We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast
223 Mill Bay Rd, Kodiak, Kodiak Island, AK 99615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #2 of 11 Kodiak B&B and Inns
Topanga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“felt like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Mrs. Potts was a wonderful B&B. It felt like we were staying with family. The breakfast was great, the house and rooms beautiful. The woman who runs it is fantastic and makes great recommendations. The location was within walking distance of almost everything. My daughter and I could not have had a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Mrs Potts is the perfect place to stay while in Kodiak. The location is great, the house is spotless and the atmosphere is friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in
Kodiak. We enjoyed the down stairs bedroom with the private bath, beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was awesome. I love vintage so this house was perfect for us. Highly recommend Mrs Potts to anyone who is going to visit Kodiak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Mrs Potts B&B before and after a 4-day trip to a wilderness lodge on Kodiak Island (wildlife viewing and hiking). Mrs Potts is located in a central location, within easy walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, and close to the running paths on Near Island. The B&B is in a lovely house; we were in the downstairs bedroom with a large private bathroom. The breakfast was extensive, and guests can specify what they would like to eat. Beth of Mrs Potts was very helpful. She gave us great information on places to eat, shop and visit in addition to general information on getting places (including the main airport and the floatplane basin). In addition, Beth let us leave some of our luggage at the house while we were staying at the wilderness lodge. She also washed some of our clothes when we returned, since most of the clothes we took out to the lodge/camp were wet and muddy when we returned. Mrs Potts B&B was very accommodating - in every sense. We highly recommend this for a stay in Kodiak.

Room Tip: We prefer a private bathroom, so we chose the downstairs bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our stay at Mrs Potts made us feel at home, just as others have noted. Breakfast was extensive and wonderful. We were given helpful advice even before we came, and the location is really central. I would highly recommend you consider this for your stay. We were two couples staying in different rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed our first two nights in Kodiak with Mrs Potts before moving on to a fish camp. Beth made us feel very much at home and the accommodations were excellent. Her locations gives you easy access to the city; a short walk to the marina, shops, restaurants, etc.... If you are in for a bit of a longer walk, you have access to Near Island with it's park and fisheries center. Kodiak is an awesome place to visit and staying with Beth made it that much better for us. We would definitely stay here again. Tom and Mary

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

You will get the best welcome in Kodiak from Mrs Potts and her family (including Rex, the very sociable dog) at this lovely B&B just a few minutes walk away from the harbour, the town and the historic Russian Orthodox Church. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts are wonderful, and the collection of teapots is amazing! The location is central, and as a single traveller I really appreciated the genuine welcome in this warm and friendly place. A great base to see the beautiful island of Kodiak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a friendly, helpful and perfectly located B&B. Kindness and interest in your day's travels makes one feel like coming home. Breakfasts are not fancy, but are adequate. Coffee is terrific. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast

Address: 223 Mill Bay Rd, Kodiak, Kodiak Island, AK 99615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Kodiak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kodiak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mrs Potts' Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list