We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell

The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell
Little Coxwell | Nr Faringdon, Little Coxwell, Faringdon SN7 7LW, England
+44 1367 241879
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Central European
Restaurant details
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place, Friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We popped in on the off chance after going to Droves Farm. We were immediately made to feel very welcome by Tim and even by his other customers!

We opted for a bottle of red which was delicious! Our starters were Cured Duck & Crispy Squid, which were lovely, although the duck was a little thick which Tim apologised for!

Husband had the gourmet burger which he thoroughly enjoyed with his triple fried chips, which he is extremely particular about! I had Cod in a cream broth with local veg which was delightful!

We had a lovely afternoon here and would not hesitate to go again! Definitely worth a visit!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Eagle on the 29th September with my uncle. We had a great Sunday lunch. The pea soup was divine, and other courses just as good. Tim the bar man/waiter is lovely.
Would highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were recomended The Eagle Tavern by a friend of mine. The sunday lunch was very well cooked and presented at £14.95 for two courses it was a great value for what you get. My beef was very tender and the steamed chcolate sponge a serious treat. We'll definitely come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cotswolds sheer delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There are not many B & Bs in the Cotswolds that are reasonably priced - The Eagle Tavern is an exception - the sheer locality of a village position, the easy going ambiance - no street lights - a real gem of a find in our opinion and hosted by Tim and Marcel - who welcome you and make you feel immediately at home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were disappointed by The Eagle. They were understaffed on the evening we were in - only one person to work the bar, which wasn't enough, even though they were very helpful. I had fish and chips and mushy peas. The fish and chips were fine, but the 'mushy peas' were a table spoon of mashed petit pois hiding under salad leaves, not the same thing at all. The whitebait was very fatty, and the accompanying mayonnaise just plain odd.The bread and olives were lots of olives and two tiny slices of bread. My husband tried two of the local real ales, which were off, and settled for an ordinary keg beer.
The staff did their best, but we wouldn't recommend the place on the base of pour experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell also viewed

Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
Faringdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle Tavern at Little Coxwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.