We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

The White Horse Inn
The Cross | Ashford, Bilsington TN25 7JX, England
01233 720261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bilsington
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favourite pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to the White Horse as passing by one day and it has become one of the favourite eateries for us, family and friends. That steak and stilton pie is delicious! Yes, service is a little slow (as mentioned in another review) but surely sitting, relaxing and enjoying a pre-dinner drink is part of an eating out experience? I am personally working my way through the menu and have no complaints yet. (Since the menu has recently changed it will take me a little longer now!). A real plus is that we are never rushed through our meal to make space for another sitting. The staff are always polite, we are asked if everything is to our liking - and then they leave us alone to enjoy in peace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped for late Sunday lunch and took the roast option. Service was very good as was the food. In addition to a good supply of meat and yorkshire pudd, we had ample selection of 2 potato dishes plus 5 other vegetables - all for less than £9 each. Came served with good crockery and cutlery. Certainly one of the best pub roasts we have had anywhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Went in here for lunch with customers .... Had a peasant meal, staff very nice, food portions massive .... Recommend

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“No thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's probably ok for a drink but I wouldn't bother with the food again. A vast menu with sticky beer stains all over it really doesn't make a good impression.

Once ordered, service was slow and we waited over 30 minutes for our main course.

A kitchen assistant heaved massive catering packs of frozen food through the bar so it was not surprising to find that our meals had once been frozen. Yes, portions were large but who wants large portions of food you could have bought from the budget range at the supermarket and bunged in the oven yourself?

That said, this pub was recommended to us by a local so there's at least one person who really likes it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“superb country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

An enjoyable lunchtime meal with superb food and generous portions for very fair prices. Maybe we had to wait a bit for the mains, but was that because we were hungry? Nice young bubbly waitress and nothing was too much trouble for her, an asset to the pub. Right in the Romney marsh and harvesting going on nearby so a little wildlife was out but it did not trouble us indoors, the garden area might have been different. I can say that the Liver and Bacon was the best I have eaten for many years, gorgeous. Our first visit to this pub but it will not be the last. The locals were friendly and talkative, not always the case in country pubs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.