We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and super friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgend Hotel Restaurant

Bridgend Hotel Restaurant
Bridgend PA44 7PB, Scotland
+44 1496 810212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $12 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bridgend Hotel is an 11 bedroomed country hotel with a dining room, public lounge (known as 'The Strath') and Katie's Bar which sells food in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel is run by Lorna McKechnie and is owned by Islay Estates. Where possible we use locally sourced food, particularly shellfish and game from the estate. Children are always welcome, as are dogs; there are drying facilities at the rear of the hotel for those caught out in the rain.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food and super friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stopped for lunch here today. Had the venison burger, lots of flavor!

Staff were super friendly and made you feel welcome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    52
    24
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great evening we had in this lovely hotel restaurant for my Birthday dinner, the warm welcome, great staff and delicious food make this a must visit on Islay I even got a lovely card from the manager when she found out it was my birthday, a lovely touch. Don't miss this wee gem it's super.
Marion & Mark (Loch Eck Nr Dunoon)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A tale of two dinners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It’s a pity the food and service was not better as the place is quite nice.

A lamb cutlet requested rare, just seared on either side, was medium at best and as the staff simply failed to check on the acceptability of the food until almost everything had been eaten there was no chance to point it out, they were busy with a large party of gentlemen who come at least twice a year and probably tip well! The steak in the other meal was OK but the only taste was that of charred meat, the grill was obviously very hot!

There are better places to eat on the island; few but there are some so try elsewhere if you want a good meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William I, Islay Estates Factor at Bridgend Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your contribution - I note from your profile that you have visited some interesting and varied places. I am sorry that you do not feel that Bridgend Hotel is up there with the best of them. You had dinner with us on Friday 28th September; you were visited half way through your main course by the assitant manager who checked that all was well. When you mentioned that the cutlet was over-cooked, she instantly offered you another one which you refused - understandably at this stage in the meal. Your wife said her steak was fine - no mention of a charred taste. We have addressed this complaint.
You mention the other diners - they have been coming twice yearly to Islay for at least the last 5 years. They are always welcomed back as old friends because that is what they have become. We hope that all vistors to this magical island will feel the same affection as they do and receive the same welcome in return and I am greatly disappointed that you did not share this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“warm welcome for non residents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we were staying in a self catering house a mile from Bridgend so popped into the bar or restaurant frequently. We were made very welcome every time, there are tables outside while dogs are welcome in the bar. Irene is a stalwart of the hotel and gave superb service. There's a good choice of sandwiches and other dishes for bar lunches while the food for dinner is excellent with a good choice of courses. Service for dinner is just as friendly and efficient as the bar. Wine list isn't extensive but is good quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had lunch outside on the day of leaving the island. Lovely, well tended, colourful garden and great open sandwiches and beer. Perfect.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgend Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bridgend Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgend Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.