacks were served in the lobby/bar each night to accompany a pre-dinner drink. The hotel is very clean and a good place to stay while touring the Italian lakes. It might be out of the way for independent travellers, but being part of the tour, we were taken everywhere in the coach. We enjoyed it very much. Internet was available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed here as part of a Trafalgar Tour. This hotel was the worst one we stayed in. The rooms are old and not terribly clean. We were glad that we were only staying one night - we arrived late and left early in the morning. Someone mentioned that this hotel has the biggest bar sales of any hotel in the area which explains a lot. It is inexpensive, noisy, party hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here overnight as part of a tour. In fact it was dark when we arrived and foggy when we left the next morning so we don`t really know what the town is like. Don`t be fooled by the new facade on the building though, this is still a `60`s or `70`s hotel. Wide corridors with tables, large rooms with couches lots of space. Very comfortable, but very dated. We stayed for a dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was acceptable, but not spectacular. Service was sufficient. It gets the job done, but its days are numbered.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

we went with a tour group for our honeymoon and this was one of the hotels we stayed at. We found the hotel to be dirty, the bedding seemed clean but the stairs had cobwebs the size of small cars and the elevator didn't work at the best of times. We got stuck twice in the elevator but were lucky enough to get it to go back up one floor so we could get out. The front desk personnel were very rude, it was like pulling teeth to drop off or retrieve our room key. fortunately we only had to spend 2 nights here. If you are going to the Italian lakes and just need a place to sleep and don't care about service or cleanliness then this hotel would be ok. If you want a comfortable place to spend your time in this beautiful area and you are not with a tour group then I would shop around first.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group. While from the outside the hotel looks fine, I was terribly disappointed by the inside. The rooms themselves are out of date, which is to be expected at many European hotels. Almost immediately, we began to hear very loud noise in the room which we thought at first to be construction. Turns out, it is the elevator and the noise is constant. It can be heard throughout the building...the restaurant, lobby, hallways, etc.

On our last night upon returning to our room, we were greeted by a HUGE spider on the curtain. Since it was late and we were tired, we smashed it and went to bed, happy to be leaving the next morning. I guess we were luck because some members of the group had to sleep in beds with ants.

Also, don't pay for the Internet service. I paid 5 Euros to use the computer for one hour and it took half that just to log on. After a few more minutes of frustration, I gave up.

The only good thing I can include is that the staff was very helpful and accomodating. With all of the complaints I'm sure they receive, I don't know how they do it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toongabbie, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

This hotel is old style. It has big rooms with a bath. It isn't near anything at all. A small restaurant is across the road and a supermarket, but that is all. The food is average to below average. The hotel lift reverberates throughout the hotel. You can hear it in your room until all hours of the night.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Hotel was probably a four starts... when it was build in 1965!!!
It looks like it has been frozen in time (the computer at the lobby desk was still using a dos black and green screen with pin priter...). We stayed only one night and we were glad to leave.

The first impression wasn't that good, the hotel looks real old, and when entering the lobby it literally smelled old! Not to mention the big spider on one of the curtains. When we went to our floor the big long corridor to our rooms was very poorly lit. Two of the three ceilling lights were not working giving the corrdor a "shining" scary atmosphere.

The two persons at the front desk looked like then couldn't care less about what they were doing.

The only somewhat positive aspect was the size of the room. Really really big ( especially for Europe standards). Still on light bulb was not working and the sound insulation was poor (the couple in the room above had real fun...). The rooms were also clean, so nothing to complain on this side.

The next morning we had breakfast in the hotel and I must say it was one of the worst we ever had in an hotel, definitely not 4 stars standard, not even 2 stars... Coffee was discusting and the buffet was very cheap, the lady taking care of the breakfast was obviously trying to make up the best out of the situation but when you are not given the means to do a good job, you cannot do miracles...

Overall I would not recommend this hotel, cos on top of what I wrote is is also far from everything.

  • Liked — Size of Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel

Address: Via Nino Bixio 3, 21024 Biandronno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Biandronno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biandronno
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Varese
Continental Hotel Biandronno, Italy - Province Of Varese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.