We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Chapters Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stokesley
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were made so welcome and everyone is so friendly and professional. We travelled with two children age ten and eleven.The food is amazing and the selection of fine wines very impressive. The rooms are beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone whether you are visiting the area or have a special occasion to celebrate . You won't be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at Chapters . We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Angelariyadh,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about your recent stay here at Chapters.

We do pride ourselves on receiving feedback such as this and I have forwarded your kind words onto the whole team.

We do look forward to seeing you here back at Chapters soon.

Best Wishes for 2013.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    49
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
72
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is superbly located in the square of the very beautiful Stokesley.The bedroom of the hotel was small but adequate and exceptionally clean.The hotel enjoys a lovely quaint ambience and the staff are delightful.The evening meal in the hotel restaurant was outstanding with exquisite food and exceptional service.The English breakfast was of the highest quality with the 'Full Yorkshire' being the recommendation.It was a business trip and therefore WiFi was essential and I am pleased to note that it was very robust and reliable.I will return with my family in the New Year and let them experience the delights of the hotel and Stokesley.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hello George647

Thank you for taking the time to review Chapters on Trip Advisor about your recent experience here.

We do enjoy reading that our customers have enjoyed themselves, it makes our job so worthwhile.

I have passed your comments about the food onto Victoria, our Head Chef so she can let her team know your praise on both the evening meal and breakfast..

Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you here at Chapters in the New Year

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here, room 14, a great room overlooking the square, but a bit on the hot side. We enjoyed the Gourmet Night special, Prosecco and Petit Fours in the room, a beautiful 3 course meal, excellent food and a lovely English breakfast the following morning. WiFi in the room allowed me to do some work while my wife strolled around the square, hopefully not spending too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear CDaveMc,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We do pride ourselves on receiving good feedback and we always take time to read through and assess all comments made.

We look forward to seeing you back at Chapters

Many Thanks

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have had a staff lunch in Chapters Restaurant for the last 3 or 4 years - today, as always the food was very nice, well presented and the staff very helpful and polite, even offering a colleague an alternative starter to the celeriac and blue cheese soup. The downside was there was nothing that said it was Christmas! Not many decorations, not even a cracker on the table - could have been a lunch any other time of the year - the music wasnt even seasonal. May have to try somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello Copeayton

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my message.

As discussed, we will ensure that your next visit to Chapters will have all the special extras, which make the experience so much better....

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the service on the day and as discussed, it was an oversight on our part for which I have spoke to the team immediately to ensure these extra special areas are not neglected and do appreciate our customers letting us know where we can improve.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A party of 10 enjoyed a excellent meal, we had pre ordered our dishes. The waitresses were excellent very attentive and ensured that we wanted for nothing. The food was served together and there was not one complaint or grumble. I had the venison which was lovely. A good night was had by all, the good food saw to that. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello MichaelandAlison

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write these lovely comments about your experience here at Chapters Hotel.

It's great to hear that guests enjoy themselves and with all the Christmas festives, to get comments such as yours makes us realise we must be doing something right.

We do hope to see you again soon in the near future

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch with the family. Excellent food and faultless service. Will visit again and will recommend to all. Very good value for money for a three course Sunday lunch. The food was perfectly cooked and a nice touch was a visit to the table from the chef to ensure everything was ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Lisa M

Thank you for your lovely comments about Chapters Hotel. Our Sunday lunches are proving to be very popular and it is great to hear that people do think we are value for money.

Victoria, our Head Chef, always makes a point to come out during the service to see if her customers are enjoying themselves and always listens to people's comments about their meals.

We look forward to seeing you back at Chapters soon.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and I can definitely state that this is by far the best. The room was first class, the decor was modern whilst not being out of place in such a tradition market square building and the meals were superb.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear SmoggieintheSouth

Myself and the team at Chapters would like to thank you for completing this review. It is great to hear comments such as yours and we do take pride in receiving feedback like this.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time here and do wish that the next time you are back up North that you consider us again.

Many Thanks once again and we look forward to your return.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Stokesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.