We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant

Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant
Northwich Road, Dutton, Warrington WA4 4JY, England
01928 718181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Dutton
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Country bar and restaurant in Dutton, Cheshire, UKSituated over the Preston Brook tunnel on the Trent and Mersey canal on the A553. Open all day Monday to Sunday, serving food through the day - Mo-Sa 12-9 Su 12-7. CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2013. We provide a frequently changing selection of quality real ale from a number of local Cheshire breweries. The majority of our produce is locally sourced and everything is prepared and cooked on the premises. On Sundays and bank holidays, we offer a 3 roast carvery alongside our normal menu. Special dietary needs catered for on request; if advised in advance we can cater for most needs.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I live quite close to this venue,but have always driven on past ,this time my wife and I called in, and had what can be described as a very warm reception by a young lady who asked if we would be dining,she then escorted us to a table in a warm and inviting room ,and upon asking for her recommendation was told Lamb Henry, which was presented to us after approx 15-20 minutes with a generous ammount of vegatables garnished with a appropriate sauce.
Service was both prompt and courtious,and we will visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    137
    64
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Review based on poor attitude of the owner after waitress spilled wine all over my girlfriend!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Didnt get to eat here as the waitress spilled wine all over my girlfriend and her jacket / expensive handbag. Was really disappointed with the attitude of the owner when we asked for her to foot the cleaning bill, was made to feel like we were trying to con her, not good. Place is grotty, so based on all the good reviews the food must be very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelTop, Owner at Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
This review is inaccurate in facts and incomplete in detail. Before responding to the specifics of the review, I think it is relevant to quote from another recent review by this individual – 3rd Jan 2013 “We had a rather unfortunate incident in the restaurant associated with the hotel (the hotel is very good), where the waitress spilled a drink all over me ... I had to ask to see the manager of the restaurant who got very defensive and we had to battle to get even a free bite to eat from them.”

The full facts relating to the incident at the Tunnel Top are as follows:

1. It was not a waitress who split the wine, rather it was a waiter. Whilst arguably a minor point it none-the-less detracts from the overall accuracy of the review

2. The wine was not identified as being split over jacket at the time of the incident
3. Girlfriend stated that spillage over her handbag was not an issue; it would readily wipe clean with a damp cloth

4. The boyfriend stated that the handbag was valued at £800, but did not (could not) provide details of the manufacture or style

5. The reviewer demanded cash (not the reimbursement of a cleaning bill); even though we were not permitted to examine the handbag in question -at no time did we refused to cover actual cleaning costs

6. Given the stated value of the handbag, we repeatedly offered to have the handbag cleaned by a professional / specialised cleaner through our public liability insurance company – that is what we have insurance for

7. Inexplicably the reviewer repeatedly declined this offer

8. The commitment to have the handbag (and indeed the jacket) professionally cleaned by our insurers remains open to the girlfriend if she wishes to contact us

9. The reviewer left before paying for either for drinks consumed or for the food delivered to his table

The suggestion that a con was being attempted here is not something that we suggested or implied. Indeed the offer to engage an independent agent to undertake the cleaning (and to address any consequential matters) was, we felt, a reasonable and professional attempt to offer a resolution to the unfortunate accident. We hope that readers will see the many other reviews posted here, as being more accurate and a better reflection of the service we actually offer at the Tunnel Top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Day 2012”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

For the third year running my family decided to have Christmas dinner at this restaurant .In the past our experiences had been that it was nice food, very good value and a lovely atmosphere.
Our party consisted of 3 adults (myself, my husband and sister) 2 late teenagers (aged 18 and 20) and our elderly parents (aged 86 and 89).Unfortunately one of our parents was taken ill late Christmas eve and had to have a doctor to treat him. He was diagnosed as having a chest infection and was told not to go out and not to be left alone. As it was Christmas our parents wanted us to go for our lunch without them and to enjoy our day. When we arrived at the restaurant we explained the situation and the lack of notice due to the timing of the illness. We had paid £10 per person deposits and were well aware that we would forfeit these (the point of a deposit) .It was not pointed out we would be charged for these two meals in full. When our bill arrived this was added to the bill and there was no negotiation over this.
We felt that this was very unfortunate due to the day and the circumstances. And we were quite upset by this however, it was not appropriate to do anything but pay (it was already spoiling our Christmas which was marred by my father’s illness).As the food was mainly carvery we did not feel that a large amount of food was wasted. We were really disappointed by the whole experience. The food, choice and the service was all very good this issue put a dampener on our experience and we would be unlikely to return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TunnelTop, Owner at Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
This review omits some important and very relevant facts:

1. When a customer makes a reservation and pays a deposit a contract is entered into – we commit to make a table available at an agreed time and to supply a service as advertised. The terms advertised for the Christmas day lunch included: “£10 deposit per person secures your table / Cancellation after 20th Dec 2012 forfeits your deposit / Balance payable on the day”

2. When this party arrived and were shown to their table, I observed that there were two more people yet to arrive and it was only then (somewhat as an afterthought) that we were informed that two members of the party were “not feeling well” and would not be coming. No details of the circumstances (as reported in the review) were shared with us. Whatever, the party could have phoned in advance of their arrival to advise of the circumstances and their change of plans.

3. We do not over book tables just in case a customer does not turn up and consequently we had turned away many disappointed regulars as we had been fully booked for weeks – a cancellation (for whatever reason) at the point of walking in to the premises leaves a proprietor with no options for flexibility, specifically no means of mitigating the consequential lost business. It is not just a matter of food not consumed which needs to be taken into account – the food has been prepared and service (staff, heating, lighting etc.) still needs to be paid for.

4. At the time the bill was presented the gentleman paying asked about the balance charged and it was explained that a cancelation at the time of walking in (particularly on Christmas Day) was not reasonable. Understandably he was not entirely happy, though he gave no indication that he felt this position was unreasonable. Contrary to the claims of the reviewer, he did not seek negotiation over the matter – if the full circumstances (as claimed above) had been explained, the outcome may have been different. I note that this review is not from the gentleman with whom the matter was discussed (and I believe concluded), nor with the person who made the booking.

Whatever we hope that the person concerned has fully recovered. It is regrettable that this did put a dampener of the guest’s day; however they did report that the food and service was very good and we therefore hope that they will reconsider their reluctance to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Attended the Tunnel Top on New Years Day. This was an impulsive decision based on TA reviews. Opted for two courses each. Certainly lives up to the reviews. The food is fresh, homemade 'traditional' pub food. We really enjoyed the dishes we had and imagine all are of similar standard. The portions were more than enough and everything appeared reasonably priced. Service was attentive but not over the top. Overall we really enjoyed our experience and would both attend again and recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having not visited this establishment for a while due to moving area we called in after a day out and was not disappointed. The food is all freshly cooked and extremely good value. The staff are all really friendly , helpful and nothing is too much trouble. My children commented that it was one of the best meals out they have had. I would highly recommend and am sure we will be visiting on a regular basis.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Top Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.