We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinosaur Adventure

Dinosaur Adventure
Weston Park, Weston Longville NR9 5JW, England
01603 876310
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Could do with an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited this park as part of my Girlfriends little boys birthday party. We where very lucky with the weather, but unfortunately the park itself leave a lot to be desired. The massive outside play area was excellent tho and the little ones loved it, but as for the actual Dinosaurs, well they are a little to much 1990 and not really what you would come to expect in these modern times. There is one animated Dinosaur, which gives you the impression its going to be good, but that's it, the rest are non animated and in need of a repaint, which is a shame, this place really could be something special with a few more animated Dinosaurs to give the kids a little jump..

A warning to Disabled Visitors: although this attraction is Wheelchair friendly be warned it is very step, we struggled with buggies so can't imagine how you would manage with a child or adult in a wheelchair.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanhamZoo, Head of Operations at Dinosaur Adventure, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Dinosaur Adventure.
You are right that the models in the park are mostly static. We are more than aware that we want to change these over and, now that we have improved the play facilities bioth indoors and out, we have commenced on a programme of introducing animatronic dinosaurs with the first two now in situ. A third is on its way before the spring and we plan to introduce new ones each year. We totally agree that wherever possible the Dinosaurs need to be moving and we are working to achieve this.
The static displays are maintained regularly by our in-house scenic artist however this is a massive annual workload which has his 100% attention.
We really do value your views and will continue to work extremely hard developing the park even further over the coming years. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit us again and see the new dinosaurs as and when they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    95
    12
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a great day. Grandson age 6 loves Dinosaurs and walk about trial and you see giant models some move a nd roar. Mini golf, indoor play area, go karts and animal petting area plus talks during the day. A great day at a good price. We did this on tesco club points and 2.50 turned into £10 so only cost £12.50 for £50 to get 3 adults and one child in Brilliant

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“poor value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

i visited this park with my two grandchildren. Two adults and two children cost £70+. Then we had to pay for facepainting, tractor rides, bouncy castle and icecreams were over priced. The exhibits are shabby and pretty uninspiring, the dinasaur stamps were not working which really disapointed the little ones. We will not be retuirning nor would we recommend to visitors to Norfolk as the lovely beaches are much better value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanhamZoo, Head of Operations at Dinosaur Adventure, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Dinosaur Adventure. We feel that Dinosaur Adventure is so much more than you suggest
We have about 100 models, albeit mostly static. These are regularly maintained by our resident scenic artist. We fully accept that, by having so many plus other themed areas, maintaining them is a bit like painting the Forth Bridge. No sooner are you painting them than you need to start again.
Regretfully we do need to make a nominal charge for activities like the Deer Safary and Facepainting only for the reason that it would be impossible for us to offer this to everyone in the park effectively. To ensure the deer are not over fed, we can only offer a certain number of trips with a maximum of 60 seats on the vehicle and trailers. A very quick sum can confirm that this will not work for over 2,000 visitors in the park. The same with facepainting unless we have a team of staff offering the service.
Clearly we cannot compete with the value of a day at the beach on a sunny day. Neither can that against a full day of activities at Dinosaur Adventure.
We really do value your views and will continue to work extremely hard developing the park even further over the coming years. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit us again and experience everything the park has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good healthy fun.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited this attraction on several occasions as we purchased a season ticket for the family. The children are always happy to go here as there is so much to do, there are plenty of outdoor activities - maze, animals, crazy golf, dinosaur walk, assault course etc and of course the massive indoor play area for days when the weather is not so good. The children always leave here exhausted which is a good thing for me as they sleep well! I would recommend this place for a good healthy day out. My children are 5 and 8 - older children and teens may not be so happy with 'low tech' attractions.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good day out for younger kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited on 2 nd october 2013, as we were staying in Norfolk for a holiday. My son is 3 and loves dinosaurs and playgrounds so seemed like a great idea. It was just over £40 for 2 adults a 3 year old and a 4 month old baby in a pram.
It is probably not an ideal place for wheelchairs as there are a lot of hills but this was not a problem for us and had no problem getting our large pram around.
Although there is only one animatronic dinosaur we had only expected plastic mode
S so weren't disappointed, my son loved hunting through the t Rex trail finding all the dinosaurs o the way round. He also enjoyed finding all the stamps to win his medal. We spent 5 hours there so got our money's worth. There is a huge playground with an assault course and zip wire which me and my husband had a go on an enjoyed as the park was very quite! We also all enjoyed the indoor play area and pedal cars, we never had to queue for wait for anything. I would suggest if you have little ones go when the older kids are at school! Took a pack lunch so can't comment on food outlets.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinosaur Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.