We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgend Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bridgend Hotel to your Saves list
Bridgend Hotel
Bridgend, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgend
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in March 2013. The hotel has been newly refurbished and all the decor and furnishings are brand new, meaning the place is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The hotel is located pretty much in the centre of the island, just three miles from Bowmore, the main town. The owner, Lorna, extended a warm welcome and was only too happy to give us tips and advice to ensure we made the most of our stay.
The cooked breakfast every morning was great, but the mention of food brings me on to my only criticism of this hotel. As a vegetarian I found the menu really limiting. Lorna stressed that the chef would try to accommodate my wishes, and that I just had to say if there was anything I fancied eating, but really, that's difficult to do when eating out, and it also takes away a lot of the pleasure of trying out new dishes you might not have thought of making yourself. It's also not exactly ideal when the prices are as steep as they are here, with main courses starting around the £13 pound mark and £22 for a sirloin steak (though meat-loving husband said it was one of the best he'd ever eaten). I couldn't help feeling short changed in comparison, and I wasn't too impressed on the second night to be offered a blue cheese salad as my dinner main course (in Scotland? In March? After a day out on the windswept hills and beaches of Islay? I needed hot carbs; lots of them).
If you're happy to eat meat and fish, you'll love every minute of your stay at the Bridgend, though you will find the food pricey - it's comparable in cost to fairly top-end Edinburgh restaurants, but not quite up to the same standard, and with less polish in the service and execution. If, like me, you' re not, then it would probably be best to go self catering. That's what we'll do next time. But I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Islay for a short break. If it hadn't been for a chef who doesn't really seem to understand catering for vegetarians (and maybe he/she doesn't need to; maybe most visitors to Islay are meat eaters) then our stay would have been faultless.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William I, Factor, Islay Estates at Bridgend Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Bridgend Hotel is owned by Islay Estates (sorry, slight correction here as Lorna is the manager even though she cares about the hotel as much as any owner) and as such we try to stock local produce from the Estate and the surrounding area. Naturally this means that there is more of a focus on meat and fish than one might find in other places. During the quieter months our vegetarian options are clearly not as varied as this correspondent would like and we are currently addressing the issue.
As far as the price goes, we are comparable to other restaurants on Islay in terms of price (we would like to think better in terms of quality but you will have to be the judge of that); costs are more on an island as we have to pay considerably more carriage and not all ingredients are readily available. However, we try to make up for this by producing an excellent product and welcoming service. As you can see from the other reviews, most people think it's worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
70
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This review is for the Bridgend Restaurant (within the hotel).
This was some of the best, and probably the most sophisticated, food we had on Islay (wonderful mushroom soup and venison tenderloin). Whilst still remaining very tasty, a couple of dishes were either rather heavy from the use of cream (chicken with chorizo and linguini), or a tad unsophisticated (crab salad would do much better with a different dressing and co-ingredient - bacon was used). However it was a lovely, and quite high-end, experience overall, including the presence of the very friendly, fun and unashamedly promotional, manager. Lovely staff and decor. I would very much look forward to returning if in Islay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights as a couple at Bridgend, and it was truly lovely. very warm and cozy and welcoming, like coming home. and the food and whiskey selection was great as well! we'd highly recommend to anyone visiting islay-- not only a great hotel, but also very centrally located and with friendly management. we'll be back as soon as we can!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently (late October) had a five night stay at the Bridgend Hotel whilst on a bird watching holiday on Islay. The hotel is excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Upon arrival we were given a choice of rooms which included at no extra cost, an upgrade. Lorna, the manager and Rasa, the assistant manager made us really welcome and did everything possible to make our stay so enjoyable. It seemed to us that the place was more or less at the end of a refurbishment programme. The hotel seems to attract quite a cross section of clientele. I think there were general tourists, hunting and fishing people, and other birdwatchers. Katie’s bar is popular with locals as is the restaurant – a good mix.

Needless to say we chose the upgrade room (number 3) which was very spacious. Decor was stylish and good quality, in fact the room was well appointed. Much to our liking was the wardrobe with plenty of hanging space and also enough shelf space; this is often a let-down, but not in room 3. There was a decent size flat screen television and the usual tea and coffee etc. Bathroom was fine although the shower screen on the bath allowed water to leak onto floor (as they usually do), and then the first signs of mould could be seen starting in the hinge mechanism on the screen, and around the edge of the lino floor covering had become very grubby. This is the only negative point I can make about this place. I wish I could say the bathroom was ‘sparkling’ but this let it down.

We took the DB&B option, although in practice there is no saving on the evening meals because any value above the allowance is charged as a supplement. The food is very good. Breakfast set us up for each day; fruit cereals yoghurt, followed by full Scottish cooked and then toast and preserves – just as it should be! Evening meals were a treat to come back to at the end of our full days out. As one might expect on a north-west, coastal island off Scotland, sea food played a significant part of the menu, although meats were not forgotten. Langoustines, haddock, scallops and salmon, and in response to our special request, lobster – fabulous. Meats included lamb, venison and partridge amongst others. Food quality is definitely top end, and local. Sometimes we ate in the lounge bar restaurant and sometimes in the dining room, both are very pleasant. All the waiting staff were really friendly and helpful.

We would unreservedly recommend this hotel (the birding was excellent too).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William I, Factor, Islay Estates at Bridgend Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive and complimentary review of Bridgend Hotel. It is a great help to receive such constructive feedback and I would like to offer the following reply:
• We have spent a lot of time and money refurbishing the Hotel over the past 2 years, paying particular attention to the bedrooms. This year we are going to do some work to the public areas which I hope you will come back and see.
• There are all sorts of visitors to Islay and we are particularly keen to welcome those interested in wildlife as Islay offers an exceptional variety of ornithology and provides an equally unique sporting environment. It may seem ironic to link these two together but at Islay Estates we are fully committed to nature conservation and management and are delighted to welcome people with an interest in both.
• You are quite correct about Room 3 – the bathroom was repainted last year but the flooring and the shower screen were not renewed. We plan to do both imminently.
• We offer a DB&B rate for those who are on a restricted budget; if you would like to enjoy the best local produce it will cost a little more. We do try to keep the prices as low as possible but it is worth that little bit more to taste the best Islay can offer – we certainly think so!
We obviously know who you are from your reservation – next time you are on Islay there will be a dram waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this charming hotel for three nights in late September, and would not hesitate to recommend it to traveller's seeking a solid 3-star accommodation, with the added bonus of a very fine kitchen. Dinners were first-rate, indeed, and the serving staff were unfailingly pleasant and gracious. Special thanks to Lorna, who was extremely friendly, and made us feel most welcome. We hope to return to The Bridgend Hotel some day in the not too distant future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I celebrated my 68th birthday with a fine meal at the Bridgend Hotel on our last night on Islay. We were made extremely welcome by Lorna and her very helpful staff, and we both enjoyed splendid meals from a good menu. The bar has a good range of malts, including Kilchoman, Islay's newest. We unreservedly recommend this hotel's restaurant for quality of food, good service, and convivial atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here for lunch on out last day on Islay and were glad we did.Very welcoming staff and the food was very good. We had Haddock and Chips and Salmon Fishcakes,and both were excellent.Certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgend Hotel

Address: Bridgend, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgend Hotel is a traditional coaching inn situated at the heart of Islay. It is ideally situated for exploring the island and provides a welcoming and comfortable place to stay where the aim is to provide the best of Islay produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bridgend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgend Hotel Islay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgend Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.