We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse

Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Longtown, Catlowdy CA6 5QP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Catlowdy B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned peace filled week in self contained cottage at Bessiestown, Comfort in STYLE, Views to Die For, Genuinely friendly hospitality from the owners Margaret & Jack, Beds heavenly, Beautifully appointed en-suite with fluffy dazzling white towels, had dinner in the hotel on a couple of evenings, food delicously cooked to perfection and served with a winning smile, the perfect getaway, We`ll Be Back, thank you Margaert & Jack.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
60
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked for 2 nights as our fiends were getting married at Gretna, all I can say is WOW!! the hospitality started from the moment we drove into the car park and Margaret and Jack greeted us. The rooms were extremely spacious and maticulously clean. We were told to make the place our home and we felt comfortable with this. Jack certainly jollied us along with his amazing sense of humour. This is a family run business and they all go that extra mile, to ensure your stay is perfect. We would deffinately recomend this fantastic place and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

B & B's just don't get any more charming than this. Someone paid a great deal of attention to this lovely place. From English proper folks who own and run this B & B, to the lovely spacious grounds, and kids play ground yards, to a spacious honesty wet bar, to charming rooms where details were not spared. A dinning room so large and cozy that if you want to be alone you can, or enjoy the company of one of their interesting guests. 
For a few additional pounds each we choose to eat dinner in the dinning room, and was that a treat! Lovely table silver and linens, nice glass of wine of your choosing, food so delectable that even the discriminating palate would be hard pressed to complain. Oh and desert, it was home made and wonderful !!...and would you like to top off your desert with coffee, a desert wine, or maybe a cognac?, why of course!
Not only will I give this cozy little place a 5 star rating, but an extra point for charm and brilliance, and for a price that is simply not enough for this lovely gem!

Room Tip: Just show up and let Margret and John take good care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked one night for a short break and visit to Hermitage Castle. I phoned to ask if we could have dinner and told that we could and it would be lamb. I was pleased that the owner had a sense of humour which he shares with guests when he asked if I wanted dinner for my wife as well! We arrived to be given a choice of room. We opted for one with a shower and what a shower - a huge double shower and a luxurious bedroom with every imaginable extra on the hot drinks tray. The public rooms are very comfortable and offer a range from conservatory, bar and smaller one with a TV in it which was fortunately never on while we were there. Dinner was great with the lamb accompanied by great vegetables particularly the mashed parsnip and swede; and a huge choice of desserts - as well as second helpings, followed by tea or coffee with mints. We had tap water although you could have red or white wine. The attention to detail in the rooms and the friendliness of the family and staff made this a real treat and we would heartily recommend Bessiestown. It reminded us how great British food can be and how good it is to meet other guests in the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willatook, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We travelled from Carlisle to Catlowdy, a tiny village in the hills of Cumbria, to Bessiestown. It certainly was in a beautiful location, with wide views over the hills towards Solway. We wanted peace and quiet and it is certainly there. We were met and welcomed by Jack & Margaret. The B&B is actually a guest house with a floor upstairs of smallish bedrooms and outside there would appear to be newer buildings catering for families. The rooms are immaculate with a small bathroom, also immaculate. Tea & coffee making facilities were present in the room. The dining room downstairs not only caters for breakfast but also for dinner so we did not have to trek miles to find a pub meal. The dinner was very good, basic meal (set menu for the main course) and a selection for dessert for £20. There is an 'open bar' which we found interesting. A good selection of spirits and wine was offered at dinner. Meal service was excellent with efficiency, and amusing asides from Jack. Breakfast was the usual array of cereals and lovely fruits though most appeared to be of the tinned variety. The cooked breakfast was substantial. Comfortable night stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

In the Carlisle area for 2 days researching family history, we looked for a B & B away from the city. Luckily we found Bessiestown. In a tiny village with wide views to the border hills, this is a magic place to stay. The accomodation is comfortable and immaculately clean and the breakfast was superb. Margaret and Jack were welcoming and friendly and gave us good advise on finding our way to the Archive Centre. When we return to the area, we won't bother looking at anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Dinner at the Bridge Hotel can be recommended. Good pub food with massive portions and well kept rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the best available in the UK. The only downside is initially finding this B & B. But the effort is well worth while. From the wonderful rooms to the fabulous food, this place cannot be anything but a 5 star B & B.

We had been touring Ireland and Scotland with some very good Canadian friends, we were all made to feel so very welcome, nothing is too much trouble, take a tip from me, have your evening meal as well as your breakfast, there is nothing to match this place in the near neighbourhood.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse

Address: Longtown, Catlowdy CA6 5QP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Catlowdy
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Catlowdy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multi award winning, 5 Star Gold, Country Guest House situated in a magnificent rural setting just north of Carlisle, midway between Gretna Green & Hadrian’s Wall. Within driving distance to the Lake District, South of Scotland or an ideal stop off point for those traveling to or from Scotland. Here a warm, lighthearted welcome awaits its guests to peace and quiet, beautiful public rooms, pretty en suite bedrooms and delicious home cooking, using local ingredients and traditional recipes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bessiestown Farm Country Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.