We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming, lovely food, excellent professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parson Woodforde

The Parson Woodforde
Church Street, Weston Longville NR9 5JU, England
01603 881675
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Barnet England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So welcoming, lovely food, excellent professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Manageress always had a big smile, she gave us print outs from google and directions to places, without being asked. All food was excellent, we ate in restaurant 1st night and bar 2nd as restaurant was closed, and we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts with the local bacon and ham. Very quiet area, cannot hear traffic. We stayed in room 3 with kingsize (beautiful) bed, quality linen, small modern bathroom. Walls are thin and could hear next door talking at times. We were given bottles of mineral water to make the tea, nice touch. Would have liked some mini packs of biscuits :-) Stayed 2 nights before New Year and would recommend to friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    55
    22
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Will make a second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked lunch, as a family of four adults, for one o`clock and arrived at 12.45 for drinks. We were told, but not shown, that our table was near a window. It took awhile to order drinks at the bar and after waiting some considerable time we had to ask for a menu and the waitress apologised as she assumed we had ordered!
We selected pigeon breasts and whitebait as starters, which were very good, and put us all in a good mood, things were beginning to improve and service was now attentive. Additional drinks ordered and served at the table. For the main course, two ordered Norfolk Pheasant and two ordered Beef Burger. Very well served and presented. The pheasant was excellent with delicious selection of vegetables and a very tasty sauce. Those who had the beef burger were more than satisfied with the quality of the beef. All thanks to the Chef for excellent food and presentation.
With sufficient food we settled for a selection of coffees and left feeling very satisfied with our lunch. The food and later attentive service made up for the somewhat haphard start. We have assumed that as several people arrived at the same time organisation slipped a bit but as time progressed things settled down and we had a most enjoyable lunch and we will most certainly make a second visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Only a midweek lunch meet up with friends so not over busy.Good choice of menu, food very good quality, with adequate quantity at fair price. Service good and friendly. Very likely to go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were booked into a weekend holiday home not too far away, I had originally booked into a local pub/restaurant in the village but felt that we needed something a little more suitable. Reading through the visitors book we couldn't help but notice some very good reviews for 'The Parson Woodforde' restaurant. They were very accommodating with truing to book us in at such short notice (one day) for a group of twelve for Sunday lunch.
We are a large family and are all know for our love of good quality food, and were not disappointed with what we experienced. The hospitality and food was a real treat, quality with no short falls and such friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“best local inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

super atmosphere great choice on the menu.recently refurbished interior makes the experience most pleasurable great theme nights with excellent beers and wines.A little expensive but worth the quality you get nice to get a bar person who knows his wines without being a price freak or wine snob.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parson Woodforde also viewed

 
Dereham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Parson Woodforde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parson Woodforde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.